routine dream

Routine used to be my best friend.

EveryΒ day was planned, calculated and executed in a particular way. I always woke up at the same time, did the same workouts, ate the same meals, worked the same hours, and made sure I was home early enough and in bed when the clock striked 9. I lived my life on repeat. Why? Because it was comfortable. I feared the unknown and thrived off of the safety my routine provided.

Looking back, I can’t believe it.Β I have very few vivid memories from that time in my life because there was nothing to remember. Everything was the same.

I can’t pinpoint exactly when it happened but, somewhere along the way, I realized that I didn’t want to live like that anymore. I wanted freedom from the monotony. Like waking up from a really long, bad dream, I began to see clearly again and rediscovering the beautiful world that I’d forgotten.

IMG_0618

Do I eat a perfect, balanced diet? Hell no. Do I work out as often as I used to? Negative. Have I gained weight? Yep. Do things get messy sometimes? You bet. Do I always get the recommended 8-hours of sleep? HA. But do those things that make me irresponsible? No. They make me human.

We’re conditioned to believe that ‘perfection’ is synonymous with ‘success’. It’s not. The only measure of success is your happiness and the only judge of that is you. Stop convincing yourself that you’re not good enough, smart enough, healthy enough, etc. You are. Get out there and own it.

Here’s to waking up…

-Emily

29 comments
  1. P said:

    It’s also interesting how not following a routine is actually more freeing. Love this post, as always πŸ™‚

    • Emily said:

      It is! It’s kind of amazing how freeing it is.

      Thank you!

  2. Taylor said:

    This is where I relate to you sooo much! “The only measure of success is your happiness.” I have had to learn to put my happiness first, before anything else and that has been my biggest hurtle to overcome.
    With that I too have found that the same routine is just incredible dull and now am looking forward to have a more hectic, crazy, happy life. At least at this moment I have to continue with the monotony (my current office job is not very exciting) in order to get to the next phase of my life. I’m sure both your jobs are keeping you on your toes, I can’t wait to hear more about it all! ❀

    • Emily said:

      It is SO dull. You’re right. But your life is about to be turned upside-down and, as crazy as it will be, I know you’re going to love it. πŸ™‚

      Let’s chat soon– I need updates!
      xo

      • Taylor said:

        YES!! Text date soon!! πŸ™‚

  3. Love this! Here is to waking up, and getting a Starbucks, and going to work with dirty hair. I am living on the edge today!

    • Emily said:

      LOL! This put the biggest smile on my face. I definitely skipped washing my hair today in favor of Starbucks too…priorities. πŸ™‚

  4. You are so inspiring Em. This type of spontaneous, go with the flow life is exactly what I’m working towards. I am slowly breaking down my barriers and facing my fears. Can’t wait to experience the happiness you’ve discovered someday. πŸ™‚

    • Emily said:

      Aw, thank you. This actually brought tears to my eyes.
      You’re doing so, so well and you should be extremely proud of how far you’ve come already.
      Breaking down those walls of fear is difficult…really difficult…and it takes time. But I know you can do it.

      xo

  5. Love this, and I can relate so, SO much. There were a handful of years that I can barely remember because — like you said — nothing stood out. Everyday was the same and I was basically just getting by from one day to the next. Sure it was ‘comfortable,’ but it was basically just waiting to get old and die… as gruesome as that sounds. I was letting life pass me by while I was busy focusing on things that didn’t make me happy in the slightest. Here’s to leaving that behind and never looking back πŸ™‚

    • Emily said:

      It’s kind of scary to look back and not remember, isn’t it?
      I’m always so inspired by your journey…you should be really, really proud of yourself.

      And yes! Cheers to that. πŸ™‚

    • Emily said:

      lol yay! When I first read this comment I was like “what?”…I get it. πŸ™‚

    • Emily said:

      Ahhh love you too!
      I can’t even begin to tell you how much you constantly inspire me. xo

  6. Ashley said:

    Yes, I LOVE this reminder! I’m actually thankful for my weird work schedule and hours because it’s forced me to be less stuck in my routine. Sure, there are some things I don’t want to give up, but I also see the positives of being more spontaneous and it’s completely freeing ❀

    • Emily said:

      It has been so amazing watching you adjust to your new lifestyle. From someone who knows how much anxiety that can bring, you’ve handled it SO well.
      Really proud of you. xo

  7. Kelsey said:

    Love love love. Letting go of routine has made me such a happier person, and this is definitely a reminder of that. =)

    • Emily said:

      Me too, me toooo…
      It’s kind of amazing, isn’t it?

  8. gah routine. I’ve lived like that since I was a kid and I realized I missed out on all the fun. I wished I’d known sooner. I don’t regret who I am and who I’ve become … just kind of wished I had a little fun along the way. And now, I am starting to do it! πŸ™‚ hope you had a great weekend love!

    • Emily said:

      Yes yes yes…
      We can’t waste time regretting the choices we made in the past…life is too short for that. I’m so happy that you’re having more fun these days though. You absolutely deserve it!

  9. carrie said:

    yes yes yes! i was trapped in a routine for so long because it gave me thoughts of comfort and control, what horse shit, and so much time i wasted going through the motions of my life. so glad we both woke up πŸ™‚

    • Emily said:

      Right? Complete horse shit (love that, by the way!)

      xo

  10. Ashley said:

    Hi Emily! I got your website off of your Posh Mark closet! I’m very very interested in your coach wallet you are selling, but noticed you haven’t posted since April. Just wondering if you were still interested in selling it?
    Thanks!

    • Emily said:

      Ahh…I’m so happy that you found me on here! Yes, I’m still interested in selling it. I just haven’t checked my Poshmark in months. Will reply to you on there asap. πŸ™‚

  11. Well, I didn’t get to know the ‘old’ Emily but I like this one very very much. Or – because I don’t like third person talking: I ❀ you. And this: "Like waking up from a really long, bad dream, I began to see clearly again and rediscovering the beautiful world that I’d forgotten." Beautiful. You know I'm not a morning person so can we pretend that I'm just taking a little more time for my awakenig here, too??

    • Emily said:

      Aw, this comment made my night.
      Thank you, sweet girl.
      xo

  12. You have no idea how much I love this. I definitely used to (and sometimes still do) fall into this habit. It’s so easy to get caught up in a routine and then get scared to change it.

    • Emily said:

      It’s so, so easy. I still struggle with it too. But I think awareness is the first (and most important) step in making a change.

      πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

