6 [protein] bars I love

Truth be told, I can’t remember what life was like before I ate bars. Was there a time? I know that I definitely fueled myself with Luna Bars all throughout high school and, before that, crunched on Nature Valley bars during my awkward pre-teen years. They’re great. Well, I think they are at least. I know a lot of people will argue that they’re too “processed” and that we should aim to eat only “whole foods” and blah blah blah. Yes, I agree (see my post on that topic here) but I still love bars. I mean, I frequent another type of “bar” and put worse substances in my body sooo….

Nowadays there are literally bars in every flavor with every nutritional profile and made out of every ingredient imaginable. No matter what you’re looking for, there’s prooobably a bar that will fit the bill. I mean, there are even bars legitimately made out of meat…like what?

So, since I’m [obviously] a bar advocate, I thought it was only fitting to share and compare my favorites. To keep this post from turning into a novel, I’m going to focus solely on those marketed as “protein” bars and I’ll have a post next week focusing on “snack” and/or “energy” bars.

Each of the 7 protein bars that I feature will receive an overall rating based on their nutritional profile, ingredients and price. Since I’m horrible at planning (good job, Emily) I actually have no idea which one will come out on top. I guess we’ll all find out together? I’ll also include my favorite flavor of each brand (although for many of them I love multiple) but I may as well have just said “I always like the peanut butter or cookies & cream best” because I’m basic and have a raging sweet tooth.

7 [Protein] Bars I Love:

1.) Quest Bars – Cookies & Cream

500

Details: Low Sugar. Low Net Carb. // 60 g bar

Ingredients: (for Cookies & Cream) Protein Blend (Milk Protein Isolate, Whey Protein Isolate), Soluble Corn Fiber (Prebiotic Fiber), Almonds, Water, Cocoa Butter, Natural Flavors, Erythritol, Palm Oil, Dextrin, Cocoa (Processed with Alkali), Sea Salt, Calcium Carbonate, Sunflower Lecithin, Sucralose, Coconut Oil, Xanthan Gum, Baking Soda, Steviol Glycosides (Stevia)

Nutrition Facts: 190 Calories (9g Fat, 20g Carb, 21g Protein, 14g Fiber, 210mg Sodium, 1g Sugar*)

Price: $2.39-2.99 per bar

Overall Rating: 9/10 – Delicious Taste. High Protein. Low Carb. Low Sugar. High Fiber. High Price Range.

PS: Quest also has AMAZING customer service and offers a variety of other high-protein products– including chips! Click the picture below to order some for yourself and prepare to be obsessed!

2.) ThinkThin Bars – Creamy Peanut Butter

81kebkzirxl._sl1500_

Details: Gluten Free. Low Sugar/Glycemic. Kosher // 60g bar

Ingredients: (for Creamy Peanut Butter) Protein Blend (whey Protein Isolate, Calcium Caseinate, Soy Protein Isolate, Casein), Coating (Maltitol, Cocoa Butter, Chocolate, Sodium Caseinate, Milk Fat, Soy Lecithin, Natural Flavors, Salt), Glycerin, Maltitol, Peanuts, Water, Cocoa Butter, Peanut Flour, Natural Flavors, Soy Lecithin, Sea Salt.

Nutrition Facts: 240 Calories(9g Fat, 22g Carb, 20g Protein, 1g Fiber, 300mg Sodium, 0g Sugar*)

Price: $1.69-1.99 per bar

Overall Rating: 7/10 – Low Price Range. High Protein. Gluten Free. Low Sugar. High Sodium. Chalky Aftertaste.

3.) PureFit Bars – Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip

129688

Details: Vegan. Gluten-Free. Kosher. Non-GMO. // 57g bar

Ingredients: (for Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip) Brown Rice Syrup, Soy Protein Isolate, Beet Syrup, Semi-Sweet Chocolate Chips (Sugar, Chocolate, Cocoa Butter, Soy Lecithin, Vanilla Extract), Soy Crisps (Soy Protein Isolate, Tapioca Starch, Salt), Peanuts, Sunflower Oil, Peanut Flour, Natural Flavors, Sea Salt, Soy Lecithin

Nutrition Facts: 230 Calories (7g Fat, 25g Carb, 18g Protein, 1g Fiber, 180mg Sodium, 17g Sugar)

Price: $2.69-2.99 per bar

Overall Rating: 8/10 – Non-GMO. High Protein. Great Ingredients. Delicious Taste. High Sugar. High Price Range.

4.) MusclePharm Combat Crunch Bars – Cookies & CreampGNC1-20933581dt

Details: Gluten Free. Low Sugar. Low Net Carb. // 63g bar

Ingredients: (for Cookies & CreamProtein Blend (Whey Protein Isolate, Milk Protein Isolate), Isomalto-Oligosaccharide (Prebiotic Fiber), Chocolate Cookie Gems (Rice Flour, Evaporated Cane Juice, Sunflower Oil, Tapioca Starch, Cocoa [Processed With Alkali], Chocolate Liquor, Salt, Baking Soda, and Soy Lecithin), Vegetable Glycerin, Vegetable Oils (Palm, Palm Kernel Oil), Sugar, Almonds, Water, Soy Protein Isolate, Maltitol, and Cocoa, Contains less than 2% of: Resistant Maltodextrin, Salt, Soy Lecithin, Natural Flavor, Sucralose, Vanilla, and Tapioca Starch.

