heart pumpin’ [workout]

21 Breakdowns have been a part of my life for…gosh, as long as I can remember.

My dad came up with this awesome workout formula when I was probably 11 or 12 and we’ve been using it ever since. It started as a basic formula for ab workouts and manifested itself into a way for us to perform any kind of circuit imaginable. Every single one of his clients knows (and dreads) them and he holds a yearly 30-day 21 Breakdown challenge where participants perform a breakdown of 3+ ab exercises every day for 30 days. Killer! Oh, and he tortures himself with a breakdown of his age with 20(!) exercises on every birthday– um, he’s in his 60’s guys…go ahead and imagine how long THAT takes (last year it was over 5-hours!). Long story short, we love 21 Breakdowns.

So, I figured it was about time I share the love with my little corner of the internet!

The formula is simple; create a circuit of 3+ exercises and perform 21 reps of each. Next, work your way down by 3’s so that you complete the exercises a total of 7 times, ending with 3 reps each.

Over the weekend, I challenge you to try this full body 21-breakdown that I created yesterday. It will get your heart rate up, work every muscle and [undoubtedly] make you sweat!
21breakdown

The key is to keep moving! Try to take short breaks only when absolutely necessary and, if you’re working out at home, do no-equipment versions of each exercise (ex: bosu burpees can be regular burpees, cable crunches can be regular crunches, etc.) I completed the entire thing in just under 28 minutes so challenge yourself to beat my time! Let me know what you think– happy sweating!

Here’s to the good kind of breakdowns…

-Emily

Follow me on Instagram & Twitter @missemmmysue


4 comments
  1. Teresa said:

    Awesome, I’m going to try this! Thanks for sharing!

    • Emily said:

      Of course! Let me know how it goes! ❤

    • Emily said:

      Yay! I love it! I can’t wait to hear what you think 🙂

Leave a Reply

