hey, it’s okay…

Life is stressful. No matter who you are, what your situation is, or how “great” everything looks on the surface…it truly is a universal feeling. When we allow ourselves to get caught up in it, hills become mountains and little [insignificant] things begin to feel like the end of the world.

So, today I just wanted to remind you that life isn’t perfect and sometimes that’s okay.

It’s okay…

to drink multiple cups of coffee just to get through the day

to treat yourself to some pampering (just because)

securedownload-3to complain a little bit

to call your mom when you need to vent

to turn off your alarm and just sleep

securedownload-1to actually enjoy your day-job

to believe in retail therapy

securedownload-2to choose staying in over going out

to choose going out over staying in

to take a break from studying and just breathe

to feel lonely

to feel frustrated

to feel confident

to feel sexy

to admit that you might want to pursue a different career

to just live in the moment, whatever that means

Life is evolving. It never stops, it never slows down. When we become static the world seems to violently spin around us. Not only do we have to allow change, we mustΒ encourage it. Don’t fear the unknown- embrace it. Don’t run away from mistakes- learn from them. And don’t focus so much on the future that you forget to see what’s right in front of you. Happiness doesn’t live in yesterday or tomorrow, it lives within you at this very moment. Feel it. Love it. Share it.

Here’s to knowing it’s okay…

-Emily

20 comments
    • Emily said:

      Aw, thank you. As are you!

  1. P said:

    Superb post Emily =)
    Lately, I’ve been telling myself that it’s okay to take a complete rest day, and that it’s okay to brag about yourself a little after you hear great news πŸ™‚

    • Emily said:

      I’ve been telling myself that too! We all need rest days sometimes (:

  2. squigglefloey said:

    Have a wonderful wknd πŸ™‚ I love that nail color. I have yet to find a white one that goes on smoothly enough for me.
    Any holiday plans?:)

  3. Ashley said:

    Love this, and I agree with all of these. Sometimes we just need to take a break, slow down, and realize that we don’t have all the answers, and that’s okay!

  4. Taylor said:

    I absolutely love this post! This list is such a great reminder to take the time to enjoy things, big or small, and relish in those moments! ❀

    • Emily said:

      Thank you! It’s the little things that make life worth living (:

  5. Hannah said:

    There’s always something like this in Glamour magazine and it’s my favorite!!!! Sometimes the things we do are more “okay” than we actually realize. Thanks for the reminder πŸ™‚

    • Emily said:

      That’s exactly what I got inspiration from! It’s such a great reminder. (:

  6. Irina said:

    LOVE this post!! Actually, I’ve been loving all of your posts lately, I’ve just been m.i.a from commenting πŸ™‚ This year, I’m a big believer in living with self-forgiveness and self-acceptance. There is no need to ever feel guilty about, well, anything! Whether it be retail therapy (my favorite), pampering, or even indulging in sleep/food/TV marathons/etc, do what makes YOU happy while you can πŸ™‚

    • Emily said:

      Aw, thank you Irina! I love all of your recent posts too. Even though we’re on opposite sides of the country, it always feels like we’re going through similar things. I’m so happy that you’re loving life right now- you deserve it!

  7. Katy said:

    Love this post!! We all have to remember it’s okay to relax and live a little. πŸ™‚

    • Emily said:

      Exactly! Thanks, Katy!

  8. I think I need to read your blog even when I don’t want to read blogs .. always so much energy that motivates me. I’ve missed it!

Leave a Reply

