liquid sunshine

I finally did it. On Sunday afternoon, I drove right past my favorite local juice bar, came home, and broke out the juicer that has been collecting dust for months years. I know it’s much more cost-efficient to make my own juices but laziness always gets the best of me. Until Sunday.

After cleaning off said neglected juicer, I scoured my kitchen for ingredients and got to work. The result was like sunshine in a glass. The perfect balance of sweet and tart and jam-packed with nutrients. And cheap. Really cheap. Although anything seems cheap compared to $8 per 16oz.

GreenSunshineJuice

Green Sunshine Juice:

-3 cups fresh spinach

-1 english cucumber

-1 zucchini squash

-1 apple

-1 lemon (small)

-1/2 inch fresh ginger

Load everything into your juicer, taste, and adjust according to preference.
If you don’t have a juicer, use a blender! Blend the ingredients with 2 cups of water and strain.

What’s your favorite juice combination?

Here’s to sipping our way to health…

-Emily

Follow me on Twitter & Instagram // @missemmmysue

19 comments
  1. We have a juicer some where in my house but it’s ancient. I’m always saying I’m going to try juicing then never do. I need to one of these days!

    • Emily said:

      That’s exactly how my juicer is! It’s ancient and has barely been touched…
      You should totally bust yours out. It’s so much fun!

  2. adashofmeg said:

    mmmmm apple and ginger! how lovely

    • Emily said:

      It was so yummy! I forgot how much I love ginger. (:

  3. P said:

    This would be so refreshing to have right now :D!

    • Emily said:

      It was! Perfect for warmer weather!

  4. Glad to hear that you finally dusted off your juicer. I have a vitamix and always trying to find new recipes to try out. I usually put a scoop of vanilla protein powder, 1 c almond milk, 1 c of strawberries, and a handful of spinach. You can’t even taste the spinach in it once it’s all mixed up.

    • Emily said:

      Okay…I am SO jealous that you have a Vitamix. Seriously. I can’t even tell you how many hours of my life are spent longing for one. lol!
      And that combination sound delicious! I love sneaking greens into my smoothies. (:

  5. Mary said:

    That looks beautiful. I love your smoothie jar! I think most of my kitchen appliances gathered dust for years until I started blogging and now they’re out and used most days of the week!

    • Emily said:

      Thank you!

      And I’m the same way. I’m finally starting to break out my neglected kitchen appliances– blogging motivates me!

      xoxo

  6. Irina said:

    Ok we totally swapped places because I haven’t juiced in weeks!! I’m so ashamed to say this because I was on such a good streak for so long. I think you’re the inspiration I need to dust off the juicer, stock up on veggies, and get juicing again right in time for summer.

    • Emily said:

      Ahh…really?! Well, know that you were my inspiration for doing it! I can’t wait for you to juice again so I can steal a few of your recipes. (:

  7. Ashley said:

    I really think I need to invest in a juicer! I love all the fancy fresh juices at Whole Foods but I have yet to make my own and I know it’s so much more cost-effective.

    One of the appliances I haven’t used in a few months is my dehydrator. I love it but I never think to use it as often as I should!

    • Emily said:

      That’s exactly why I’ve never invested in a dehydrator! They seem amazing but I know I’d rarely use it.

      Having a juicer is great if your patient enough to use it and clean it <— that's the worst part! lol

  8. OHH so exciting!! Homemade juice can’t be beat!

    • Emily said:

      It’s true! It’s so much better than store-bought. (:

  9. Kelly said:

    I have never tried squash in a smoothie – sounds delicious!

Leave a Reply

