favorites: may 2014

Is it just me, or does everything always seem to happen at once? Anyone? Bueller…Bueller…?

It never ceases to amaze me. I’ll be at a stand-still for [what feels like] forever and then…bam! Chaos. I’m not complaining– far from it actually. This chaos is bringing a handful of changes and opportunities that I couldn’t be more excited about. I’m extremely superstitious (#sorrynotsorry) so I won’t be sharing details until things are set in stone. Until then, I managed to scrape together a quick favorites post for the month of May. Excuse my lack of pictures, I promise to do better next month…

Favorites: May 2014:

Fashion & Beauty: 

shorts // white nails // converse (duh) // perfume // natural hair // sunglasses // strapless bras

3-Build Your Bliss10-002DSC_0341

Food & Fitness

weight lifting // almond milk lattes // breakfast // no cardio // triscuits & pb // sangria // grilled cheese

IMG_03561-Build Your Bliss10

Life:

spontaneity // coffee dates // family // making (big) changes // seeking out opportunities // writing

IMG_0329IMG_03972-Build Your Bliss10-001And now we make our way into June which means we’re nearly half-way through 2014. Whatthehell?

Here’s to making the days count…

-Emily

22 comments
  1. Taylor said:

    I’m definitely with you, “everything happens all at once.” I like to think of it, while it can be chaotic, all your good karma coming back to you 😉
    I can not wait to hear what you have been up to lately and what exciting things are to come!!!
    And that picture of you in the middle of the bowling alley with wine (?) is amazing! ❤

    • Emily said:

      Aw…I love that. I totally believe in karma so I hope that’s the case. And I’ll definitely share (with you, at least!) what has been going on very soon.

      PS: feel free to text me anytime with updates on your move, plans, etc!

  2. Ah I cannot wait to hear all about the exciting changes happening in your life! I totally get you on the superstition, I am the exact same way.

    • Emily said:

      Thank you!
      Hopefully I’ll be able to share soon. (:

  3. This post made me so happy. I love hearing that big GOOD changes are happening in my friend’s lives! Also loving the grilled cheese pic. You know how much I love grilled cheeses! (<—is that even the plural!?) 🙂

    • Emily said:

      Aw, thank you!

      And yessss…grilled cheeses. It has to be plural like that, right? Regardless, I LOVE them. This cafe down the street from me does them better than anyone– two types of cheese, sourdough bread, butter…yum!

  4. adashofmeg said:

    WHAT THE HELL RIGHT SIS!? How is it JUNE TODAY!? oh my 🙂 craziness – i still think we need that FaceTime date though 😀 let me know when life settles down a bit 🙂 😉 i am totally with you on that it seems like everything happens at once though!!!!!!! ahhhhh i have been feeling the same way lately too 🙂 actually just thought that exact same thing just yesterday while being BUSY after being so lonely and bored for the past week. funny how that works 🙂 anyways! love these posts!!!!!!!!! i should start them but you do them so well 😉

    • Emily said:

      You should definitely start doing favorites posts! I would love that.

      And, as always, thank you for your sweet comment! I get so excited every time I have a comment from you. Yesss…let’s please set up a FaceTime date soon. Maybe next weekend? I’ll text you later this week and we can figure something out. ❤

      PS: I need an update on your wedding planning!

  5. YES literally everything happens at the same freaking time! Sooo excited to hear the news 😀

    • Emily said:

      It does! So crazy.
      Hopefully I’ll be able to share soon!

      aaaand I’m ordering that pre workout this week! SO EXCITED.

  6. P said:

    May had such a slow start for me, but once I got busier, it really picked up the pace! I’m also shocked that we are pretty much at the halfway point of 2014. At least it is still the start of summer 😀

    I am also intrigued by the bread in that salad…is it pita bread :)?

    • Emily said:

      It is! It was actually the most amazing pita bread I’ve ever had– super soft and doughy. It was a vegan mediterranean salad with almond-ricotta…unreal!

  7. Ashley said:

    I’m super excited to hear what’s going on in your life lately! I hope all good things (:

    I love your hair wavy, so cute! I’ve been wearing my hair more natural lately and embracing the waves instead of trying to fight them. I always revert to the beachy look when summer rolls around!

    • Emily said:

      Thank you!
      Natural hair is the best during summer– I love it!
      And I’m still obsessed with your darker color. (:

  8. How are you liking the weight lifting and no cardio? I really want to weight lift more after the baby comes. I used to be a cardio queen but actually think I’d see better results if I stuck more with weight lifting. I do hope to get back into running next spring though. I’m going to give myself some time after the baby comes in November.

    • Emily said:

      I actually love it. Like, a lot. It totally surprises me because I’ve always been a cardio-junky…
      The key for me is to do really active weight-lifting (jumping jacks, jump rope, etc. between sets) because I still get my heart-rate up and get that cardio “high”.
      I’ll definitely be interested to hear what you think after baby comes and you do a little more lifting. I have a feeling you’ll love it! xo

  9. Irina said:

    Everything really does tend to happen all at once right? When it rains, it pours…although that’s not necessarily a bad thing (sometimes rain is good 🙂 ). I’m so proud of you for weight training! It’s inspiring because it’s something that I’ve been trying to get into for ages already but my love affair with running won’t permit it. How is running going btw? Call me crazy but for some reason I have the idea in my mind that you stopped running due to some minor injury? No? Did I dream that or read it somewhere? Seriously, I don’t know where my mind is these days so forgive me please 🙂

    P.S – I’m looking forward to hearing your news! I’m SUPER superstitious too and never share anything until it’s set in stone, so I understand you and am being patient!

    • Emily said:

      Thank you!
      I’ve always been so intimidated by weight training but I really am learning to love it. The key for me is to incorporate active rest between sets (jumping jacks, jump rope, etc.) to get my heart rate up. It makes it more enjoyable, for some reason!
      And you definitely didn’t imagine the running break. It wasn’t really for an injury per se, I just was getting really burnt out on it and my joints were constantly aching. But (thanks to inspiration from you!) I’m starting to ease my way back into it. (:

      And news is coming very, very soon! yeee!

  10. I seriously love all of your outfits. You have such a classic, easy-going style and your clothes are adorable. And the food, well you always eat the best looking food. But can I just say, you have a very attractive group of man friend’s. I bet they all totally enjoyed bowling with a pretty lady like you. I wish I had just a tish bit of your confidence. Hanging out with guys, especially attractive guys, is not my specialty. I am so awkward around guys it’s not even funny lol Thanks for sharing your month of May favorites 🙂

    • Emily said:

      Aw! This comment seriously made my day. Thank you!

      And I’ll admit– I do have a lot of attractive friends. They’re all dorks though (which makes them even more attractive, in my opinion! lol) I’m super awkward too though. Seriously. Like SUPER awkward. So, you’re not alone. (:

      • Attractive AND dorky….doesn’t get much better 🙂 Glad to hear i’m not alone in my awkwardness, sometimes I feel like i’m such a weirdo around guys lol

Leave a Reply

