wardrobe essentials

I know I already professed my love for basics in my uniform post last week, but I’m here to harp about them again. A beautiful wardrobe is always built on a solid foundation of basics. Statement pieces and seasonal trends should be add-ons to what you already know, own, and love.

In my opinion, there are four wardrobe essentials that every girl needs. These are the most basic of basics, the core of your closet. They can be used as a base for a creative outfit or go-to pieces for the lazy days when you just don’t want to think. To me, they’re necessary and I think you’ll agree.

1. White T-Shirts 

DSC_00402. Tank-Tops

DSC_00443. Jeans (in every wash)

DSC_00454. Basic Booties

DSC_0055I’m not saying that these are the only four things you need in your closet- far from it. But they’re the perfect place to start. Building a wardrobe that you love, feel proud of, and that truly reflects your personality takes time. Ask yourself what your dream closet would look like and then take small, consistent steps to make it a reality. So far, I’m loving my journey. Care to join me?

Here’s to building our dream wardrobe…

-Emily

16 comments
  1. P said:

    I’m assuming all of these photos were taken with the new camera ;). I love that you have a pair of jeans in every wash! I personally prefer dark wash over light wash though.

    • Emily said:

      They were! haha. I’m loving it so far.

      I’ve always preferred dark-wash denim too but bought a few light-wash pairs recently and they’ve been a fun change!

  2. So true! I’m all about keeping things (fairly) simple. Hopefully as the weather warms up I’ll be able to wear less layers 😉

    • Emily said:

      Yes, yes, yes. Is it still freezing over there?
      I love layers but I definitely prefer the simplicity of warm-weather dressing. (:

  3. Ashley said:

    I love the booties! I rely a lot on simple wardrobe staples because they can go with so many things and they’re easy to dress up with accessories.

    I really need to get some white jeans for spring! I have jeans in every other wash too but for some reason I’ve never invested in a white pair.

    • Emily said:

      Oooh, definitely invest in a pair of white jeans- they’re so fun! I actually found these for a reeeaaallly good price at American Eagle a while back. I love their jeans!

  4. Taylor said:

    So great and the booties are amazing!
    I too like to keep things fairly simple, I love pieces that can be both dressed up and dressed down. Right now I am in the process of accumulating new basics that are more appropriate for spring/warmer weather (if it ever comes 😉 )

    • Emily said:

      Thank you!
      My friend Shelby talked me into buying the booties at Urban Outfitters a few weeks ago. They were on sale for $30 so it didn’t take much convincing!
      I agree- buying pieces that can be casual OR dressy makes a huge difference.

      And you’ll definitely get a little dose of spring weather when you’re in LA. (:

  5. ugh want your jean collection. true religion is where it’s at! Love your style, casual and chic, the perfect balance 🙂

    • Emily said:

      Thank you so much!
      xoxo

  6. I’ve been trying to be more girly in the clothing department … I look like a grandma. Love seeing your clothes like always. more more more!! ❤

    • Emily said:

      LOL! This comment cracks me up because everyone called me “grandma” when I was in high-school…I lived in giant sweaters and ballet flats which, at the time, everyone said reminded them of their grandma. Now that’s what everyone wears!

      And thank you! I’m trying to incorporate it more. (:

  7. Erin said:

    Love this post! I usually struggle with buying lighter wash jeans bc I adore dark wash…but seeing yours I might need to reconsider.

    xx

    Erin @ http://www.truffles-ruffles.com/

    • Emily said:

      Thank you!
      I’ve always been drawn to darker jeans too but, now that I have a few light pairs, I’m learning to love them!
      xoxo

Leave a Reply

