favorites: april 2014

Wasn’t Christmas just yesterday? (enter cliche statement about how quickly time passes) 

Really though, I don’t understand it. And it’s scary. It totally hit me this month that time only moves forward– never backwards. Yes, I know that sounds obvious but have you ever really thought about it? Unbelievable. And yet we continue to wish our days away. Note to self: stop doing that.

On a lighter note, April was filled with an abundance of friends, family, food, and fashion. The best.

Favorites: April 2014:

Fashion & Beauty:

soft shorts // kate spade // real techniques brushes // bralettes // lush // messy buns // converse

2-Snapshots31-DSC_03043-Build Your Bliss10

Food & Fitness:

smoothies // hiking // fresh fruit // toast with butter // circuit training // quest bars // juice // baking

5-Build Your Bliss10-002IMG_00926-Build Your Bliss10-003Life:

family // birthdays // budgeting // driving with the windows down // summery candles // blogging

7-IMG_0174IMG_6866891e145cf48381c25269df13f3a51d14

Here’s to truly embracing the next 31 days…

-Emily

22 comments
  1. So true about life flying by. It’s scary. And it IS scary that we only move forward and never backwards, even if it does seem obvious. Sometimes I wish we could go back to a certain moment just for a day, or even a few minutes, to cherish it even longer.

  2. Spring Oreos?! Yum 🙂 I realize just the color has changed but I’m liking it! Also, that salad looks really delicious as do the pancakes! Happy April and cheers to May!

    • Emily said:

      I thought the Spring Oreos were so fun too! We baked them into the middle of the brownies and the little splash of color felt really festive. 🙂

      Cheers to May! xoxo

  3. Hey Emily, lovely blog, just wanted to know what you think of the techniques make up brushes, I see them in boots so often and never know whether to buy them or not! – (another) Emily x

    thewhimsicalway.wordpress.com

    • Emily said:

      Hi Emily!

      Thanks so much for commenting. (:

      The Real Techniques brushes are honestly amazing. I was hesitant because they’re rather inexpensive and I figured they’d shed or not provide good coverage but I was so, so wrong. I actually prefer them to my pricey MAC brushes– highly recommended!

      xoxo

  4. Those Real Technique brushes are some of my favourite! I can’t believe how good they are for how little they cost. And Honey Trap is probably one of my favourite products from Lush… I’ve gone through so many little tins of that, it’s kind of embarrassing 😆

    • Emily said:

      I can’t believe how much I love the Real Techniques brushes! My sister recommended them and I didn’t have high-hopes based on the cost but they’re amazing. I actually prefer them to my pricey MAC brushes.
      And that was my first tin of Honey Trap…I say “was” because it’s already gone and I’ve purchased a second. (:

  5. P said:

    You just cannot go wrong with a Quest bar and smoothie pairing!

    “Powered by tofu” —> haha, love that shirt :)!

    • Emily said:

      SO true!

      And isn’t the shirt amazing? I always tell him that I’m going to steal it. (:

  6. adashofmeg said:

    that kale salad looks amazing babe

    • Emily said:

      It was so good! From The Cheesecake Factory, actually. If you’re every near one, I highly recommend it!

  7. Kelsey said:

    A Quest bar sounds soo good right now…

    • Emily said:

      Quest Bars always sound good… (:

  8. Taylor said:

    Your April sounds like it was amazing! I love the outfits too…and excuse to wear converse 😉

    I’m with you, I can’t believe how fast this year has been speeding by. Parts of me want to slow it down and another part wants it to speed up. The challenge is focusing on the moment and taking full advantage of it! ❤

    • Emily said:

      That’s the constant struggle for me but I’m working on it! It sounds like you’ve had a really busy April as well– filled with a lot of exciting things. (:

      PS: Feel free to email me anytime with updates on your potential move and if you have any questions!
      xoxo

  9. Ashley said:

    I love your shorts, so cute! I’m really loving knit shorts like yours that can be dressed up or down.

    It’s seriously so crazy how fast this year is going! I’ve only really started realizing how quickly time goes by in the past few years so it makes me a little nostalgic for college and I can’t believe I’m already done with that chapter of my life. Just goes to show that we can’t take any day for granted ❤

    • Emily said:

      Thank you! I love knit and cotton shorts because they’re sooo comfortable and versatile. Forever 21 has a lot of cute ones right now!

      And I think graduating college is always one of the biggest eye-openers. It’s weird to know that adult-life is forever…no more school or being a kid. So, so strange. But like you said, it’s just proof that we need to embrace every single day for exactly what it is. ❤

  10. squigglefloey said:

    I love the quintessential palm tree picture! But oh my gosh it’s been SO hot this week! I’m so glad it’s cooling down. I love summer but 90+ is uncomfortable. And I love your kate spade ring! I’ve been eyeing their wallets as of late 😛

    • Emily said:

      It’s totally the standard LA picture, isn’t it? I love it though!

      And I’m obsessed with Kate Spade. Ob.sessed. Her wallets are so adorable! My best friend has one and the quality is amazing– I definitely think they’re worth the investment. (:

      • squigglefloey said:

        Good to know! Really want to save up for one 🙂 The light blue color is sooo pretty!

Leave a Reply

