a lacy affair

Spring has sprung.

The sun is shining, flowers are blooming, skin is darkening, smoothies are abundant, and we’re all replacing our winter layers with a lighter wardrobe. Can you blame me for loving this time of year? Spring and summer fashion is my version of heaven. Growing up, I always dreamed of a place where it was summer year-round and, let’s be honest, Los Angeles comes pretty darn close.

For Spring & Summer 2014, I’ve added a new warm-weather staple to my wardrobe; lace bralettes.

I’ve professed my love for them time and time again and can’t seem to shake it. They’re comfortable, versatile, and add a unique twist to any outfit. They’re ideal for small-chested ladies (like myself) but I’ve seen bustier girls rock them as well- it’s all a matter of choosing the right style.

DSC_0335Lace Bralettes-001

Lace Bralettes-002

Lace Bralettes

1. The Halter // Free People Galloon Lace Halter Bra

2. The Triangle // Kimchi & Blue Lace Triangle Bra

3. The Racer-Back // Free People Galloon Lace Racerback

4. The Bandea // Kimchi & Blue Scallop Laced Bra

DSC_0336My collection is embarrassingly large but these are my 5 favorites. I typically style them with open-backed tops, flowy dresses, and muscle tanks and wear one nearly every day because…well, they’re adorable and it doesn’t feel like I’m wearing a bra. How can you beat that?

Here’s to lots of pretty little things…

-Emily

17 comments
  1. P said:

    Funny that you’re posting this now…aerie is doing a free lace bandeau promo through Sunday with any purchase :P. Not exactly a bralette, but still perhaps you can add some more to your collection 😀

    • Emily said:

      Are they?! Ahhh…I’ll definitely be taking advantage of that. Thank you!

    • Emily said:

      I do too. I’m obsessed…it’s a problem that I have no intention to fix. (:

  2. Ashley said:

    I’m loving lace bralettes too! Aerie and Victoria’s Secret have some really cute ones that are decently priced and I really want to add to my collection. They are totally versatile, and perfect for hot summer days!

    • Emily said:

      I looove the Victoria’s Secret ones! Thank you for reminding me about them– I need to check out their latest collection. (:

  3. Okay you keep talking about these so maybe it’s time I try them out… 😉 I’m small-chested too, so maybe I could pull these off? haha. Weird question, but do you wear a regular bra with them too?

    • Emily said:

      do it do it do it…you’ll never look back!

      I don’t wear a bra with them– I find that, if you’re small-chested, they provide plenty of support and coverage. My friends that have fuller busts layer them with a regular bra but I love that they give me an excuse not to wear one!

  4. Love lace!! I haven’t bought any new lace pieces recently but I do have a black lace dress with a dropped-v shaped back that I wore for my sisters bridal shower which I LOVE. Need to add some more pieces to my wardrobe though! You always inspire me with your fashion sense!

    • Emily said:

      Um…that sounds fabulous! I looove lace dresses.

      Thanks, lady! ❤

  5. adashofmeg said:

    i don’t have one but they are GORGEOUS 😀

    • Emily said:

      buy oneeee! You’ll never look back. (:

  6. Taylor said:

    I actually bought one from aerie a while back after seeing you rave about them and I love it!! I wear it any chance I get and am dying to go out and buy a few more in a different color!

    • Emily said:

      Yay!! That makes me so happy!
      Definitely check out Victoria’s Secret and Urban Outfitters, if you have one. (:

  7. These are SO cute, and totally fun. Perfect for summer! 🙂

Leave a Reply

