back with a bang

DSC_0565

Holy blog-neglect, Batman. 

I know. I’m sorry. Cue the excuses. Don’t hate me.

The past few months have been…weird. I don’t know how else to explain it. Job transitions, promotions, managing finances [aka: paying ridiculous amounts to live in a box in LA], personal shizzz, you know…life. To be completely honest, it has been rough. I’ve found myself feeling lonely, confused and depressed on more than one occasion and haven’t been able to explain why.

On Wednesday of last week, something shifted. I woke up and thought, “I don’t want to feel this way anymore”. So, I decided that I was going to smile and have a good day and you know what? I did.

I’m done letting life situations influence my happiness. I’m done searching for bliss in the world around me. It’s time to practice what I preach, discover those things within myself and share their beauty with as many people as I possibly can. That’s what this blog is about.

So, I’m back.

With that being said, there are definitely going to be some changes around here. My vision for Build Your Bliss is to be a place where anyone and everyone can come to find inspiration, thoughts and ideas. Rather than simply recapping my days and talking about myself, I want this corner of the internet to be brimming with creativity, positivity and beauty that benefits you.

My plan is to make the switch over to self-hosted by the start of 2015 and bring BYB back with a bang. As I continue working out the details, I want to know– what do you want to see more of? Fashion & Beauty, Career-Advice, Health & Fitness, Life Thoughts & Inspiration…you tell me.

6986273669a2ec6c456ee98d2331e158

Here’s to loving your life…every minute of it…

-Emily

Follow me on Instagram & Twitter: @missemmmysue

17 comments
  1. Taylor said:

    Oh how I have missed your posts so very much!!

    I can relate to the rediculous amount of weirdness that has been going on this past few months…but I am very happy that you have been able to take that negativity and make them into a positive! I feel like that is what life is about and I am slowly trying to do the same.

    As far as what do I want to see more of…all of the above! I have always loved that I can relate so much to you through many aspect of life (career, fashion (you got me hooked on free people!) and as always inspiration). Again, I am so happy you are back to blogging and I hope we can catch up soon! ❤

    • Emily said:

      Ahhh…Taylor! I’ve missed you so much!

      I hope you’re doing well and we definitely need to chat soon and catch up. xo

      • Taylor said:

        YES PLEASE! There is so much to be updated on, in the meantime I am still planning on movie out to LA in March/April time (student loans and moving across the country has been a little bit more complicated than I thought). Text/email me whenever you have a chance so we can really catch up! ❤

  2. Yayayayayy glad you’re back! Obviously you’re one of my favorite bloggers. I want to see everything, I agree with Taylor! Especially fashion & beauty because I could always use help with that 😛 love ya chicaaa

    • Emily said:

      Yayyyy! Thank you, Brittany! Obviously you’re one of my favorite bloggers too…but you already know that since I profess my love for you on a regular basis. hahaha.

      xoxo

    • Emily said:

      Thank you so much, Kaila! Happy to be back. xo

  3. Hannah Banana said:

    Miss your posts, woman! I always enjoy reading whatever you blog about. That being said, career advice and health/fitness are my current life struggles so any advice in those departments would be extra appreciated 🙂 Hope you have a great Thanksgiving!

    • Emily said:

      Aw, thank you!

      I’m definitely hoping to focus a lot on career & health/fitness so hopefully the posts will help you in some way!

      Have a beautiful Thanksgiving. 🙂

  4. Kelsey said:

    Everything sounds amazing that you have suggested & I can’t wait to see how 2015 turns out. I really want to get myself self-hosted, just for the fact I could control more of my blog. I want to be able to work with a theme! But really – this is about you, and the blog world is glad to have you back.=)

    • Emily said:

      Thank you so much, Kelsey!

      If you decide to switch to self-hosted and have any tips on how to simplify the process, let me know! xo

  5. P said:

    Miss your posts! Sorry you’ve been feeling “those” feelings lately—honestly, I think it has something to do with November and the end-of-the-year and all that because I’ve been having my share of ups and downs around this time as well. But, we’ve just got to accept it as a part of life and make the best of each day anyway 🙂

    Excited to see what plans you have for your blog! And on an unrelated note, we should totally meet up one of these for days for lunch or coffee—if you manage to get any free time over the holidays that is 😉

    • Emily said:

      I think it does too…I’m so sorry that you’ve felt it as well. But you’re right, it’s just part of life and we have to make the best of it.

      And YES! Let’s please meet up for coffee or lunch sometime soon. Feel free to email me anytime and then we can exchange phone numbers 🙂

  6. Irina said:

    YAY so happy to see you back!!! Being busy is a great thing, it means you’re living life appropriately and in the moment 🙂 Congratulations on everything you’ve accomplished thus far and cheers to infinite continuing success!

    • Emily said:

      Thank you, lady!

      And congratulations on everything YOU’VE accomplished…you’re always an inspiration to me. xo

Leave a Reply

