time for love

First and foremost, thank you for all of the sweet birthday wishes. I always read every single comment and I can’t tell you how much they mean to me. You definitely know how to make a girl feel loved.

I spent this weekend out in the middle of nowhere, visiting someone that I love, and working through some long-standing family issues. I didn’t want to go. It meant 13+ hours of driving, giving up shifts at work, missing social events, etc. But you know what? None of that mattered. My family is the most important thing in the world and sometimes that means making sacrifices. I needed to be there.

IMG_6183There’s no denying that we live in a material world. We rely on money and “things” for satisfaction, for happiness, and- ultimately- for survival. That will never go away and you know what? I don’t necessarily think there’s anything wrong with it. Finding joy in a possession doesn’t make you materialistic, it makes you human. As long as we’re thankful, we should never feel ashamed.

With all of that aside, there is one thing in life that is so much more valuable than any physical item ever could be. It’s free, it’s beautiful, and it’s the most precious gift you could ever share…

Time.

This week I challenge you to rediscover the beauty of time.

In every social situation, be present. When someone else is talking, listen. Take time out of your busy day to call your mom, dad, grandparent, etc.- just to chat. Make room in your schedule for lunch with a friend- just because. When you’re buying your daily coffee, take a moment to actually smile and connect with the barista. It’s these little gifts of time that truly show people how much you care.

Here’s to sharing ourselves with the world…

-Emily

15 comments
  1. Great read! Very insightful, and I agree– time is the greatest gift on earth. We can possess it equally, yet are equally incapable of controlling it! It’s all in how we use these moments. I’d like to read more from you. Keep it up!

    • Emily said:

      Exactly. That’s a perfect way to look at it.
      Thank you!

    • Emily said:

      Me too, girl…me too. It’s hard sometimes.

  2. Very eloquently stated and oh so true, thank you for sharing! We each have the same amount of time in a day at our disposal. And how we choose to utilize it will most certainly impact our quality of life. Thanks for the wonderful reminder and best wishes for an inspired day 😉

    • Emily said:

      Thank you so much.
      Best wishes for you and the week ahead also! (:

  3. Beautiful post, Emily… and what I love the most is that you actually practice what you preach. It’s one thing to know what has to be done, and another thing to go out and actually do it. Family is amazing, and the older I get, the more I realize that. I definitely regret taking mine for granted when I was younger, but at least it’s never too late to start making things right 🙂

    • Emily said:

      Aw, thank you so much. Ironically, that’s one of the [many] reasons I love your blog so much- you’re honest and you’re blog is a reflection of your life. It’s beautiful.

      I definitely wasted a lot of precious time growing up also but, you’re right, it’s never to late to make a change. (:

  4. Being present is the one thing that I am always working on, because when I am not present, what is happening around me cannot truly be enjoyed. And especially when it comes to family, as they are that one constant in life. Have an amazing week. 🙂

    • Emily said:

      They truly are the one and only constant in life- I’ve never thought about it that way. Love that. xoxo

  5. Taylor said:

    There are times where I catch myself thinking too much about the past or the future and forgetting to slow down and live in the moment. This is such a wonderful reminder to cherish the moment at hand! ❤

    • Emily said:

      It’s so true! I do the same thing. But, in reality, the past is gone and the future isn’t guaranteed. All we have is right now. (:

  6. Ashley said:

    So so true, and incredibly applicable to my life right now! I’m totally guilty of wishing life would go a little faster so I can be living on my own with a job/a new life/etc. when I should try to live in the moment and soak in the time I have with my family, because it is SO precious!

    • Emily said:

      It really is! Enjoy every beautiful moment with them because they’ll be few and far-between before you know it! xoxo

Leave a Reply

