booty burn

It’s official, I’ve finally rediscovered my motivation and joy for life.

After living in the depths of a major “funk” for the past…year?…I feel like myself again. I WANT to smile again. Unlike before, I’m not writing about it here to convince myself, I legitimately feel okay.

I’ve been in the gym more over the past few weeks that I have in months. Not because I feel like I “need” to, but because I want to be there. It feels good to sweat and it’s inspiring to look around and see other people sweating too. The strength that comes out in a gym is unlike anything else.

IMG_5028So with that in mind, I wanted to share a little plyometric workout that I put together last week. I’ll admit, it doesn’t look intimidating but…lemme tell you…I may have died. The key is to push yourself, keep up the pace and only rest during the designated rest periods. Also, be sure to keep good form. If you aren’t sure about a certain exercise, feel free to google it or ask in the comments.

bootybuildingplyo

3 Rounds Each. 2 min. Rest Between Each Circuit. 

Am I the only one who can run on the treadmill or crank it out on the elliptical for 30 min. and be fine but die from 15 min. of plyometrics? I will never understand.

Last but not least, my friend Kaylee and I are putting together a little weekly workout program to get ready for summer! Our goal is to focus on the fun aspects of working out and let weight loss and toning up simply be a result of staying active and enjoying ourselves. Once a week, we’ll be getting together to explore different hikes around SoCal, try new types of exercise (hot yoga or pole dancing, maybe?) and laugh…a lot. Hey, that’s an ab workout, right? I’ll be sharing the whole journey here and also using Instagram hashtag so that you can join in and share your fitness bliss too! Stay tuned. 🙂

Here’s to a little extra sweat…

-Emily

Follow me on Instagram & Twitter @missemmmmysue

Disclaimer: I am a certified personal trainer but, as with all workout programs, the ones I write may not be suitable for everyone. Please consult a doctor before beginning any new training regimes and if something hurts or feels uncomfortable, stop. 

5 comments
  1. Kelsey said:

    So happy for you lady! Funks are hard, and when they are long, it makes them a little harder. The silver lining to it all? It makes you stronger. =)

  2. That’s awesome to hear that you’ve re-found your motivation 🙂 I think it’s common to get burnt out and ‘lost’ during our twenties (and really, throughout life!) I’ve been lifting a lot more for the last few months, too. It’s exciting to see little muscle gains. I’ll have to try out that plyo workout 🙂

  3. P said:

    You are glistening in that photo! Haha. Will have to bookmark this workout!

  4. Brittany Lesser said:

    WOOO! Plyos are death. hahahaha

Leave a Reply

