unfiltered

Today I want to do something different…

DSC_0085

Yep. That’s me.

I would never, ever post that picture on my blog under normal circumstances. I would see it, laugh, and then delete it from my camera immediately. I mean, isn’t that what we all do?

But [for some reason] my sister snapping that candid photo got me thinking…

I was all dressed up at a fancy restaurant and had just posed for an Instagram picture which I cropped and edited to perfection. I shared the image that I wanted the world to see. Now don’t get me wrong, I love that picture. There’s nothing wrong with it. But the photo above…that’s me.

I’m quirky, sarcastic, and slightly-awkward. I laugh at the worst instances, constantly drop things, stumble over my words, spill, have a raspy voice 90% of the time, and can be really grumpy. I have good days and bad days (like everyone else) and sometimes I’m downright weird. That’s me.

I think society forgets that life can be edited. The things we see on Instagram, Twitter, Facebook, and all other social media platforms are what people choose to share. We peek in on a very small portion of someone’s life and then assume we’ve seen it all. We haven’t. For every fabulous picture on the internet, there were probably 10 less-fabulous ones that got deleted. Nobody is perfect 24/7.

So, stop comparing. It’s useless. Look at your life and love every single part of it. Be thankful for your family, friends, opportunities, and the odd characteristics that make you unique. Those are the things that people fall in love with and those are the things that make you a beautiful human. Own them.

Here’s to seeing through the filter…

-Emily

28 comments
  1. This post could not be more true. I definitely fall victim to seeing pictures of people’s lives on Instagram and thinking they’re “perfect” and have it all together when in reality no one’s perfect and like you said we choose what we post on social media.

    • Emily said:

      Exactly. I’m constantly having to remind myself that we’re seeing like .05% of their lives…

      xo

  2. carrie said:

    this is beautiful. such a good message and so beautifully delivered. you look like you are a good time to be around in that pic! which is much better than a perfect edited pic! 🙂

    • Emily said:

      Aw, thank you!
      And I’m definitely a little weird most of the time but, like you said, that’s more fun! ❤

  3. Emma said:

    Love this!

    Definitely guilty of making sure I have the perfect pic of myself before I put it up – such a good idea for a post 🙂

    Hmm maybe…

    • Emily said:

      Me too, girl. I think we’re all a little guilty of that. haha.

      Thank you! xoxo

  4. Hannah said:

    I think we’d be great friends in real life, you sound a lot like me! I’m glad you posted this, it’s something I struggle with a lot. Stay beautiful ❤

    • Emily said:

      I definitely think we would too!
      Thank you, lady. (:

  5. adashofmeg said:

    so, this was your best post ever. gosh i love you, Em. can we please catch up soon!? ❤ love you

    • Emily said:

      Aw, thank you!

      YES PLEASE. Maybe we can set up a Skype date soon? xo

  6. P said:

    These moments are the best. Those photogenic shots are nice to take once in a while, but my friends and I love to capture our “real” moments. I’m actually pretty glad that I can look back at the pictures I have from the past few years of my closest friends and I, and actually find that we took so many funny, candid, and real pictures of eachother. Those pictures capture memories and are definitely priceless!

    • Emily said:

      Those are the best ones to look back on, aren’t they? They’re real. I love that you’ve saved yours! What a treat. (:

    • Emily said:

      Thank you so, so much.
      You are too. (:

  7. Taylor said:

    I too have a tendency to filter parts of my life through media, only show what is ‘perfect’ – completely cropped and edited. These moments though, the one your sister capture, are the best! It’s picture like these that are real and always fun to look back on 🙂

    On another note- I can’t say how happy I was to meet you and hope to see you again soon in LA ❤

    • Emily said:

      I can’t tell you how happy I am that we were able to meet up as well! It was such a treat to get to know you (in real life) and I can’t wait until you’re back in LA. ❤

  8. Ashley said:

    Yes yes YES! I love Instagram and all the perfectly beautiful photos on there, but it’s just not real. I actually prefer the more candid moments, like yours above, because they show that it’s okay to be confident in who we are deep down, not just who we pretend to be for social media purposes.

    • Emily said:

      I completely, 100% agree.
      Real life is a whole lot more enjoyable than perfection anyways. xoxo

  9. Absolutely. Obsessed. With this post. You go Glen Coco. ❤

    • Emily said:

      Haha, this comment seriously made my day. LOVE YOU.

  10. Beautiful. This post and you. The quirky, awkward, slightly clumsy [trust me, I’m clumsier] but most importantly: all around real Emily – that’s the girl I want to meet and goof around with.
    Not like I’d never posed for pictures trying to get the ‘perfect’ one on a number of occasions driving whoever took the photo crazy. In the end all we do there is end up with multiple eerily similar-looking pictures of various different occasions that we can’t tell apart anymore. And isn’t it the fun and quirky special part we actually want to remember from every event we attend? Okay, enough ramblings here. You made a great point with this post again. xo

  11. This makes me love you even more. You’re so honest and open. I’ve been working on not comparing myself to everyone lately, and it’s getting better but still a work in progress.

    ps – i tagged you for a liebstar award. the questions are on my blog 🙂
    M.

    • Emily said:

      Aw, thank you so much!
      I’ve actually really been wanting to do the Liebstar Award on my blog so I’m really excited that you tagged me. (:

  12. love that you wrote this. with snapchat … idk if you use it . haha I use to want to look pretty in them because you can’t really edit them … then I got to thinking .. these people I’m snapping … are my friends. they see me at my worst so why do I care to make it my best. haha ever since then as long as my double chin doesn’t show, I send it. 😛 haha love you girlie! so inspirational!

    • Emily said:

      Soooo true! I rarely use snapchat but that’s the perfect example. Our friends and family love us no matter what and we should never be ashamed of our quirky selves!

      And we alllll have double-chins if the picture is taken from below– NEVER take pictures from below…hahaha

Leave a Reply

