instagram must-follows [fitness]

I love Instagram.

I mean, who doesn’t these days, right?

I know there’s definitely good and bad (as with all things in life) and sometimes it can become a breeding ground for comparison but, regardless, I just think it’s fan-freakin-tastic.

Personally, I follow a lot of different types of accounts– health, fitness, fashion, beauty, photography, and of course a hot male celebrity [or 5] 😉 and I think that’s one of the main reasons I love it so much. I’m exposed to a wide variety of people and lifestyles, all with a few swipes of my thumb.

That being said, if I had to say which genre filled up the majority of my feed, it would definitely be fitness. I’m forever inspired by the unbelievable athletes, companies and exercise-lovers that I follow and their accounts give me motivation on both my good days and my bad. I turn to them for tips, tricks, advice, new workout ideas and overall inspiration to never stop working towards my goals. This isn’t to say I solely follow ultra-ripped models with bulging six packs, shelf glutes and a never-ending stream of shirtless selfies…that’s not the case at all, actually. Most of the fitness feeds that I follow are simply hardworking, dedicated, down-to earth people who inspire by sharing their passion and the lessons they’ve learned on their journey. Some of them have already made a name for themselves in the industry, some of them are models, coaches, sponsored athletes…and some of them are simply people with a vision, a goal and a hell-of-a-lot of dedication.

So, in this post I’m rounding up 10 of those fitness instagram accounts that inspire me day-in and day-out and have made an undeniable impact in my personal journey. They are beautiful on so many levels and I think they deserve every follow they have and more (you, maybe?). Give their feeds a scroll and prepare to be inspired.

PS: Listed in no particular order. Promise. 

1.) Nikki Blackketter [duh] (@nikkiblackketter)

FullSizeRender (2)

This one doesn’t even need an explanation. She’s gorgeous, hilarious, down to earth, hard working AND has a bangin’ body…oh, and she’s dating Christian Guzman…so yeah, enough said.

2.) Kara Corey (@karacoreyfitlife)

FullSizeRender (9)

Kara was actually one of the first fitness accounts I stumbled upon a few years ago and I’ve been following her ever since. She’s an RD with awesome, informational YouTube videos that discuss different aspects of nutrition and has such a fun, relatable personality.

3.) Brittany Lesser (@brittanylesser)

FullSizeRender (3)

I met Brittany through blogging yeeeaars ago and we’ve stayed close ever since. She is one of the most genuine, quirky people ever and always inspires me to kick ass in the gym and stay positive, no matter what life throws my way. AND I’ll be meeting her very soooon. 🙂

4.) Elle Chapleau (@elle_bfitbody)

FullSizeRender (5)

Wanna be totally inspired? Elle is your answer. Every single time she posts, I’m reminded of what dedication and passion for something really look like. She does her own thing and makes it work for HER…always with a smile on her face.

5.) Emily Duncan (@em_dunc)

FullSizeRender (6)Another quirky personality that I feel like just gets me. Emily lifts with the boys and consistently proves every “girl fitness stereotype” wrong and I freakin’ love it. And her delts are everything.

6.) Marie Wold (@marie.wold)

FullSizeRender (7)

I’m inspired by Marie for so many reasons but, above them all, is her openness and honesty about the ups and downs of fitness. It’s not always sunshine and rainbows but that’s OKAY. It’s the hard times that helps us grow. Plus…that booty though!

7.) Sarah Bowmar (@sarah_bowmar)

FullSizeRender

Sarah has one of the most informative Instagram feeds I’ve ever come across. She shares some killer workouts and constantly motivates me to push the limits. And her snapchat story is always one of the most entertaining parts of my day. Seriously– go follow her [and her cats].

8.) Emily Hayden (@ehfitness21)

FullSizeRender (1)

Emily Hayden is a bikini competitor with an unbelievable physique, but that’s only a small part of what she has to offer. She is dedicated, hilarious and was my inspiration to truly start visualizing what I want in the future…when we believe it can happen, we’re halfway there.

9.) Meg Morat (@megmo

FullSizeRender (8)

Okay, Meg is just freakin’ adorable. Her instagram is a mix of fitness, gorgeous selfies and picture-perfect sunnyside up eggs. 😉 Her humor and smile are contagious and her journey has had a lot of the same ups and downs as mine which helps me relate to her on an even more personal level.

10.) Danielle Waltman (@mrswaltman)

FullSizeRender (4)

Danielle is a mom of two adorable little ones (what?!) and manages to maintain a killer body and eat healthy, all while taking care of her kids. She motivates me to get to the gym, no matter what, and always push myself to go a little bit further. And those quads!

Okay, yes I know these are all females…that does NOT mean I don’t follow male fitness accounts (I mean, duh…) but since I’m a girl, I’m really inspired by other girls in the industry. It was actually difficult for me to even narrow this down to 10 so there’s a good chance I’ll be doing a follow-up to this post with 10 more accounts in the near future.

The bottom line? Inspiration is out there. Find it, “Follow” it, and get moving. 🙂

Do you follow fitness Instagram accounts? Who are your favorites? 

Here’s to positive inspiration…

-Emily

Follow me on Instagram & Twitter @missemmmysue


4 comments
  1. deerbeth@yahoo.com said:

    All these women help perpetuate self hatred, comparison, anorexia. They make me sick. There are more much more important and meaning things about a woman beside having a “bangin body”. They are not the normal looking woman at all. Wish I never saw this. Feel bad enough about my body.

    • Emily said:

      Beth, I’m so sorry that you feel that way. However, I chose these girls solely because they DON’T only advocate having a “hot” body. They all promote self love and inspire me to work harder towards my goals. Yes, there are many fitness accounts that promote eating too little and exercising too much but, if you look closely at these girls, they do not. Having dealt with an eating disorder myself, I know how dangerous it can be to get caught up in the “comparison trap” which is why I separated myself from social media for a very long time. That being said, just because I once dealt with disordered eating, doesn’t mean I have to steer clear of fitness forever and I truly believe that is the case for everyone. Once you have separated yourself from those negative thoughts (it takes time!) and reached your healthy (or above healthy in my case) weight, an entire world of opportunity opens up and looking at these women becomes a means of inspiration, not comparison. I value and appreciate your opinion; however, I do think you should be careful about saying that anyone (no matter what they look like) promotes anorexia or self-hatred.

  2. Brittany Lesser said:

    LOVE YOUUUU so much girl, you inspire ME! I seriously cannot wait till we live in the same state and can meet and hangout ahhh!!!! ❤ ❤ ❤

Leave a Reply

