empties: january 2014

I’m a firm believer that we all fit into one of two categories; finishers and forgetters.

‘Finishers’ get satisfaction out of completely using up a product while ‘forgetters’ tend to use a product for a while and then push it aside when they find something new. Which one are you?

Personally, I’m a finisher. I love the feeling of using something up before I move on to the next one. It’s so nice to know that I got my money’s worth and to be able to form an honest opinion on whether I liked it or not. This mainly applies to beauty and hygiene products and, since I always love reading other people’s reviews before I buy something, I thought I’d share mine with you!

Empties: January 2014

ProductsI'veUsed11. Urban Decay Make-Up Setting Spray: Lovelovelove. This product keeps my skin from getting oily, helps my makeup last all day, and is a staple in my collection. Highly recommended.

2. Revlon ColorStay Foundation (in Buff): This is hands-down the best drugstore foundation I’ve ever tried. It looks natural, lasts all day, and the price can’t be beat. I’ve already repurchased it twice and I rotate between this and higher-end foundations to save a money. Thank you, Revlon.

3. John Frieda Sheer Blonde Shampoo & Conditioner: I’ve been using this on-and-off since high school and the formula has improved a lot over the years. I wouldn’t say that it does anything spectacular but it smells good, gets the job done, and helps my color last a little longer.

4. Urban Decay Tinted Moisturizer (in Halo): As much as I love UD products, I wasn’t impressed with this. It took me quite a while to get through the bottle and I mainly used it during the summer when I just couldn’t bear wearing heavier makeup. Sorry, UD…I’ll stick with your eyeshadows.

ProductsI'veUsed21. Revlon Clump-Crusher Mascara (in Black): Favorite drugstore mascara ever. Buy this. That’s all.

2. Benefit ‘It’s Potent’ Eye Cream: I struggle with dark circles under my eyes so having a good eye cream is crucial. I was hesitant about this one at first but quickly fell in love with it. It goes on smooth, is gentle on sensitive skin, and seems to reduce the puffiness and darkness I’ve always had.

3. Stila Liquid Eye-Liner (in Brown): Since I’m horrible at applying liquid eyeliner, this has become my go-to product. The felt-tip applicator makes it easy to apply and, since it’s waterproof, it doesn’t smudge. I use brown liner 98% of the time because it’s less harsh than black on fair skin.

4. SmashBox Photo-Ready Primer: I honestly didn’t use primer until a few months ago when my sister convinced me to pick up this sample size. It changed my life. My makeup goes on smoother, lasts longer, and I’ve had fewer breakouts- yeee! I’ve already moved on to a full-size bottle.

I’m planning to share my ’empties’ with you every few months- or whenever I’ve compiled a stash. I apologize for the lack-luster photography in this one. I’m still relying on my iPhone for pictures but I promise it’s going to change soon. DSLR camera, here I come…eek!

Here’s to the finishers and the forgetters…

-Emily

12 comments
  1. I LOVE finishing up products too, especially if it’s a good product that has lasted a long time. I need to try out Urban Decay’s Make-Up Setting Spray and Benefit’s ‘It’s Potent’ eye cream because I’ve heard such good things about both products.

    • Emily said:

      It’s so great, isn’t it? I always feel like I’ve accomplished something. (:
      Definitely try the setting spray first- it will change your life!

  2. I’m totally an empty too! Okay sometimes I throw stuff away with some left or just forget about it, but I try not too. I especially feel so satisfied when I use up food I bought for the week. I’m a victim of letting food go to waste but it’s something I’m really trying to work on to not only save food, but to not waste money either.

    • Emily said:

      I’m the exact same way with food! I get so much satisfaction out of actually eating everything I buy. It’s amazing how much money I save when I do!

      • musicmovingforward said:

        I think for me it depends on the product. I know you said it’s either one or the other but certain products work better for me at different times and I usually go back and finish them up. So I guess I’m a finisher even if it takes me a while.

      • Emily said:

        You’re totally right- there IS an in-between. I think I’m kind of the same way, actually. I always just come back around to products that I’ve forgotten about. (:

  3. Confession: I get such a high when I finish a product and can throw out the empty bottle 😆 It’s actually kind of embarrassing. But wonderful at the same time. And I couldn’t agree more about that Revlon foundation — definitely the best drugstore one I’ve come across, and the UD setting spray is the love of my life.

    I’ve been super curious about primers. I don’t use any now because the last one I used (years ago) broke me out so I’ve been kind of wary since then. I have a teeny tiny sample of the Smashbox, but I’m scared to try it. Hearing you talk about it, though, I may just have to give it a go…

    • Emily said:

      That’s exactly why I stayed away from primers for so long! I used a Mary Kay primer that I received as a gift years ago and it broke my skin out horribly…not good. The SmashBox Primer is totally different though. It makes my skin feel so smooth and my makeup literally glides on. Plus, it’s super hydrating- I think you’d love it!

      Oh, and I definitely get a high when I finish products too. You’re not alone! (:

  4. P said:

    I am most definitely a ‘finisher’ ;). Food, shampoos, soaps—whatever I’m using has to be completely used up before I open something new :P! I usually make an exception for nut butters however…

    • Emily said:

      LOL! Me too, girl. Nut butters are a problem…
      Being a ‘finisher’ definitely helps save a lot of money though! I’m thankful for that!

  5. Ashley said:

    I am a finisher when it comes to food but some things, like conditioner, end up piling up and I usually end up forgetting about them. For whatever reason, conditioner always lasts longer than shampoo–they need to make shampoo bottles bigger to make up for that! Anyways, I use the John Frieda sheer blonde products and I like them enough that I don’t usually change up my shampoo and conditioner too often, but I’m always willing to try new mascara, so I’ll have to look for that Revlon one the next time I need more!

    • Emily said:

      That’s so funny because my shampoo always lasts longer than my conditioner! But my roommate has the same problem as you- I guess it just depends on the person.
      Definitely try the clump crusher mascara! It’s affordable and works as good (if not better) than any high-end mascara I’ve used!

Leave a Reply

