product review: OMGBlends smoothie cleanse

Here’s the thing…I don’t do cleanses.

I’m a huge fan of juices and drink them regularly, but the idea of following an all-liquid diet for multiple days sounds miserable. That isn’t to say I’ll never try one, they’ve just always seemed so extreme.

However, I recently discovered a company that is changing everything–

OMGBlends is an amazing alternative to traditional juice detoxing that results in the same benefits without deprivation. Their cleanse packages include 2 meal-replacement smoothies and 1 almond milk per day and customers are instructed to combine those with a healthy meal (for lunch or dinner). Their products are organic, vegan, gluten-free and absolutely delicious. What’s not to love?

My magazine editor and I decided to take on a 3-day cleanse together (to be featured in an upcoming issue) and the OMGBlends team did a fabulous job of creating programs for us. They were delivered on a Sunday evening with our schedule and instructions and we started the next morning.

IMG_0092

Day 1

Breakfast: BlendPress- cold-pressed coffee, raw cacao hazelnut, brown-rice protein

IMG_0088

Lunch: BlendSense- peanut butter, cardamon, bananas, almond milk, brown-rice protein

Snack: Mocha Latte- almond milk, dates, coffee, raw cacao

Day 2

Breakfast: BlendPress- cold-pressed coffee, raw cacao hazelnut, brown-rice protein

Lunch: BlenErgy- kale, ginger, almond milk, brown-rice protein

IMG_0101

Snack: Matcha Milk- almond milk, dates, matcha powder, chlorella

Day 3:

Breakfast: BlendTernal- greens, matcha green tea, coconut water, brown-rice protein

Lunch: BlendSpiration- strawberries, beets, almond milk, brown-rice protein

IMG_0104

Snack: Vanilla Latte- almond milk, dates, coffee, vanilla bean powder

I was so worried about feeling hungry, weak, and deprived (a common “cleanse” complaint) but I never did. The combination of protein, healthy fats, and fruits/veggies makes each smoothie extremely satisfying and having an actual meal every night was the perfect addition. Of course, the best part was the taste. OMGBlends prides themselves on only using the highest-quality, organic ingredients and it definitely shows. I thoroughly enjoyed each of the unique flavors (BlendPress and BlendSpiration being my favorites!) and was already craving more the day after I finished.

I can honestly say that I loved this experience and I would highly, highly recommend OMGBlends to anyone that wants a light cleanse or easy meal options for crazy days. The smoothies are sold in select stores in Southern California but they also deliver (see their website for availability).

Here’s to a healthy and happy reboot…

-Emily

Follow me on Twitter & Instagram // @missemmmysue

Disclaimer: OMGBlends provided my editor and I with a complimentary 3-day cleanse but I was in no way compensated for this review. All thoughts and opinions are my own. 

27 comments
  1. I don’t do cleanses either, I’d much rather eat my food than drink it! BUT I did look at their website, and they look delicious!

    • Emily said:

      Me too! I’ve never been a big liquid-meal fan but this ‘cleanse’ definitely started a little obsession with smoothies! I forgot how satisfying they can be (when made correctly).

      (:

  2. Interesting! I like that this ‘cleanse’ incorporates a healthy meal in addition to the drinks! But to be honest, I still don’t think I could do it. I could have one of the juices or milks in addition to a meal or snack, but not as a replacement. I just wouldn’t be able to get filled up or satisfied on liquid alone! And I definitely need more than 200-300 calories at my meals and snacks! But everyone is different! Glad you had a good experience with the program! 🙂

    • Emily said:

      I’m with you 100%. I have a really hard time being satisfied with juices or smoothies alone but these ones surprised me! I think because they’re all made with protein, nuts, and fruits/veggies. I still snacked throughout the day though– I couldn’t give up food completely!

      xoxo

  3. squigglefloey said:

    Ahh I don’t think I could just have juice. Did you get to have a dinner? Props to you though! My cowrker did a juice cleanse a few days ago and she was so grumpy hahaa

    • Emily said:

      I don’t think I could do just juice either, that’s why I liked this program so much. It was smoothies (much more filling) and you paired them with one meal and snacks throughout the day. Definitely manageable! (:

  4. adashofmeg said:

    mmmm that blend press sounds amazing – i love hazelnut flavour!

    • Emily said:

      It was my favorite! I always forget how much I love hazelnut.

  5. Kimberley said:

    Omg! They all sound so delicious! I am a huge fan of having a daily juice/smoothie (or five) but I don’t know if I would be able to go a day without some type of food to eat aha but this company sounds awesome!

    • Emily said:

      That’s why I loved that this program incorporates one meal and snacks throughout the day– I never felt deprived!

      And I’m with you…I lovelovelove my juices and smoothies every day. (:

    • Emily said:

      That’s how I’ve always felt too! This one was much easier since I got my one meal and snacks. (:

      Thank you!

  6. I love the idea of this. I’ve done a one-day juice cleanse and it wasn’t bad, but I don’t think I could do more than that. I love food too much 😉

    • Emily said:

      I remember when you did your one day cleanse recently– how was that?!

      I’ve considered trying a 1 day juice cleanse but I definitely don’t think I could do any longer. haha.

  7. Taylor said:

    I’ve attempted a juice cleanse and ended up eating my body weight in almonds throughout the day, so I stick to just having one incorporated in my daily eats regularly. I love smoothies though and with the weather improving I’m excited to break out my blender again!
    I LOVE the idea of doing a smoothie type of cleanse because of it having a bit more substance than juices do. I mean the vanilla milk latte sounds amazing!!

    • Emily said:

      Exactly! I need food throughout the day. These were so satisfying though that I never once felt hungry (even when it was time for me to eat!)
      I’m so happy to hear that the weather is finally warming up over there! Time to break out the blender. (:

  8. I really want to try this. I feel like bloggers are always trying new cleanses, but this is definitely the kinda I could do. Are you a vegetarian or vegan by any chance?

    xoxo- Larz

    Livinlikelarz

    • Emily said:

      You definitely should! I highly recommend it. (:

      I’m a vegetarian, actually! I was a vegan for almost 2 years but realized that it was way to restrictive for me (and I love cheese & greek yogurt!)

      xxoo

  9. Ashley said:

    I have the same mindset as you regarding juice cleanses–I think they’re extreme, especially ones that last 30 or more days, but I enjoy drinking fresh-pressed juices in addition to regular meals. So this cleanse sounds perfect! All the drinks sound and look delicious and I like that the plan encourages you to eat a meal once a day. I might try this with Suja juices someday–I recently discovered them at Whole Foods and I love them, especially the macachino flavor!

    • Emily said:

      30+ days on a juice cleanse? That’s crazy!

      Trying this sort of cleanse with Suja juices sounds like a really good idea! They’re amazing (I’m slightly addicted). Maybe do 3-4 juices plus snacks and a meal?

      xoxo

    • Emily said:

      It was an amazing experience! I highly recommend trying something of the sort, if you can. 🙂

  10. great review! i’ve done juice cleanses but never a smoothie. the omgblends flavors all sound delicious too.

    • Emily said:

      What did you think of the juice cleanses? I’m intrigued by them now!

      And thank you!

  11. Kristy said:

    That app is such a great idea! I hope it helps a lot of people.

Leave a Reply

