in my bag: february 2014

If dogs are a man’s best friend, then purses are a woman’s. That’s not to say that I don’t love dogs- I do- but a girl’s handbag ensures that she’ll never be without her essentials. They go everywhere with us and, if you’re like me, they turn into a bottomless pit of “stuff”. Very important stuff, mind you.

I shared a peek into my purse a few months ago but that was when I was using a small, cross-body. Since then, my sister bought me this gorgeous tote from Urban Outfitters that I’m hopelessly in love with. It’s basically a giant bucket- no compartments, no pockets, no zippers. It allows me to toss things in and carry around anything I could possibly need. What more could a girl ask for?

In My Bag: February 2014

DSC_0034

1. Keys // 2. Advil // 3. Wallet- Marc by Marc Jacobs // 4. Cell-Phone- iPhone 4S, Free People Case //

5. Lip Products- Bath & Body Works lipgloss, Burt’s Bees chapstick, Elizabeth Arden lipstickΒ //

6. Hand Lotion- EOS // 7. Kitty Mirror- Forever 21 // 8. Sunglasses- Tortoise & Blonde

So, I’m quite sure I’ve developed Mary-Poppin’s Bag Syndrome- the bigger the better, right?

Here’s to being a girl…

-Emily

15 comments
  1. Kammie said:

    LOVE that wallet – so cute!

    • Emily said:

      Thank you! It was a gift a few years ago and I absolutely love it. They’re a little pricey but definitely worth the investment, if you can do it!

  2. Beth said:

    I went to the website to order that same bag, but I didn’t see it. 😦 Did you? Love it!!

    • Beth said:

      never mind. I can’t afford a 300 dollar bag. It’s so nice!!!

      • Emily said:

        I don’t think Urban Outfitters has the bag anymore- it was $49.99, not $300! And the wallet was a gift for my 21st birthday a few years ago.

  3. Beth said:

    Two hundred dollars for a wallet? You must be rich!!!

  4. I used to use a big brown cross body bag that was so much like the Mary Poppins bag πŸ˜‰ I now use a cross body bag which helps keep me more organized. I also like to use just a small clutch sometimes when I don’t need too many things@

    • Emily said:

      Smaller bags definitely force me to stay more organized too but I love the freedom of having a big bag. The struggle…haha
      I love the idea of just using a clutch more often though! I tend to only use them when I’m going out at night but they’d be perfect during the day too.

  5. Ashley said:

    I love big bags too! I can always slip a few extra things in if I need to that way. I always carry a lot of the same things–Advil, chapstick, sunglasses, keys, wallet and phone are my essentials.

    • Emily said:

      I love how most girls have the same essentials! It’s like we’re programmed that way. (:

  6. Big bags are the love of my life. I actually have no idea how girls get by with teeny tiny little things — where are you supposed to keep all the snacks?! πŸ˜†

    • Emily said:

      AMEN! I realized right after I posted this that I didn’t include any of the snacks I usually carry around with me. 99% of the time you’ll find protein bars, bananas, and Justin’s nut butter squeeze packs thrown in there too. (:

  7. Emma said:

    Lucky you! I’ve been lusting after that bag for aaages.

    Yes, Mary Poppins is about right, mine is like a never ending hole!

    • Emily said:

      I was so excited when my sister surprised me with it for Christmas! I’m not sure if they still sell this exact one but UO always has similar styles- definitely worth a little investment!

      And I’m happy to hear that I’m not the only one with Mary-Poppin’s Bag Syndrome!

  8. I bought a tote bag from DSW few weeks ago. A guy saw my purse and said “you have the least stuff in a purse I’ve ever seen”. I can’t deal with a clutter purse. I won’t be able to find anything! Plus I keep everything in it’s own little bag so it’s easy to find. love your “help I have a headache!” thing!

Leave a Reply

