haircare routine

It was a year ago (almost exactly) that I chopped my hair off.

I was coming out of a very dark place, in the midst of watching my family crumble to pieces, and struggling to identify exactly who I was as a person. I was mentally and physically unhealthy and stress had taken over my life. I needed a change. So, I cut off my thin, dead hair and vowed to start fresh. I can honestly say that it was one of the best decisions I ever made.

My life has changed drastically since that day– It got worse before it got better, but it did get better. I decided to pursue my passion for writing, I made new friends, I found my internship, and I began to rediscovered the girl I had once been. Somehow, that haircut was my turning point. It solidified the change that I so desperately needed and forced me to face my fear of the unknown.

Now I’m on the road to growing my hair back out and I’m determined to keep it healthy and strong. I’ve been incorporating new products and tricks into my routine and they seem to be paying off.

The Products:

HairProducts

1. Batiste Dry Shampoo

The biggest change I’ve made is not washing my hair every day. If you do, stop. Over-washing strips hair of its natural oils and leaves it limp, dry, and thin. For off-days, I swear by Batiste Dry Shampoo. They sell tinted versions for every hair color and it leaves my hair feeling clean and voluminous.

2. RedKen Intra-Force System:

This is an intense treatment that my hairstylist recommended and I’m so thankful that she did. It’s a 3-part system (shampoo, conditioner, and root-spray) that stimulates your scalp and helps create new hair growth. I used this 2-3 days a week and I had new baby hairs growing in almost immediately. It’s a little pricey but worth the investment if your hair is thin or consistently falling out.

3. LUSH Retread Conditioner:

Surprisingly, this is the first Lush product I’ve tried and I can definitely see what all the hype is about. This intense conditioner completely changed the texture of my hair from course and dry, to soft and smooth. It’s made with all-natural ingredients and smells heavenly– what more could I ask for?

4. Organix Coconut Milk Serum

I’ve heard time and time again about the benefits of using coconut-oil on your hair but my hair stylist said it would probably be too heavy for my fine hair. Instead, she recommended a coconut-milk based serum and I found this one at Target for $8. I apply it after towel-drying my hair and then brush through it with a wide-toothed comb. It’s amazing and makes my head smell like a coconut. Love.

5. Fringe Shine Spray:

I went to an event at the Fringe Salon of Beverly Hills a few weeks ago and had the opportunity to try their new line of products. Everything was fabulous but the Shine Spray is [by far] my favorite. The directions say it can be applied to wet or dry hair but I typically use it as a finishing spray to give my hair a little extra shine. Fringe products are available exclusively at their salon or on their website.

So, there you have it. Those are the products I’ve been using and I can’t get over the results. If you’re struggling with unhealthy hair or simply want to grow it longer and fuller, I highly recommend them!

What products do you swear by?

Here’s to long, luscious locks…

-Emily

Follow me on Twitter & Instagram // @missemmmysue

 

14 comments
  1. adashofmeg said:

    awesome post babe. i am a big lover of lush but haven’t tried that conditioner. i am going to get my hands on that! ❤

    • Emily said:

      You’re actually one of the reasons I finally made a trip there! Definitely try the conditioner- you’ll love it. (:

  2. I love what you said in the opening of this post Em. You truly had a real turning point in your life and it’s so evident how much you’ve grown and changed. Currently I am growing my hair long after usually keeping it at my shoulder for the past few years so it’s sort of like an opposite change from what you did lol! But a new look really can be so great for getting a new outlook on life as well!

    • Emily said:

      I’ve noticed that your hair was looking longer- that’s so exciting! It’s definitely a great way to gain a new outlook on life and a fresh start.

      And thank you for all of your support throughout my journey. Seriously. It has been amazing!

  3. I can’t believe it’s been a year since you chopped it off! Crazy. I’m so glad things have gotten better for you. Like you said, and my mom always tells me, it gets worse before it gets better. My favorite shampoo and conditioner is Victoria’s So Sexy brand. Smells so good. I also love their curly spray and hair spray. It’s pretty much all I use 😉

    • Emily said:

      Isn’t it? Where does time go?

      Ooh…I’ve never actually tried any of Victoria’s Secret products (other than lotions) so I’ll definitely have to pick up their shampoo and conditioner! I’m a sucker for anything that smells good. (:

  4. Lisa said:

    Awe, it sounds like your life has made a lot of changes in the past year and cheers to you for getting past those hard times! I feel the same about the past year, it was the hardest of my life but finally everything is looking UP!
    Anyways, back to the hair…my Sister’s a hair dresser so I just copy everything she suggests basically ha.
    I love the oribe dry texture spray lately. Oh man, so expensive but so worth it.

    • Emily said:

      Your sister is a hair dresser?! You have one beauty-blessed family!
      I’ve actually never heard of Oribe– I’ll have to look into it! I’m always willing to invest in products if they really work. (:

  5. Ashley said:

    I think hair can really be a security blanket for a lot of women! I know it was for me–I had long hair since 8th grade and didn’t plan on getting it cut ever again. But then I started applying to jobs and was getting ready to move out on my own and it was time for a change and I’m so glad I got it cut to shoulder-length as it’s easier to manage and suits my face. I still miss my longer hair and I’ll probably grow my hair back out but I think hair changes are good sometimes!

    Dry shampoo is a lifesaver. I haven’t washed my hair daily in a few years and it makes such a difference, but I need some help for my bangs and roots on my off days. I didn’t know Batiste made tinted dry shampoos so I’ll be looking for that!

    • Emily said:

      I looove your shorter hair! I think it suits you so well and actually makes you look older. It’s always so fun to change it up. 🙂

      Definitely try the tinted dry shampoos! They’re amazing!

  6. squigglefloey said:

    You look incredibly sexy and edgy with short hair! I love how it works for you.

  7. Taylor said:

    It’s too funny how alike we are. I went through a similar transformation, letting go of the bad and deciding that you wanted a change. I’m happy that you were able to rediscover that! ❤
    The product I love is moroccan oil, I don't use a lot but it smells amazing and acts like a conditioning that lasts all day!

    • Emily said:

      It’s CRAZY how alike we are. I can’t wait until you’re in LA!

      And it’s funny that you mention moroccan oil because I just tried my sister’s on Monday and I kind of fell in love. The smell is unbelievable…

Leave a Reply

