own that

Think back on your life two years ago..

What were you like? What things interested you? Caused you stress? Brought you joy?

Now look at your life today…

I don’t know about you but, for me, everything is different. In the past two years my world has been emptied and filled, kicked and hugged, tossed and turned, flipped upside-down…I consistently preached that “everything happens for a reason” but never believed it– until now.

I gave up fear and gained life. I discovered a new career path, more friends, a greater appreciation for family, a better relationship with eating and exercise. The list goes on. The person I was two years ago would have panicked at the thought of doing what I do today. Every day is different and I’m obsessed with it. I’ve fallen in love with living and that brings tears to my eyes.

I don’t have it all figured out– anxiety and stress still plague me sometimes– but isn’t that normal? The key is to deal with those feelings as they come rather than living in a constant state of “safety” to avoid them. If you’re unhappy with something in your life, crave change, desire freedom…make it happen. You’re stronger than you give yourself credit for. You have control. Own that shit.

IMG_1010

PS: I’m not even going to pretend to come up with an excuse for my lack of blogging. Le sigh. But I’m definitely still here and a picture-heavy July Favorites is coming your way very, very soon. In the meantime, feel free to stay in contact via Instagram and my slightly-sassy Twitter.

Here’s to a little more life…

-Emily

23 comments
  1. WOO HOO. Preach girl. You have truly come so far and I am in awe of the life you’ve created for yourself. I feel like I am in that transitional, still searching phase that you were in two years ago. So hearing how well you’re doing gives me hope that there is light on the other side of turmoil! Thank you for the always important reminders.

    • Emily said:

      This seriously brought tears to my eyes. I’ve I can help and inspire anyone with my journey, then it’s all worth it. You’ve come SO far too and am constantly amazed by your strength and determination– never, ever give up. ❤

    • Emily said:

      Thank you!

      It’s so hard to balance sometimes (and I miss blogging!) but it’s nice to hear that people understand.

      xx

  2. I miss you. But you’re living your life! Like I was a while back. 😛 Definitely the choices I made aren’t as important as they are now. I mean … they were but I’m okay and fine. So I’m owning that. Hope you have a great week!

    • Emily said:

      Aw, I miss you too!

      And yessss, own that. 🙂

  3. Taylor said:

    “If you’re unhappy with something in your life, crave change, desire freedom…make it happen!” -> oh how I love that, want to frame it and look at it everyday! 🙂 I am so happy that we have met due to how much I can relate to your situation.

    With the three jobs you are balancing plus a friends and family, a little stress and anxiety is definetly going to happen. Like your post says though, just reflect on how far you have come along and how you now deal with those moments makes all the difference!

    You are totally rocking it, Emily! ❤

    • Emily said:

      Thank you so much, Taylor!

      With everything you’re doing right now, you’re totally incorporating everything I talk about here. You’re making HUGE changes that are scary but so worth it.

      I can’t wait for you to be in LA!
      xo

  4. adashofmeg said:

    love this post sweetie! LOVE YOU

  5. carrie said:

    motto to life… “own that shit” amen my girl. ❤

  6. P said:

    Two years ago was when a lot of epiphanies occurred for me, and truly brought me to where I am today! With all the changes about to come my way, I’m definitely looking forward to how I’ll be two years from now!!

  7. I can definitely relate, I am in SUCH a different place than I was two years ago. And so much happier and more balanced. Owning that shit. 😉

  8. eatsandexercisebyamber said:

    Ah, YES! I was JUST thinking today how DIFFERENT of a person I am than the person I was even just a year ago! Two years ago is even bigger of a difference, it’s incredible how much control we truly do have, we just have to WOMAN up and own it! ❤ I don't know you personally but positive vibes ❤

    • Emily said:

      It’s amazing, isn’t it?!

      Actually just saw your post on IG today about going out and living and not dwelling on food/calories/exercise/etc. SO proud of you. That’s the most amazing feeling in the world and you deserve it. xo

    • Emily said:

      Thank you!

      I’m so happy for you as well! ❤

  9. Traci said:

    Love this. At this stage in life mine is always different when I look back two years. And I love that.

  10. Kelsey said:

    You speak the truth! Looking back two years (it is a bit fuzzy), I know I’m a much happier person now and I feel I’ve started to just live my life instead of worrying about every aspect.

  11. Ashley said:

    I’ve just gotta say that you’ve inspired me SO much to change things in my life. I’ve loved watching you become so confident and spontaneous and everything you’ve become in the past 2 years! And I love being able to say that my life has changed so much too. I don’t even recognize the person I was a few years ago, and I never would have imagined myself being where I am today. It gives me so much hope that in the next year or two or five I’ll be even more different, and I’m actually excited for all those changes!

    • Emily said:

      This comment seriously brings tears to my eyes. I am so, SO proud of your journey and it has been such a joy to see the changes you’ve made (and continue to make). The opportunities out there are endless and you deserve every ounce of happiness and freedom…

      Sending you a big virtual hug ❤

Leave a Reply

