berries & bliss

First and foremost, thank you to everyone for your sweet, thought-provoking comments on my last post. Embracing change, breaking routine, and learning to live can be really challenging and it’s a comfort to know that we’re all on the journey together.

In other news, my smoothie obsession lives on. I initially started drinking them after my cleanse because they were convenient and delicious and recently I’ve noticed even more benefits. My skin is clearer, I have more energy without caffeine (no coffee in a week– who am I?), and my sweet-tooth hasn’t been showing her silly face quite so frequently. I’m sure it’s a phase that will pass [like many others before it] but I’m making the most of this addiction while it lasts.

This morning’s combination was a definite winner…
IMG_0216

Berry Vanilla Breakfast Smoothie:

-1 Chobani Vanilla Greek Yogurt (5.3 oz.)
-1/2 cup frozen blueberries
-2/3 cup frozen strawberries
-1/2 cup cucumber (chopped)
-1 tbsp. honey
-1 tbsp. chia seeds
-1/3-1/2 cup almond milk

In the order listed, pile all ingredients in a blender. Blend. Pour. Sip. Savor. Smile.

Here’s to healthy vices…

-Emily

13 comments
  1. P said:

    Will definitely be bookmarking this recipe for use in the future! I like the idea of adding a cucumber in.

    • Emily said:

      It’s an awesome addition because you get a dose of greens but can’t taste it at all! Let me know how you like it. (:

  2. Ashley said:

    I love the idea of adding in a cucumber instead of the usual spinach! I’m sure it’s a really refreshing add-in for those hot days!

    • Emily said:

      It is! I actually added it because I ran out of spinach (lol!) but I loved the result!

    • Emily said:

      Thank you! It was delicious. (:

  3. I need to start getting into the habit of adding cucumber to my smoothie and juices!! Looks delicious!

    • Emily said:

      I’ve just started adding it and it’s such a refreshing addition! Highly recommended. (:

  4. Lisa said:

    Sounds great, I’m forever looking for smoothie recipes that don’t include banana (hate it!). I’ll have to try this one. Thanks.

    • Emily said:

      Oooh, yes! Definitely try this one.
      I love banana but I try not to use it in every smoothie (for varieties sake). haha.

  5. This smoothy looks tasty. I have never put chia seeds in anything but have heard alot about those recently. I guess I should try them out.

    • Emily said:

      I’ve just started adding them to smoothies and they make them so much more filling!
      I still can’t do chia “pudding” though– the texture weirds me out!

Leave a Reply

