emily tidbits

Over the past few months, I’ve been tagged on a handful of different surveys and awards (thank you!) and have been meaning to do them all for…well, months. In order to not bore you a week’s worth of tag posts, I decided to combine them all together and simply share 25 facts about myself. No theme. No rhyme or reason. Just random things that you may or may not already know. Ready? Let’s go.

25 Random Emily Tidbits:

1. I love the heat. 95 degrees is my happy place.

IMG_0279

2. I use a trenta tumbler from Starbucks for water. It’s always by my side.

3. I write everything down in my agenda. Digital calendars don’t do it for me.

4. I don’t really like avocados. Gasp.

5. I love the beach but I hate sand. Hate hate hate.

IMG_6577

6. I used to think that I didn’t want kids but, the older I get, the more that changes.

7. I moved to LA 3 weeks after I turned 18 and never looked back.

8. I haven’t had a serious relationship in…a long time. Dating is tough stuff.

9. I have a cat who thinks he’s a dog. Yes, Lionel legitimately plays fetch.

10. I hate pencils. I never write in pencil.

11. I don’t have any desire to do Crossfit. Ever.

12. I could shop for clothes and makeup for days on end and never get bored.

13. I have yet to find a beer that I enjoy. I’m a wine-o all the way.

IMG_6581

14. I cancelled my cable a few months ago (too expensive) and don’t miss it one bit.

15. I do my smiley faces like this… (: … always have, always will. Yours are backwards.

16. I will never understand people who are rude to waiters, baristas, etc. Not cool.

17. I love rings. They’re my favorite accessory.

18. I overuse commas. Oops.

19. I miss high school sometimes. Dances, football games, parties…those were the days.

14445_1186700823616_4231978_n

20. I really don’t want to get old. It terrifies me.

21. I didn’t drink juices or smoothies for years and now I have at least 1 a day.

IMG_0231

22. I go through entire boxes of cereal without touching milk. Handfuls here and there add up.

23. I desperately wish I didn’t quit piano as a child. Mom and dad, you were right.

24. I would be lost without my phone and computer. Sad but true.

IMG_5448

25. I love blogging and writing. I don’t know what the future holds but I hope it includes both.

And that’s that! If you want to share a random tidbit post like this on your blog, please do!

Here’s to our little quirks…

-Emily

Follow me on Instagram & Twitter // @missemmmysue

39 comments
  1. Beth said:

    Emily, I want to cancel cable too because of the cost. How do you get reception now? What are you still able to watch on television? Thanks

    • Emily said:

      I cancelled everything so I only watch what I stream through Netflix. I still use TimeWarner for my internet connection though, so I pay for that.
      I hope that helps!

  2. love this post emily! We are so much alike haha, except the avocado part 😉 I could live off avocado. And that Lionel part cracked me up

    • Emily said:

      Thank you!

      I wish I liked avocados more! I think I’m slightly allergic, actually…they make my tongue super itchy. lol

  3. Love this! I hate the sand, too! hahahah I want to move to LA so bad. It’s usually 95 in Florida and I HATE it lol I like cool weather, not too cold, not too hot (or humid)! And my dog thinks he’s a cat LOL

    • Emily said:

      Ahhh…please move to California!
      It looks like your visit here has been amazing so far. (:

  4. P said:

    “I use a trenta tumbler from Starbucks for water. It’s always by my side.” <—I need to do something like this. I never get enough water during the day and it's something that I certainly want to change!

    I also have an agenda/planner that I carry around with me daily. There's something about being able to physically cross off things on a to-do list…it just makes you feel more accomplished 🙂

    • Emily said:

      I highly recommend the Starbucks tumblers for water! Maybe it’s just me, but I definitely prefer drinking my water from a straw. lol

      And I’m with you 100%! I love physically crossing things off of my to-do list.

  5. adashofmeg said:

    omg omg omg i could read about you forever sis! can we plan a FaceTime date soon!?!?! we are soooo much alike in very many ways!

    ummmm hello #12…. we would do some serious damage if we did shopping together 😀 and i also have to WRITE everything in my agenda 😀

    • Emily said:

      YES. Please, please…

      And I don’t even want to think about the damage we would do if we went shopping together! We would have so much fun though. (:

  6. 1) You are crazy!! 95 degrees is my worst nightmare! Haha. I’m definitely a fall/winter girl – though spring is nice too. Maybe it’s because I’m a redhead and I’ve always burned in the sun so I prefer overcast days.

    • Emily said:

      One of my good friends is a redhead and she’s the exact same way! She always says “I love the sun but the sun doesn’t love me.” haha

      I do enjoy cool(er) weather– in the 70’s or 80’s– but I loathe being cold!

  7. GIRL WE ARE TWINS. I was nodding my head the entire time I was reading this post. Heat? You know i love it! I am a cali girl at heart for sure! I need to get out of this Snowmagedon I currently live in! I’m attached at the hip to my phone and computer, I HATE sand too, I write my to-do lists down on paper instead of in my phone, and I am really afraid of getting old for some reason as well! Loved reading this. 🙂

    • Emily said:

      That’s exactly how I feel reading all of your posts too! We’re so much alike, it’s kind of crazy!

