favorites: january 2014

Well, a month has passed- are you used to writing 2014 yet? I’m not. I’ll probably keep writing 2013 until September or so…then I’ll learn the correct year just in time for 2015. #thestruggleisreal

Favorites: January 2014

Fashion/Beauty:

bralettes // naked 3 palette // free people // t-shirts // destroyed denim // converse // army green

IMG_6222

janfavoritestopsFood/Fitness:

tea // hiking // long walks // fruit // think thin bars // morning workouts // almond butter // iced coffee

janfavoritestea

janfavoritescoffee

IMG_6296Life:

family // writing // smiling // magazines // friends // museums // birthdays // re-decorating // DIYs

IMG_6185janfavoritesroom

IMG_6135

January was a really good month. A really, really good month. I’d like to think that luck was just in my favor but, in reality, I know that my outlook on life had a lot to do with it. I made a conscious decision to follow my heart (rather than letting my brain run rampant) and simply do the things that make me happy. Some days are easier than others but I’m learning a lot about myself along the way.

Breathe, smile, repeat. The rest will take care of itself.

Here’s to a brand new month…

-Emily

28 comments
  1. that picture of the outdoors is breathtaking. i will spare you an actual picture of the current outside state here in WI but let me just say it was -17 this morning. that’s all.

    heres to another really, really good month!

    • Emily said:

      -17?! I can’t even imagine! Sending warm thoughts your way!

      Thank you. (:

  2. Love your January pictures. It looks like you’ve had such a happy, healthy month. Plus, throwing in a birthday doesn’t hurt either, happy birthday! Hope you enjoy February just as much. X

    • Emily said:

      Aw, thank you! I hope your February is beautiful as well. (:

  3. P said:

    There is nothing like a refreshing long walk! They have been my “workouts” of choice as of late, more so than running 😛

    Love how your ideas notebook matches the cup! Did they come together :D?

    • Emily said:

      Same here! I’ve been opting for long walks over anything else lately. They feel amazing.

      And they didn’t come together but they totally match- weird, right? The notebook is from Target and the mug was a gift that my friend brought me from her trip to China!
      xoxo

  4. Meg said:

    so happy to hear January was such a good month for you love 🙂 that makes me SO HAPPY

    • Emily said:

      Thank you, love!! xoxo

  5. It took me at least a week, but by now I am used to writing 2014.

    • Emily said:

      Hopefully I’ll get used to it soon!

    • Emily said:

      Aw, thank you! If you cook for me, I’ll share! 😀

  6. Ashley said:

    I love how life seems to take care of itself when we have a positive outlook on it!

    Iced coffee was also one of my favorites from this month–we had some pretty warm days and I was missing my iced coffee from the summer so I decided to just go for it and I remembered why I love it so much!

    • Emily said:

      It’s amazing how that works, isn’t it?

      And yes, iced coffee is my addiction! I don’t know why but I only drink hot coffee at home and only drink iced coffee from Starbucks. So weird!

  7. Taylor said:

    That picture of the skyline is amazing, as is all your photos!
    I’m so glad your January was great, sometimes just changing our perspective on how life is makes all the difference. I still can’t believe January is already over but am looking forward to February (trip to LA!) and I hope yours is just as amazing. xoxo

    • Emily said:

      Thank you! I’m hoping my photos will be even better once I have my DSLR camera- saving up for it right now!

      And YAY! February is going to be a fabulous month for you. (:

  8. I love this post so much. I agree with you that changing our outlook to a more positive state can definitely help make us feel better. We just have to learn to turn off the negative thoughts! I love your new bedspread. I love redecorating my room. I find so much joy in it. (That’s probably why I’ve painted my room like 5 times since I’ve lived in this house… ;)).

    • Emily said:

      I do too! Re-decorating and re-organizing is like a fresh short. I love it! I wish I could paint here…boo, apartment leases. I envy your freedom!

  9. Couldn’t agree with you more! I’ve recently began having a more positive outlook on life and believe it or not things have seemed to make a change for the better. I’m glad to hear life is well for you right now, gotta love those ups and downs in life 🙂

    • Emily said:

      It’s so amazing, isn’t it?
      And as rough as the downs are, they just make the ups even more special. (:

  10. Irina said:

    Coffee, berries, tea, comfy sweaters…yes yes yes! Although my coffee isn’t iced (20 degrees + ice = bad combo). In all seriousness though, I’m so happy to hear you had an amazing month…you deserve it girl! It really does boil down to outlook and optimism. With a positive view on life you can pretty much conquer any negative situation. I need to take note from you for next month…which already starts on Saturday yikes! 🙂

    • Emily said:

      I always get inspiration from YOU when it comes to finding the positive and enjoying life- funny how that works, isn’t it? (:

Leave a Reply

