in defense of fun

When was the last time you had fun? No, really…

Sometimes I think adults are conditioned to think that “fun” is synonymous with “immature”. Or that time spent doing something unproductive is merely time wasted. Why is that?

Sure, we’re grown-ups with responsibilities but that doesn’t mean we can’t be happy. Building true personal bliss is a matter of finding a balance between work and play. It’s knowing how to focus and then knowing it’s okay to take a break and let your hair down. It’s filling out your weekly agenda and then pushing it aside to be spontaneous. It’s striving to always put your best foot forward and then taking every opportunity to kick off your shoes and dance. It’s finishing your work and then doing something completely unrelated brings you joy. It’s nurturing friendships. It’s laughing. It’s smiling.

IMG_0338

I’ve missed out on so many opportunities in my lifetime by making the “responsible” choice and staying home, working later, getting sleep, etc. Is that wrong? Not necessarily. But it’s also not right. This is my life. My one life. I want it to be filled with work and play. Isn’t that how it should be?

Here’s to never, ever being ashamed of fun…

-Emily

Follow me on Twitter & Instagram // @missemmmysue

25 comments
    • Emily said:

      Thank you! Love YOU and all of your amazing posts recently. xoxo

    • Emily said:

      Yeee! You either, pretty lady.

      ❀

  1. adashofmeg said:

    honestly, i cannot agree more. i have been having so much fun – even by myself – lately!!!! i have been dancing in my room to crazy loud music. it is so fun πŸ™‚

  2. Well said, girl! A life without a little enjoyment mixed in isn’t a life at all. I think we all get caught up in productivity and the need to do-do-do all the time that we forget that enjoyment is really what life is all about!

    • Emily said:

      It’s so true! I’m guilty of that more often than I’d like to admit.

  3. Taylor said:

    Could not agree more! I’ve been one to pass up on opportunities for the same reasons you stated.
    I’m definitely working on letting myself have a bit more fun and be a bit more spontaneous! πŸ™‚

    • Emily said:

      It’s a constant work-in-progress for me too but it’s so worth it!
      And I’m glad that you’re treating yourself to a little extra fun. You work really hard and definitely deserve it!

  4. You took the words out of my mouth. I never take vacations and/or sick days. So afraid to go back to work and find MORE work. Can you say stress? But I just realized that work won’t ever end. So I decided to take the rest of the week off. Thanks for always resonating with my feelings. πŸ™‚ haha

    • Emily said:

      Good for you! That’s so awesome. You totally deserved a little break– hopefully you’ll recap what you filled your days off with on the blog? (:

  5. This post entirely resonated with the way my life has been for the past five years or so. I still struggle a lot with social anxiety and pushing myself to say yes instead of automatically turning someone down. Life is too short to do anything but the things that make you happy and that are fun/enjoyable. Thanks for the reminder πŸ™‚

    • Emily said:

      Ahh, social anxiety…I’m right there with you.
      It’s taken a lot of time and energy for me to feel more comfortable saying “yes” and, while I still find myself falling back into old patterns sometimes, it’s so worth it when I push the boundaries of my comfort zone.

      As always, thank you so much for your sweet comments. xo

  6. Ashley said:

    Yes yes YES! I think there’s a time and a place for responsibility and working hard, but there’s also a point where you just burn out. And I don’t want to get to that point, ever. So I may not be taking vacations yet, but that doesn’t mean I can’t go on a walk after work just to enjoy the scenery, lay out by the pool instead of catching up on my to-do list and splurging a little on clothes. Because we all deserve those little and sometimes big things to enjoy!

    • Emily said:

      Exactly! So happy to hear that you’re taking time for yourself amidst the craziness of your new job. (:

  7. Soumeya said:

    Just discovered your blog and i love it! Have fun! πŸ™‚

    • Emily said:

      Thank you!
      Just took a look at yours and I love it as well. Thank you for commenting! xo

  8. Irina said:

    Yet another awesome post πŸ™‚ I’m with you on this, I’m a firm believer that “age appropriate” is all relative to an individual. When I first moved to NYC I felt…odd…to umm have fun in the manner that I wanted to (like I was back in college haha). But eventually I realized that it was MY life and I should do what I desired as long as it made me happy (with limits of course). We have one life to live and we can’t always make progress we need by taking the responsible route.

    • Emily said:

      “We have one life to live and we can’t always make progress we need by taking the responsible route.”
      YES. Can I frame that? So accurate.

      xo

  9. I love this so much. People so often get caught up in the the mundane details of life and forget to sit back and enjoy it once in a while.

    • Emily said:

      It’s so true. I understand that a big part of life is routine but another (probably bigger) part is learning to break that routine when necessary/desired.

      (:

Leave a Reply

