rainfall

The rain in LA recently has had me (and the rest of So-Cal) all kinds of confused. But despite my general dislike for wet weather and its affect on my hair, makeup, clothes, car, etc. we needed it. 

Plus, the less-than-stellar weather got me thinking about this…

058a03a67b9939e30f4c21ae36cf3c93The funk that has consumed me for the past few months has definitely felt like a storm. I’ve let it confuse me, consume me and control me rather than embracing my discomfort and turning it in to something positive. Despite common misconception, I believe that there is always a silver-lining.

____________________________________________________________________________________

5 Simple Ways to Be Happier:

1. Be Thankful

Think about all of the things you’ve been blessed with. Family, friends, a home, food, two legs to walk on, two eyes to see…that’s only the beginning of my [seemingly] endless list and I have no doubt that yours will be just as extensive. We. Are. So. Lucky. Make a list of the things that you’re thankful for and make it a mission to show your appreciation (through words or actions) for one thing every day. Saying ‘thank you’ is more satisfying and eye-opening than you could ever imagine.

2. Be Present

Don’t run away from discomfort, embrace it. Feel it. Running away only allows it to marinate and manifest within you. So, aim to understand why it’s there and what’s causing it and then use that knowledge to transform it into something positive. You have the power to do that.

3. Be Honest

Be honest with yourself; your brain, your body, your friends and family…honesty is beauty.

4. Be Confident

You are you. It doesn’t get more simple (or obvious) than that. But it’s true and it’s often forgotten. You are the only you and this is your only life. Why waste it feeling ashamed or uncomfortable? Find beauty in yourself, your talents, your appearance, your quirky characteristics…everything. Above all else, you owe it to yourself to love everything about you.

5. BE

Simple as that. Just be. Right here, right now. This life is yours.

____________________________________________________________________________________

So, how am I doing with all of this? I’m getting there. I’m finding my way and choosing to be open about it and that’s terrifying. I’m putting my most-vulnerable self out there and admitting that life isn’t always perfect. I’m telling you that sometimes there will be tears and that’s okay. 

IMG_2849

They say that “good things come to those who wait” but, after months spent waiting, I’ve come to the conclusion that it doesn’t work that way. Good things come to those to allow good things to happen to them. Feeling the sensation of personal bliss is a journey, not a destination. When you begin to search for the positive and celebrate every single time you stumble upon it, happiness just happens.

Here’s to dancing in the rain…

-Emily

Follow me on Instagram & Twitter: @missemmmysue

8 comments
  1. Hannah said:

    Life has been a storm for me lately too. School, life, socializing, money…..meltdowns galore as a result. Thank you for being vulnerable and sharing, I’m a private person so I know how hard it is to show the sides of yourself that are easier to keep hidden. My mom always says “things will work out, they always do.” Keep your chin up and stay strong Emily, happiness will happen 🙂

  2. Even with tears streaming down your face, you’re glowing! Thank you for these important reminders. 🙂

  3. Floey said:

    I wish I had something more comforting to say to you right now but I feel like I’m in the same boat. The best thing we both can do is know that we’re not alone and there are plenty of other young people going through stuff like this and making realizations. It’s so wonderful that you’re aware though. I try to remember that everything happens for a reason and that I have a plan and purpose. ❤

  4. brittanylesserfitness said:

    Life will always have storms, but they come and go. You will get through this, stay strong. I’m always here for you as you know! Love you, beautiful! ❤

  5. Kelsey said:

    5 most important things I will hear all week – without a doubt. The sadness and hard parts of life are what we need to go through to become stronger people. I know you’ll find your way soon and really, things do end up happening in time how we want. I tried and applied so hard to find a “real job” after graduating, and it took me a long time to find the right place and have the right people look at my application. You are here for a reason. =)

  6. P said:

    Aww—I just want to give you a big hug! I always try and remind myself to be thankful for the good things that do happen, even if I find myself in a funk. Like you said, we have SO much to be grateful for.

  7. I have struggled with discontentment my whole life and am just now realizing how important it is to be content on a DAILY basis. It’s okay for me to want to work towards goals or changing certain circumstances but when I’m discontent and ungrateful while doing so- I hurt no one but myself. Thank you for sharing and being so vulnerable! 🙂 You’re not alone!

  8. Taylor said:

    Even if things don’t get better now or even in a few weeks, if you keep up those positive thoughts eventually you will look around and realize things are better. While I have most definitely had those funks as well, those bad moments have always made me cherish the good moments even more. I know it’s so cliche but you will get through this storm and know that you are not alone! Hang in there love, sending hugs and thoughts your way! ❤

Leave a Reply

