smoothie sippin’

I have a confession– I’ve officially fallen into the cool, refreshing arms of the smoothie fan club.

I spent years convinced that I didn’t like them because they “weren’t satisfying” and had “too much sugar”. Um, why didn’t someone slap some sense into me? Smoothies. Are. Amazing.

After my smoothie cleanse, I found myself craving them non-stop and decided to take matters into my own hands. I bought a [cheap] blender, stocked up on ingredients, and started experimenting. My first few attempts were less-than-stellar simply because I didn’t use the right ratio of ingredients. Since then, I’ve started to discover what works best in terms of taste, texture, and satiety and I put together a little cheat-sheet for building the perfect smoothie. Start with a liquid base and then choose one item (or a combination) from each of the four categories. How easy is that?

smoothie 101These ingredients are my personal favorites but feel free to get creative and try new things! The options are endless. I try to use frozen fruits and vegetables whenever possible because they bring out a creamy, icy texture that I absolutely love. Also, I’ve heard that chia seeds are an amazing smoothie addition (and the health benefits are awesome), I just haven’t tried them myself.

IMG_0141This combination was 1 cup almond milk, 2 cups frozen spinach, 1 frozen banana, 1 scoop Perfect Fit vanilla protein powder, and 1 tbsp. of honey. Simple, delicious, and satisfying. Plus, isn’t it beautiful? Sure, it might be a little green, but looks can be very, very deceiving.

What are your go-to smoothie ingredients? Any favorite recipes?

Here’s to sipping our way to health…

-Emily

25 comments
  1. adashofmeg said:

    my favourite recipe is:

    1 scoop protein powder
    1/2 cup to a cup of almond milk
    1 tbsp or more 😉 of cacao powder
    2 cups of frozen sweet potato chunks

    PLEASE MAKE IT and think of me 🙂

    • Emily said:

      Um, I have sweet potatoes sitting in my kitchen right now that NEED to be used. Making this asap. (:

  2. I enjoy smoothies, but it usually has to be really warm out and I have to be craving them like hardcore. I think my thing is them not keeping me full, but after this post, I may have to give them another shot!

    • Emily said:

      That’s EXACTLY how I was until recently. I definitely still have to eat something with them (usually a protein bar or a pb&j sandwich lol!) but they’re actually way more satisfying than I thought.

      I still can’t really drink them when it’s cold though…

  3. Lisa said:

    Ah, I love smoothies. They are my go-to for meals. Mostly because they are so easy and so fast and I can eat/drink them on the go…which is needed more often than not these days.
    I love adding different ingredients to my basic smoothies (spinach/kale, banana, almond milk, protein powder, almond butter); things like coconut flour, chia seeds, different nut butters, even frozen pumpkin.

    • Emily said:

      Exactly. Having them on-the-go has been a lifesaver for me lately. I actually thought of you when I first started making them– it took me back to all of the gorgeous smoothies you used to post!

      I would have never thought to add coconut flour– I’m definitely going to try that! And everyone keeps telling me that chia seeds are an amazing addition. Maybe I’ll pick some up on my next grocery trip. (:

    • Amy said:

      Oooh! My go-to favorite is like your banana smoothie, but I love to add cacao nibs too…it’s like banana chocolate chip.

      • Emily said:

        Ahhh…that sounds so delicious! I’ll definitely have to try that next time. (:

  4. While I don’t make my own smoothies, when I have one, I generally go for something with strawberries and some kind of dairy product.

    • Emily said:

      Strawberries have always been one of my favorite smoothie ingredients. Perfect for summertime! I also used to love the orange combinations at Jamba Juice in high school. I may have to try recreating one of those!

      xoxo

  5. My smoothie addiction started somewhere around the beginning of January and it’s still going strong. I’ve been having a chocolate one made with almond butter, frozen banana, and cocoa powder on a daily basis and it doesn’t look like I’ll ever get tired of it. I used to be afraid to have them too because of the whole liquid calorie thing, but I found that, if done right, they’re amazingly satisfying… and delicious 😀

    • Emily said:

      I couldn’t agree more!
      I’m actually planning to try your chocolate one this weekend- can’t wait! (:

  6. Paisley said:

    I always try and make smoothies into fake healthy milkshakes (i.e. peanut butter is always involved)…I need to venture out a bit more and make a green smoothie!
    xx,

    Paisley

    paisleynotplaid

    • Emily said:

      LOL! I usually do the same thing! I like to make a chocolate & peanut butter one with greek yogurt, almond milk, peanut butter, cocoa powder, & ice…so delicious!

      xoxo

  7. Ashley said:

    I’m so picky when it comes to smoothies! I like them really thick and icy, so usually I add in frozen banana to get that texture. And I always add in some leafy greens–I love the color and it adds some “secret” nutrition!

    • Emily said:

      I looove using frozen bananas! They create the best texture. (:

  8. squigglefloey said:

    I seriously have never made my own smoothie 😦 how sad is that! The only smoothies I’ve had have been via jamba juice! I’ve really got to get on this smoothie making thing…especially since it’s almost summer!

    • Emily said:

      What?! That’s crazy! You definitely need to try making your own- it’s addicting!

  9. I go in phases when I’ll drink smoothies almost everyday and then phases where I’ll go months without one. I’m starting to get back into drinking them now that the weather is warmer 🙂 I love the smoothie recipes from DashingDish.com. A lot of them are ‘dessert-like’ treats but include cottage cheese which boosts the protein! I’m not a fan of cottage cheese AT ALL but her recipes are truly delicious!

    • Emily said:

      Cottage cheese in a smoothie?! That sounds so weird but I’m sure it makes the texture amazing. I’ll definitely have to check out her recipes! (:

  10. I love that you are loving smoothies! So many good tips 🙂 I eat raw vegan (i follow you on insta! @celinaeliz) and I find you really only need fruit and veg at minimum to make a killer smoothie! Mango, spinach, mint, ice and coconut water is incredible! papaya, mango, orange spinach is killer! Strawberries, mango, pineapple, celery, ice! OJ and coocnut water are amazing liquids to mix in 🙂 If you can get it…..jackfruit, frozen banana and mango is like candy! add greens to anything. ok im obsessed haha and done. so glad you posted about this! oh and I had the BEST smoothie at nature2 in LA: raspberry, orange, pineapple, blueberry, ice, greens.OMG

    • Emily said:

      Oh my goodness…I’m so happy that you commented on my blog! I love your Instagram and have always been really inspired by your raw vegan diet. I’ve actually been meaning to ask if I can email you to get a little more information about it?
      All of those smoothie combinations sound incredible! I picked up a bottle of coconut water and some organic carrot juice yesterday that I’m going to try using this week. And I definitely need to get my hands on some mango and jackfruit as well. Thank you for all of the amazing suggestions!

      xoxo

Leave a Reply

