extraordinary life

Technically, my weekend was nothing special. It was filled with the usual suspects- work, nature, food, friends, adventure- and still a mere two days long. But everything was different because I finally opened my eyes and stopped taking my beautiful life for granted. I remembered to feel blessed. So while my weekend may have been nothing out-of-the-ordinary, it was extraordinary.

IMG_0117This week I challenge you to stop, breathe, and simply love your life. Accept that it’s never going to be perfect and embrace that it’s always going to be unpredictable, then go out and live it.

Here’s to our extraordinary lives…

-Emily

Follow me on Twitter & Instagram // @missemmmysue

20 comments
  1. I’ve been a ginormous stressball lately. I’m graduating and have no idea where my life is going next and the lack of control and unknown is causing me so so so much anxiety. Thanks for the reminder to stop and appreciate where I’m at and what I have. h

    • Emily said:

      Ugh. I’m so sorry to hear that. I know exactly how you’re feeling…exactly. Graduating and trying to figure out what lies ahead is one of the most overwhelming things in the world but try to remember that what’s meant to be, will be. The path to get there might be confusing but it always makes sense in the end.

      Sending positive thoughts your way! xoxo

  2. adashofmeg said:

    gosh i love your posts. thanks Emily. you inspire me so much

    • Emily said:

      YOU inspire me! Thank you. ❤

    • Emily said:

      You’re welcome!

      And thank you for all of your constant positive reminders as well. (:

    • Emily said:

      Thank you!

      It’s something I still struggle with (I think everyone does) but I’ve found that taking a few moments every day to just breathe really helps. It sounds silly but, in a fast-paced world like ours, it’s easy to get caught up and overwhelmed. Those few, simple breaths always bring me back to center.

      xoxo

    • Emily said:

      Thank you! It was taken on my Easter morning hike and I thought it was perfect. (:

  3. Lisa said:

    So true lovely. Mine definitely is different per usual than what I am normally used to considering I work most weekend, but I love it because I love what I do now and wouldn’t have it any other way.

    • Emily said:

      Yay! I’m so happy to hear that, Lisa. ❤

  4. ❤ Beautiful. It's amazing how a simple change in perspective can completely transform our lives. We're surrounded with so much beauty and goodness, and the sad thing is that we don't even notice because we're usually too busy focusing on negativity. Thank you, as always, for the inspirational reminder 🙂

    • Emily said:

      Exactly. I couldn’t have said it better myself.

      Thank YOU for constantly inspiring me. ❤

  5. Ashley said:

    Love it! Perfect reminder and it actually fits my weekend perfectly. I spent it working and it was my first Easter on my own so there were some moments where I was just not happy but even though it wasn’t ideal and it was pretty ordinary, I did have some great moments in there and that’s what I chose to focus on!

    • Emily said:

      It’s such a weird change to start spending holidays on your own, isn’t it? 4 years later and I’m still getting used to it (though I try to make it home whenever I can). but, you’re right, it’s all about what aspects we choose to focus on. (:

  6. Taylor said:

    Love this post! It’s sometimes hard to stop and remember to live in the moment and take everything in. I do find it hard on occasion to change my perspective on a situation when things aren’t necessarily going my way. I definitely needed this lovely reminder today ❤

    • Emily said:

      Thank you, Taylor.
      I definitely have a hard time stepping back and enjoying the moment but it makes such an amazing difference when I do. I know your life is filled with a zillion changes right now but remember to enjoy every moment of the craziness– that’s what life is all about. xoxo

Leave a Reply

