the intern

I give up. I will never, ever understand how life works. Right when I think I have it all figured out, I’m thrown a curveball and sent spinning in another direction trying to catch it. That’s how it has always been and how it always will be- some things never change. But guess what? Some things do.

I used to be terrified of the unknown. I spent my days planning a future that didn’t truly reflect the person I was inside. It wasn’t until my breaking point last year that I let that all go. I stopped looking at the world around me for answers and, instead, I looked inside myself. Everything changed.

I found myself writing [a lot]. I found myself falling more in love with art and fashion and beauty. I found myself discovering a world of magazines and online publications that inspired me. Acting and modeling will always hold a special place in my heart and I’ll pursue those things whenever I can but they aren’t the things I spend every-waking-moment thinking about. That’s just the honest truth.

As all of these realizations were happening, an opportunity presented itself that I never could have planned for in a million years. An internship. An internship for this beautiful magazine

California Wedding DayI applied, met with the editor, and was brought onto the team in a matter of 10 days and have been giddy about it ever since. I won’t get into too much detail [yet] but I couldn’t be more thankful and excited about all of the opportunities this internship is going to offer. I’ll be writing for their website on a weekly basis, working hand-in-hand with the editor on material for the publication, contacting vendors and event planners, managing wedding information, assisting with styling, etc.

Today was Day 1.

IMG_6378I don’t know what the next week, month, or year has in store and I’m okay with that. There’s beauty in that. My goal is simply to learn, grow, and smile as much as humanly possible. Join me?

Here’s to a fresh start…

-Emily

45 comments
  1. carrie said:

    congrats my girl! such an exciting thing! you’ll do great! 🙂

    • Emily said:

      Thank you, Emily! I’m having a blast so far. (:

  2. Taylor said:

    Ahhh Emily! Congrats that is amazing, I am so happy for you and know you will be amazing at your internship!!

    • Emily said:

      Yay! Thank you so much, Taylor!

  3. Beth said:

    Can’t wait to hear more about this in the year to come. Congrats. And btw, where did you buy your purse and sweater? Too cut!

    • Emily said:

      Thank you so much!
      The purse and sweater are both from Urban Outfitters, actually. I got them for Christmas.

  4. You already know how proud I am of you but it bears repeating: you’re amazing, Emily! I’m so so happy for you! Dipping your toes into writing actually won’t be a plunge into the completely unknown. Looking at the wonderful way with words you’ve shown to all of us through your blog for a year [blogiversary?!] already. You know I can’t wait for more details and look forward to following your journey!
    xo

    • Emily said:

      As always, thank you so much for your sweet words and support. Your comments always make my day!
      And you’re awesome for remembering that my blogiversary is coming up! It’s at the end of this month. (:

  5. Ashley said:

    Congrats, girlie! I love that you’ve found something that is truly your passion and that you’ve found such an amazing opportunity to pursue it. I can’t wait to read more about it!

    It’s definitely crazy how life works sometimes, so this is giving me hope to keep going with my own job search and maybe finding myself in something unexpected.

    • Emily said:

      Thank you, Ashley! You’re so sweet.

      And it really is crazy how life happens. I know that your job search is going to pay off in a major way- it just might be completely different than you’re expecting! xoxo

  6. Oh love… congratulations! Writing is my dream and I’m so happy to hear that you’re seeing it become your reality 🙂 I hope your first day was amazing.

    • Emily said:

      Aw, thank you Amanda!
      You’re such a beautiful writer so I can definitely tell that it’s something you’re passionate about as well. xoxo

  7. That’s amazing!!!!! Super stoked for you 🙂

    You still need to come for lunch!

    • Emily said:

      Thank you!!
      And of course! I’m hoping I’ll be able to come have lunch with you ladies next week. You’re there Mon/Wed/Fri, right??

  8. WOW! This is so exciting, Em!! And you are so deserving of it! What an awesome opportunity! With all your talent and strong work ethic I know you’ll do amazing in your new role! Congrats and I can’t wait to hear more!

    • Emily said:

      Aw, thank you so much!!
      It’s so ironic that we’re both doing internships out of the blue like this. I can’t wait to hear more about yours as well!

  9. You sound like you’ve really matured and grown up through the past year, and it looks like this opportunity could not come at a better time. I’m so happy for you and I see great things in your future! 🙂

    M.

    • Emily said:

      Thank you so, so much. (:

  10. P said:

    Congrats :D! The opportunities that present themselves when we follow our true passions are the most meaningful in the development of our careers—and personally as individuals. So happy for you ❤

    • Emily said:

      Thank you. That was so beautifully worded. (:

  11. squigglefloey said:

    Beyond proud of you!!!!!! 🙂

  12. Irina said:

    Ahhh congratulations!!! This is SUCH amazing news 🙂 Isn’t it funny how life works? When we ease up and let go, life has a way of grabbing the reins and slowly guiding us in the right direction. It’s a beautiful thing. You are such an inspiration – you follow your heart and are not afraid to admit when something isn’t exactly your true passion in life. Even more importantly, you don’t settle…that’s not something many of us can say. I can’t wait to read more about your new internship adventures! ❤

    • Emily said:

      How silly is it that this comment brought tears to my eyes? Thank you so much, Irina. xoxo

  13. So awesome! Congrats on this awesome new path 🙂 Looking forward to reading about how this new internship goes!!

    • Emily said:

      Aw, thank you so much!

  14. Anna said:

    This sounds like an amazing opportunity, and there’s nothing better than a fresh start!

    You’re obviously a great writer so you definitely got this! I hope your first day was fantastic!

    • Emily said:

      Thank you so much, Anna!

  15. I am late buttt congratulations! I’m so proud and happy for you! What a great beginning to 2014 for you! Will be waiting to hear all about it! Sending LOVE!

Leave a Reply

