favorites: december 2013

2013 <— the year that I’m so ready to say goodbye to. It was a rough one, but somehow I ended up happier, healthier, and more confident than I’ve ever been. Funny how that works, isn’t it?

Thankfully, 2013 seems to be ending on a high note. I contemplated doing a post filled with my all-time favorites for the year but decided against it- I just want to focus on the joys of December.

Favorites: December 2013

Fashion/Beauty:

leggings // heeled booties // oversized sweaters // colored eyeliner // bioderma // black everything

decemberfashionFood/Fitness:

comfort food // cookies // strength training // panera // grapes // homemade bread // HIIT

decemberfoodLife:

family time // blogging // making lists // late-night dinners // re-organizing // selfies // pop punk

decemberlife2There you have it…my month in a nutshell. I have an upcoming post that discusses (in more detail) all of the good things that have come out of 2013 and what I’m hoping to accomplish in 2014. I have a handful of goals, a lot of determination, and a good feeling about the year ahead. Not only that, Build Your Bliss is going to play a major role in that so you’re coming along with me. Are you ready?

Here’s to always ending on a high note…

-Emily

23 comments
  1. Beth said:

    Where do you find your long sweaters to wear with leggings? Hope the new year is better for you. I had a rough 2013 myself! Glad to say goodbye to it.

    • Emily said:

      Hopefully 2014 will be better for both of us! And I typically get my oversized sweaters from Forever 21 (:

      • Beth said:

        thanks. What size do you usually get? Larger than usual?

      • Emily said:

        It totally depends! A lot of my sweaters are actually larges (I usually wear a small) just because I like them oversized. But some are made to be big so the small or medium works fine! Just try them on (:

  2. Taylor said:

    Such an great post, I absolutely love your style! I can’t wait to hear more about your goals for 2014. 🙂

  3. Teffy said:

    Lovely recap!
    Sometimes the best years are the hardest, the ones we learn more from and have the most growth!

    {Teffy’s Perks} X

    • Emily said:

      Exactly! I’ve definitely learned that this year. (:

  4. I have mixed feelings about 2013 coming to an end. In some ways I had some of the best days this year, but I’ve also had some of my worse. I guess I’m just scared for the future and not knowing what’s in store, but that’s life, right? I secretly wish we lived closer because I just know we’d be good friends 🙂 PS- those sweet potato fries look heavenly.

    • Emily said:

      I completely, 100% relate to that feeling. It’s scary and overwhelming to be unsure of what the future holds but it also means that the opportunities are endless. It’s up to us to make the most of wherever life takes us. (:
      And I seriously wish we lived closer too! That would be amazing.

  5. P said:

    2013 was a pretty good year for me, but I felt like I had to really work at it to make it happen. Hopefully 2014 will be even better, and things will fall into place more smoothly for both of us 🙂

    Happy New Year Emily!

    • Emily said:

      That’s awesome that you made 2013 a good year- sometimes a little extra effort makes all the difference!
      Happy New Year!

  6. I’m definitely looking forward to seeing what 2014 has in store. Like you, I have a really good feeling about it, and I’m going into the new year with a positive attitude and a serious desire to kick some ass 😉 Here’s to an awesome upcoming year for the both of us ❤

    • Emily said:

      Cheers to that!
      Thank you for all of your support this year- it means the world. xoxo

  7. Years like this just go to show you how strong and resilient you are! Here’s to a great 2014! BTW, I LOVE that black and white oversized sweater in the first pic! SO cute.

    • Emily said:

      Thank you! And that’s so true- thank you for being such a positive influence on me (and the blogging community!) You’re amazing!

  8. I just LOVE your fashion sense – and your taste in salads 😉 Is that Thai Chicken Salad from Panera I see?
    Can I come live with you in LA – your life is so awesome haha
    Heres to hoping 2014 is your year!!

    • Emily said:

      YES! That salad from Panera is my favorite everrrr- I just get it with no chicken and extra of everything else.

      And yes yes yes, please come to LA!

  9. Love this!! I saw your oversized sweater and just ordered another one online. I love oversized sweaters!!

    • Emily said:

      Yay! I do too! I’ve been wearing one almost every day, even though it’s not cold at all in LA…haha oh well!

  10. Ashley said:

    I’m so happy for you that you finished the year out strong, happier and healthier! I love love LOVE your oversized sweater in the first pic–I need to find one like that soon.

    Here’s to an amazing 2014 for both of us ❤

    • Emily said:

      It’s going to be a good year- I know it!

      And thank you! Forever 21 has a lot of similar ones right now! xox

  11. squigglefloey said:

    Ahh! Where did you find that “tribal” print sweater at the top? So gorgeous on you!

  12. no matter what happens throughout the year, the positives outshine the negatives (usually). glad it’s on a high note! hope 2014 started out great!

Leave a Reply