      And “snowmagedon”…hahaha! That made me laugh out loud. Get your booty over to Cali, girl!

      xoxo

  8. Ashley said:

    I loved learning more about you! We are so similar. I prefer wine (white!) to beer, especially if it’s sangria. I am dying to live in southern California or Arizona because I love the dry heat. I’m not looking forward to humidity this summer! I stopped subscribing to cable when I moved and it was no longer paid for and I’m so happy to save some money on that. And I could spend all day everyday shopping for clothes and makeup–I would love to be a personal shopper for someone!

    • Emily said:

      White wine is my favorite too! And I was actually just talking to my sister about how I want to make homemade sangria when she’s visiting me in a few weeks.

      Smart move with not getting cable– it’s so crazy expensive! I wish had realized that sooner!

  9. Numbers 3,10,11,20, yes yes yes. We have so much in common. And I always have my Camelbak full of water. I sometimes wonder if I drink too much, haha.

    • Emily said:

      We do! I think that’s why I love your blog so much. (:

  10. Irina said:

    Oh my gosh are we twins?!? With the exception of your love for heat (yuck can’t deal!), I could’ve written each and every point myself! Rings are by far my favorite accessory (I’m even planning a post on my favorites for this week haha no joke!), and I never liked beer. I could go on and on…

    Oh did I mention I adore you? 🙂

    • Emily said:

      Ahhh…I feel the same about you! I seriously adore you and your blog.
      I was actually thinking last night that I really, really want to get serious about planning a New York trip. So, you can expect an email about that in the near future. (:

      Ooh, and I cannot wait for that ring post!

      • Irina said:

        Um YES PLEASE!! And I was just talking to my mom about a vacation out west in September. Cali has to happen this year for me, I’m in full-blown planning mode now so I’ll keep you posted 🙂

      • Emily said:

        YAY!
        Ahh, if you visit here and I manage to get an east coast trip planned…so. much. fun. 🙂

  11. Taylor said:

    It’s too funny, the entire time I was reading this I was like “yup..same..oh yeah that one too!’ 🙂
    I’m a visual person so I have a big calendar on my desk with all my too do’s. If I don’t write it down (in pen, not pencil) I will forget it! Also #8 ,11-13 twinning ❤

    • Emily said:

      Yay for pens! lol. It’s so silly but there’s something about pencils that really bothers me…maybe it’s that they smear and fade? Or that squeaky noise that they make sometimes?

      I really need to get one of those big desktop calendars! I love them.

  12. ah … serious relationships .. I could of been in one but I was going through health problems and didn’t want to be a burden to anyone so gave up on talking to this one guy.but I realized I couldn’t stop falling for him but by that time he was already with another girl. *sigh* timing sucks. but at least he told me he likes me back and if he wasn’t with her … bleugh! but I love knowing more about you! love love love it!

    • Emily said:

      Ugh…I actually went through a similar situation at the end of last year. So frustrating, isn’t it? I’m sorry that you had to deal with that…
      But, just remind yourself that everything happens for a reason. The perfect guy will come along when the time is right and everything will fall into place naturally (at least I hope so!)
      xoxo

  13. misshannieleigh said:

    Loved this! Getting to know you better is so much fun, I thoroughly enjoyed it.

  14. Except for a few points – how in the world would I ever survive in 95° heat when we hardly ever reach 85° over here?? – this post is further proof we’re twins. Not like we didn’t say that every other day already but really. Commas… aah, a girl after my own heart. I’m a grammar nerd and not afraid to admit it.
    Fingers crossed for two years to pass FAST and then a job in LA [assuming I’ll adapt to the heat]. Having lots of fun in life – and not ever doing Crossfit – will make getting old less scary. Or at least we can pretend it.
    xo

    • Emily said:

      Lol! I love that you included never doing Crossfit in our future together. Amen!

      And all-hail the comma…
      (:

  15. I think we’d get along juuuuuuust fine. The avocado thing might be an issue though 😉 And I’ll never understand people who are rude to anyone in general… Like… why? And don’t even get me started on how fast I can polish off a box of cereal. It’s there, and suddenly it’s not 😯 I have gnomes in my kitchen or something…

    • Emily said:

      I don’t get it either! Like, what happened to make them so grumpy all the time? Life is too short!

      And I really, really wish I liked avocados more. I think I’m slightly allergic though because they make my tongue and throat suuuuper itchy. Sigh…

  16. Lela said:

    Avocado is just greasy, especially when it hits a throat. Hardest thing to swallow despite its nutrition stats.

    • Emily said:

      So true! I never thought about it that way but they definitely are.

  17. Kelsey said:

    Can’t do avocados either! If they end up in a salad, I’ll eat them but can’t do them on my own. I really want to get a trenta tumbler but I have so many water bottles already! I’d definitely have to minimize my stash a bit before that happens…
    I will probably always be a paper planner/agenda girl, and I’m okay with it. What can I say, I like my handwriting too much to commit to digital!

    • Emily said:

      Ahh…I’m so glad I’m not the only one who isn’t obsessed with avocados! They just don’t do it for me…I think it’s the consistency?
      And yay for paper agendas! I love my handwriting too so that’s definitely a big part of it. (:

      • Kelsey said:

        Definitely texture for me. When I was little, couldn’t eat mashed potatoes or scrambled eggs because of the texture so avocados make sense too!

  18. OMG SO CUTE post 🙂 and it gives me that lovely summer vibe.

    Check out my new post..Divine Hm Home outdoor inspiration 🙂

    I wish you a fab week dear

    LOVE Maria at inredningsvis – inredning it’s, Swedish for decor 🙂

Leave a Reply

