favorites: august 2014

I opened up WordPress to start this post, thought about the fact that it’s already the end of August and literally started laughing out loud. Um, what? I swear, months fly by faster than the time it took to microwave my mac & cheese as a kid. Apparently the clock speeds up as we get older. Not fair.

Change was the theme this month (yet again) and I still can’t seem to wrap my head around it all. I’ll go into more detail in my next post but I’m grateful- so grateful- for all of the opportunities I’ve had over the past year. When you’re doing something you love, hard work doesΒ pay off. I promise. Keeping pushing forward– don’t give up, don’t settle. The unexpected can be a blessing.

Onto ze favorites…(and yes, I typed “ze” on purpose. I’m talking with an accent, duh)

Favorites: August 2014

Fashion & Beauty:

neon nails // messy buns // heels // long necklaces // KYPRIS // online shopping // Peppina jewelry

5-August Favorites-004IMG_1417Screen Shot 2014-08-13 at 9.01.50 AM

Food & Fitness:

sushi // squats // white cheddar puffs // weightlifting // comfort food // new restaurantsΒ // chardonnay

1-August Favorites2-August Favorites-001IMG_14856-August Favorites-005IMG_14103-August Favorites-002

Life:

work // weddings (not my own) // missing lionel // nonstop laughing // social outings // family time

IMG_1406IMG_1422August Favorites-003IMG_1343

Here’s to loving our lives, every minute of them…

-Emily

20 comments
    • Emily said:

      Thank you! I’m kind of obsessed. I found it at Victoria’s Secret a few weeks ago– they probably still have it!

  1. Melina R said:

    Hi! I just started reading your blog and I have to say… I love it. Thanks for sharing your light + joy πŸ™‚

    • Emily said:

      Aw! This made my day. Thank you! And welcome. πŸ™‚

  2. Taylor said:

    I actually just had that conversation of where in the heck did the summer/year go. The fact that Starbucks is already serving their pumpkin spice lattes definitely puts a damper on the summer vibe! πŸ™‚
    Also, obsessed with your black boots!!

    • Emily said:

      That was the craziest thing to me! I walked into Starbucks this week and saw the PSL and almost had a heart attack. I swear they released them waaay earlier this year though?!

  3. I love September because it’s my birthday month, but good god it came so quickly this year! I’m not ready to be another year older already. Also, love the sunglasses you’re rocking in the first pic! πŸ™‚

    • Emily said:

      YAY! Happy Birthday Month!

      And thank you– they were $10 from Urban!

  4. Ashley said:

    I have the same tank from Victoria’s Secret except mine says I’ll Workout Tomorrow which is ironic! I love yours though…they have the best workout stuff.

    It totally doesn’t feel like September yet! I keep wondering how spring and summer just flew by. Plus it still feels like 100 degrees here daily, which I am NOT complaining about. I will miss the summer heat!

    • Emily said:

      I almost bought that one too! They’re all so cute.

      And yeah– it’s still like 90-100 degrees here which makes it impossible to accept that summer is almost over! I’m glad I’m not the only crazy one that loves the heat. πŸ™‚

  5. P said:

    Looks like you’ve had a beautifully busy August! I cannot believe September is tomorrow and that fall is approaching…but at least the weather will be slightly cooler, and not completely blazing πŸ˜‰ .

    That emergency crepe kit—hilarious!

    • Emily said:

      So cute, right?!

      They were serving mini-crepes at the event…and I definitely ate like 5. #sorrynotsorry

  6. Floey said:

    I love how happy and excited you look about life in every picture πŸ™‚
    CREPES!! Can you recommend any good crepe places in the LA / Pasadena area??

    • Emily said:

      Aw, thank you!

      And YES. Crave Cafe! Have you ever been? They have locations in Studio City and Sherman Oaks. The crepes are unreal! If you’re ever in the area, let me know and we’ll go!

  7. I was a huge fan of messy buns in August too πŸ™‚ Such a great, go-to summer style (and really great for any time of year!) Effortless beauty πŸ˜‰ Also, I love that last picture of you and the kitty! So cute.

  8. Beth said:

    Guess my comment was officially deleted. Maybe I should just unsubscribe. There was nothing offending about it. 😦

    • Emily said:

      Hi Beth!

      I didn’t delete your comment so I’m not sure what happened. I actually responded to it and then found a second comment in my spam folder. Not sure what happened.

      Anyways, Lionel is living with my dad now. Sad face. But I know he’s well taken care of there and I get to see him every time I visit.

      xo

  9. The picture of you and Lionel: <3! Where was the picture with you in the black dress taken?
    And congrats on your features in the September issue! I wish I could read all of them. Oh, wait, are they online or will be? Especially the one about Carlsbad resort.
    On another note we need to catch up. Skype sometime soon? (:

Leave a Reply

