a rainy day treat

First and foremost, thank you [again] for all of your sweet comments on my last post. The support that I constantly receive from you guys is astounding and I can’t tell you how much it means to me. 

It rained in Los Angeles this week and, like any typical California-native, I complained about it the entire time. Yes, I know…I’m spoiled. But really, I don’t like rain. Nobody looks cute in the rain.

So, since I was forced inside all day, I decided to make the most of it. I busted out my leggings, oversized-sweater, and fuzzy socks and actually spent a few hours minutes in the kitchen.

I was craving something sweet, something salty, and something christmas-y and the dessert I whipped up just happens to cover all of those bases using only 3 ingredients. Um, winning.

Dark Chocolate Peppermint & Pretzel Bark

BarkIngredientsIngredients

– 8.5 oz. dark chocolate (2 large bars or chips)

– 1/2 cup crushed pretzels

– 3-4 tbsp. peppermint baking chips

BarkStepsDirections:

Step One: Roughly chop your chocolate into small chunks (or use chips), crush 1/4 cup pretzels in a plastic bag, and measure out your peppermint baking chips

Step Two: Microwave chocolate for 30 seconds, stir, then repeat until you have a smooth consistency

Step Three: Line a baking sheet with parchment paper and pour your chocolate into the center. Using a spatula, evenly distribute the chocolate until you have a layer that’s 1/8-1/4 inch thick 

Step Four: Sprinkle on pretzels and peppermint chips and gently press them down into the chocolate 

Step Five: Refrigerate for [at least] 30 minutes then carefully break up the bark into bite-sized pieces

PeppPretzBarkSo easy. So fast. So delicious.

Not only that, this is one of the most versatile recipes in the book. Don’t have pretzels or peppermint chips? No problem! Try a S’mores version with graham crackers and marshmallows (so good!) or a “healthy” version with pistachios and dried cranberries (my next venture). You really can’t go wrong!

Here’s to making the most of a gloomy day…

-Emily

9 comments
  1. Taylor said:

    Although I agree, the rain is no fun, sometimes it is so perfect being in comfy clothes and baking! 🙂
    This recipe sounds so delicious, I will definitely be trying it!!

    • Emily said:

      I agree! Sometimes the rain CAN be enjoyable. (:
      Let me know what you think when you try it!

  2. Not like I hadn’t guessed already when you told me but these look perfect, too! Send me some?!
    I hope you’re having a great and rain-less weekend! xo

    • Emily said:

      I would love to send some your way!
      Actually, I’d prefer if we were in the same place so that we could cook/bake together!

  3. Ashley said:

    Mmm, this bark looks so good–you can’t go wrong with peppermint+chocolate or the sweet+salty combo!

    Rain is no fun, especially in December! I woke up to some unexpected snow this morning which I wasn’t happy about but at least it melted quickly and didn’t ruin my travel plans.

    • Emily said:

      I actually wish it would snow here! That would make for an exciting Christmas. But considering the temperatures are going to be in the 80’s all next week, I don’t foresee that happening.
      I’m glad the snow didn’t ruin any travel plans you had! Merry Christmas!

  4. squigglefloey said:

    Loving the weather right now! Can’t believe it’s going to be 79 thurs/fri 😛
    I kinda miss summmmerrrr

  5. P said:

    I love simple dessert recipes and this certainly fits in that category :P!

Leave a Reply

