year of fun

Can you believe it’s mid-January already?

and could my post-opener be any more cliche? 

In my last post, I talked about my intention to make this year different. To find happiness, balance, bliss. I thought about it (a lot); what I wanted to do, how I wanted to feel, which direction I wanted to take. My deepest desire has always been to make a difference by making people smile. Silly? Maybe. But it’s true and I realized I would never accomplish it until I started truly smiling myself.

So, I decided that’s where I needed to start.

My goal for this new year came down to one thing: having more fun.

IMG_3223

I’ve lived in a world of safety and comfort for as long as I can remember. I’ve continuously convinced myself that I liked it that way. I liked having a life that revolved around work (and work only). I liked coming home early. I liked always getting enough sleep. I liked skipping nights out because it proved that I was “responsible”. I lived that way for so long that I sincerely believed it.

Well, I’m done. I can’t explain it but something finally clicked.

Recent years in my life all blur together. I made all the “right” choices and painstakingly lived on repeat. And guess what? I don’t remember any of it. I don’t remember any of the nights I skipped the party in lieu of a solo-meal at home and an early bedtime. I don’t remember any of the dates I didn’t go on. I don’t remember any of the chances I didn’t take. They weren’t worth remembering.

Over the past two weeks, I’ve had more memorable experiences that I’ve had in the past 3 years combined. I’ve surrounded myself with amazing people, stayed out too late, danced, Iaughed…and smiled brighter than I even knew was possible. I’m having fun and sorry, I’m not sorry.

IMG_3184IMG_3285Processed with VSCOcam with c8 presetRecently Updated2-001IMG_3333

Take a look around you. What are you holding back? Why? So many of us try to create a “perfect life” when, in reality, a life of bliss will always be more fulfilling than perfection. A life filled with unbelievable people, unforgettable moments and immeasurable joy…that’s the life you deserve.

Here’s to having fun…

-Emily

Follow me on Instagram & Twitter: @missemmmysue

4 comments
  1. Taylor said:

    This post hit so close to home for me. I was the exact same way, I never did anything spontaneous. I never went out with friends, missed out on potential dates, and stayed in because of an early wake up call. I am a people person and the lack of personal connection just made made me even more resistant to doing things young adults should be doing. I have a goal this year of just the same thing, get out more, make friends, be spontaneous and have adventures. I know this may be a challenge on occasion, especially with my move, but I am determined to find those moments.
    I’m so happy for you that you are already making the effort to be more spontaneous and have fun. It looks like you are having the time of your life in these pictures! So glad that you are already rocking 2015! ❤

  2. I can relate to this SO MUCH. I admit I can still be that way sometimes, but I’m trying to work on being more spontaneous and stop thinking every little thing through. You look beautiful in all your pics girl<3

  3. eatingwithalicecontact said:

    I really relate to this post. I often skip nights out, to stay in and watch television. It’s the easy thing to do, but you’re right, it doesn’t create an experience worth remembering. I love the idea of your blog, and why you started it. Can’t wait to read more!

    xx Hannah
    http://www.eatingwithalice.com

  4. brittanylesserfitness said:

    Loveeee this!!! hope you had the best birthday chica! ❤

Leave a Reply