Nutrition Facts: 210 Calories (7g Fat, 28g Carb, 20g Protein, 12g Fiber, 459mg Sodium, 5g Sugar*)

Price: $2.50-3.50 per bar

Overall Rating: 7/10 – Delicious Taste. Low Sugar. Low Net Carb. High Protein. High Fiber. High Sodium. High Price Range. 

5.) FitCrunch Baked “Snack” Bars – Peanut Butter

image_prodprod1600020_largeImage_X_450_white

Details: Low Sugar // 46g bar

Ingredients: (for Peanut Butter) Protein Blend (Whey Protein Isolate, Milk Protein Isolate, Whey Protein Concentrate, Soy Protein Isolate), Palm Kernel Oil, Dry Roasted Peanuts, Vegetable Glycerin, Maltitol, Sorbitol, Gelatin, Wheat Flour, Sugar, Partially Defatted Peanut Flour, Cocoa Powder (Processed with Alkali), Brown Sugar, Corn Syrup, Sunflower Oil, Natural Flavors, Salt, Mono- & Diglycerides, Natural Tocopherols, Monoglycerides, Soy Lecithin, Tapioca Starch, Silicon Dioxide, Reduced Mineral Whey Powder, Maltodextrin, Sodium Caseinate, Citric Acid, Whey, Beta-Carotene, Palmitate, Potassium Sorbate, and Sucralose.

Nutrition Facts: 190 Calories (8g Fat, 14g Carb, 16g Protein, 1g Fiber, 200mg Sodium, 3g Sugar)

Price: $1.50-1.99 per bar

Overall Rating: 8/10 – Delicious Taste. Low Sugar. Low Carb. Low Price Range. Long Ingredient List. Lower Protein Content.

6.) D’s Naturals No Cow Bars – Peanut Butter Cookie Doughdsnatural

 

Details: Dairy Free. Soy Free. Gluten Free. Vegan // 60g bar

Ingredients: (for Peanut Butter Cookie Dough) Protein Blend (Brown Rice Protein, Pea Protein), Isomalto-Oligosaccharides (Prebiotic Fiber), Roasted Cocoa Nibs, Peanut Butter, Peanut Oil, Peanuts, Cocoa Butter, Peanut Flour, Sea Salt, Erythritol, Almonds, Monk Fruit Extract, Stevia

Nutrition Facts: 170 calories (4.5g Fat, 25g Carb, 20g Protein, 19g Fiber, 200mg Sodium)

Price: $2.50-2.99 per bar

Overall Rating: 9/10 – Great Ingredients. Dairy Free. Delicious Taste. High Protein. No Artificial Sweeteners. High Price Range.  

*Disclaimer: Just because a bar claims to have 0-3g of sugar does NOT mean it doesn’t contain sugar alcohols (aka: artificial sweeteners). The long-term effects of consuming sugar alcohols has yet to be determined and whether or not you choose to do so must be a personal choice.

Do you eat protein bars? Which brand/flavor is your favorite?!

Here’s to the joy of [protein] bars…

-Emily

Follow me on Instagram & Twitter @missemmmysue

13 comments
    • Emily said:

      I’ve actually never tried any of those! So crazy. I’ll have to look out for them. Thanks for the suggestions, girly! xo

  1. Shawna said:

    i love Quest bars! my fave are the Cinnamon Roll. i’m really into Medifast bars, too — the oatmeal raisin and the peanut butter chocolate are delicious.

    • Emily said:

      I looove the Cinnamon Roll flavor also! So yummy and not overly sweet. I’ve never tried Medifast bars– definitely going to be on the lookout for them. Thank you!

  2. I’ve never been really into bars, but I was obsessed with Quest bars at one point. The habit got waaay too expensive to keep up with and I ended up replacing meals with them, which was not very healthy. I did LOVE the cookies and cream one, as well as the newer mint chocolate one – the flavors are really good!

    Monica / Mocha and Moccasins

    • Emily said:

      Aghh…I’ve had the same problem. They mainly only replace breakfast for me, but still.I know I would be better served to eat real food– they’re just so convenient! haha. I actually haven’t tried the mint chocolate one (not a huge mint + chocolate fan) but my sister loves it!

      • They are definitely convenient! It’s better to eat one than to go without eating, so I guess they can come in handy. It’s a balance!

        M.

  3. Floey said:

    Love this review! The quest cookies and cream are definitely my favorite. I haven’t tried any of the other ones you listed. I actually enjoy Luna bars too 🙂 And actually I enjoy baking oatmeal cookies and pretending they’re nutritious bars haha

    • Emily said:

      hahaha! oatmeal cookies are heaven! And yesss, I like Luna Bars too. The remind me of being younger because I ate them so much growing up, lol 🙂

  4. Quest bars are my faveee. I just wish they’d stop putting sucralose in them because I HATE that. They’re the only thing I eat with artificial sweeteners so I try to tell myself everything in moderation. I truly do believe they’ll start just using all Stevia eventually since they already have their “natural” line or whatever it’s called, haha.

    • Emily said:

      Right?! I can’t believe they haven’t steered away from the sucralose yet! Bars are one of the only things I eat with artificial sweetener too (finally kicked my splenda habit!) so yeah, definitely everything in moderation. 🙂

  5. P said:

    Quest bars…can not start my day without them! The combat crunch bars have sounded interesting to me for a while too. I wish the Fit Crunch bars didn’t have gelatin though… otherwise I’d try them out 😦

    • Emily said:

      Quest Bars are so amazing! I have one almost every morning too. Definitely try the Combat Crunch Bars, if you get the chance. They’re super yummy and filling! 🙂

Leave a Reply

