sayonara, stress

After disappearing to paradise for four days, it only makes sense that I had a lot to catch up on.

While I’ve always thrived on being busy, hectic schedules and mile-long ‘to-do lists’ are overwhelming for anyone. They used to get the best of me. I would think about everything I had to do and spend more time and energy stressed-out about them than actually doing them. Relate?

Nowadays, I like to approach the insanity with a different attitude. A calm one. I’m able to get more accomplished and I don’t turn into a grumpy, anxious beast. These are my little tricks…

1. Breathe

It sounds much simpler than it is. Take a moment, close your eyes, and focus solely on taking a few deep breaths. I’m not asking you to spend 10 minutes meditating– just 20 or 30 seconds at most. You’ll quickly realize how little you’ve been breathing and will immediately have a clearer head.

2. Take A Break

With a to-do list looming over your head, taking a break can feel like a death sentence. It’s not. Walk away from your work for 15 minutes and relax. Watch TV, browse social media, or simply lay there…whatever mindless activity you enjoy. As counter-productive as it sounds, it helps.

DSC_02363. Walk

Workouts typically go on the back burner when life gets hectic (and that’s perfectly okay) but a little movement and fresh air is always rejuvenating. Whether you take a 10-minute walk around the block every 2 hours or move your next business call outdoors, every little bit makes a difference.

IMG_64394. Make To-Do Lists

I make a to-do list every morning that includes everything I need to do (even if I finished it prior to making my list) and cross off the items as I tackle them. The sense of accomplishment will remind you that you’re constantly moving forward and give you motivation to take on the next project.

5. Smile

Science has proven that the act of smiling actually does lighten our moods somehow. Weird, right? So even if it feels forced at first, just do it. Think happy thoughts. Life is meant to be enjoyed.

Here’s to managing the stress…

-Emily

17 comments
    • Emily said:

      Me too. Smiles are the best medicine. (:

  1. P said:

    It’s funny how either extreme relaxation (napping!) or extreme workouts (running) help me to de-stress the most! Both things are the complete opposite of eachother, but they both do the trick 🙂

    • Emily said:

      So ironic, I never thought about that– I’m the same way!

  2. Taylor said:

    I definitely needed this reminder as I too have found myself a little bit more stressed out than usual.
    Thanks so much girlie! ❤

  3. I love this approach, I have gotten so much better about managing stress but a little reminder is always nice. 🙂

    • Emily said:

      I have too. It takes time but life is so much more enjoyable when we keep the stress-level low.

  4. Ashley said:

    Getting outside (especially on a nice day!) always helps me refocus, which is why I love this time of year, when the weather starts to get nice enough to do this more often.

    • Emily said:

      Exactly. I’m the same way. Being cooped up inside never helps.

  5. adashofmeg said:

    LOL omg we ARE sisters. When i make my daily to do lists i write down the stuff i already completed too 😉 LOL i never knew anyone else did that 😉 hahahahahaha

    • Emily said:

      LOL! Oh my goodness, this comment just made my day. I was really, really hoping that someone would say that they do that too– we’re not as crazy as we thought!

      xoxo

    • Emily said:

      Aw! Thank you so much!!
      I’ll definitely be doing it on my blog soon. (:

  6. I make to do lists too! then I get stressed out haha butttt I make sure to put a few easy to cross off things to feel a little accomplished 😛

  7. Anna said:

    I ALWAYS add the things I’ve already done to my to-do lists because the feeling of accomplishment is just amazing haha! I like to throw them up at the top, too 😉 Taking a walk is also definitely the best mind clearer and does wonders for my productivity!

    • Emily said:

      I’m glad I’m not the only one! It’s such an amazing sense of accomplishment. (:

Leave a Reply

