i love my job

Yep, you heard that correctly…I love my job.

Ironically, I’m not even talking about my job as an actress or model. Those ‘jobs’ come and go and, while I do love them, they’re far from consistent or reliable. Nope, I’m talking about my other job…

Monday night was the annual Christmas Party for the restaurant where I work. It’s something that we look forward to all year long and we definitely do it big. There was a party bus (to the location), there was music, there was an open bar, there was food, and there was a lot of dancing. It was amazing.

IMG_5884I cannot even begin to tell you how thankful I am for this job. Sure, I’m “just a waitress” but I love it. Maybe it’s having the opportunity to meet and engage with new people every day, maybe it’s the constant insanity that keeps me on my toes, or maybe it’s that I have the most amazing managers and coworkers known to man. Whatever the reason, I’m lucky and I wouldn’t trade it for anything. 

Is this my forever career? No. But you better believe I’m going to enjoy myself while I’m there.

a494e804c358d2ec5af85d183f52e172I’m a huge advocate for working- no matter what kind of job it is. Sitting around and waiting for the phone to ring or waiting for the ‘perfect’ career opportunity is only setting yourself up for disappointment. Work always creates more work- it may be different than you had imagined, but that “different” might be even better. Every job is an opportunity to grow, to meet new people, and to learn things about yourself that you didn’t know before. The Universe has a divine plan that we can’t fully control. So, find a job that you enjoy and stick with it. Your hard work will pay off in the end.

Here’s to loving what you do every single day…

-Emily

36 comments
    • Emily said:

      As always, THANK YOU! (:

  1. This was such a positive post to read! I’ve finally decided that I’m going to try to act in NYC after school, so I’m mostly likely going to be in exactly the same place next year. It’s scary to turn down ‘real’ good jobs with big paychecks to live in one of the most expensive places in the world on barely any money, trying to find a job waiting tables or something, but it’s wonderful to read about other people who have tried/are trying it and are enjoying it. Have a wonderful Christmas!

    • Emily said:

      Aw, that’s so exciting! I know how tough that decision is- NYC and LA are both such expensive places to live and this career is insanely hard- but it’s worth it. I can’t wait to follow your journey! xoxo

  2. I love your outlook on working! Something I definitely need to remind myself of. I feel the same way about my job at the daycare. I’ve been working there for over 6 years and while I know I can’t obviously work there forever, I’m just trying to enjoy it now because it’s something I love so much.

    • Emily said:

      Aw, that’s exactly the feeling I have.
      Working at a daycare would be an amazing experience too [i think] just because every day is different. Plus you get to see the kids change as they grow up a little bit. So fun!

  3. Did you write this post with me in mind?! Seriously, I like every word in it and I guess you know why. Thanks for the constant inspiration and I’m SO happy to hear you enjoy your job so much. It irks me when people comment like “just a waitress” because every person is different in terms of job preferences. And not all waitressing jobs are created equal: some are really bad but some – like yours – just make you feel so good. It was the same for me thinking I was ‘just’ working at a local newspaper instead of anything ‘huge’. Really, though: it is awesome so what?! Okay, enough rambling: I’m glad we both found jobs we’re really happy in.

    • Emily said:

      It’s so funny-
      I had been thinking about this post for a while and then, after talking with you and reading about your new job, it all came together. So, I definitely had you in mind!
      And I’m glad we’ve both found jobs too. It’s the best. (:

  4. P said:

    Yup, it’s so true—working in a place that makes you happy will definitely make you a happy person, not to mention more productive 🙂

    Glad you had an awesome time!

  5. squigglefloey said:

    Cutest waitress EVER! which restaurant do you work at??

    • Emily said:

      Thank you!
      I don’t really want to share the name of the restaurant on here but I’ll tell you in our next email! xoxo

      • squigglefloey said:

        np 🙂

  6. What a healthy perspective! I agree that working with the right people can make or break your job. My job is a bit overwhelming right now, but thankfully I have a great team to work with and share in the craziness!

    • Emily said:

      I’m a huge believer that your coworkers are 98% of the job. They have the power to make your job miserable but they also have the power to make it amazing. SO happy that you’re surrounded by people who make work fun!

  7. You seriously have the best outlook on life, lady. “Every job is an opportunity to grow, to meet new people, and to learn things about yourself that you didn’t know before.” <– I couldn't agree more. Doing something – anything – is always better than doing nothing. We were meant to be active participants in our lives, not sitting on the sidelines just watching each day pass us by.

    • Emily said:

      Aw, thank you Amanda!
      I’m always inspired by you and your positive outlook on situations- thank you for that!

  8. You’re amazing girlie! The fact that you are an actress/model doesn’t stop you from having other jobs. I have friends that go on broadway once in a while and they just sit and wait for the next one so kudos to you! 🙂 making friends and connections that will last forever!

    • Emily said:

      Aw, thank you!
      That’s exactly how I feel about it. I mean, sitting around in my apartment is boring…and I’ve found that I wind up shopping A LOT when I have days off. If I’m working, I don’t have time to spend money! lol

  9. beth said:

    what type of restaurant are you a waitress at? Don’t you hate working evenings, though? It would be awesome to have a job I love. Never has happened yet…but the right philosophy!

    • Emily said:

      It’s a fairly laid-back restaurant that serves burgers/beer/etc. It’s a lot of fun. And I actually LOVE working the evening shifts- they’re busier and more exciting!
      Hopefully you’ll find a job that you love soon!

  10. I LOVE THIS POST. It is so refreshing to see someone so enthusiastic about working and going to a job each day. I agree with you, no matter what job you’re doing, it’s better than being lazy and relying on the rest of the world to take care of you. I admire your independence and motivation. Although I don’t work as much as you do, working in the food industry people always remark how happy and smiley I am while behind the counter….they approach me like it’s weird and that I shouldn’t be a cheery as I am at work. But I take pride in my job and I take it seriously even though it may be considered a ‘menial’ job. Why not be happy and excited about your job!? It just makes it more tolerable and enjoyable for everyone…including the customer!!! Keep up your amazing attitude girl! I seriously need to come visit you someday! I feel like we could be such good friends IRL 🙂

    • Emily said:

      Oh my goodness…please, please, PLEASE come visit! We would have so much fun.
      And that’s how I feel when I read every one of your blog posts- I find myself nodding and agreeing to everything! xoxo

  11. I absolutely love this. It’s so difficult for me to wakeup and go to work everyday because I seriously despise my job (although I’m super glad I have one in the first place!) I’ve been applying for different places–the skys the limit! They’re not going to come to me. =)

    • Emily said:

      Aw! I definitely know how that is. When I was working in retail (I won’t mention the name of the HORRIBLE store), I was miserable. I’ll keep my fingers crossed that you find a place you love!

  12. Lisa said:

    Love it and so true.
    Sitting around doing nothing isn’t productive and won’t get you anywhere. I think it’s so great to be independent and make moves yourself and find that passion in your work. So important.

  13. Taylor said:

    I couldn’t agree more with what you said! While it may not be where you see yourself, at least you are working. I believe by constantly working you only allow yourself to meet new people and continue forward which eventually could open some amazing doors! If not it does say something on a resume 🙂

    • Emily said:

      That’s exactly the way I see it. You never know what doors will be opened! Like the guy you’re having the meeting with- you could have never met him if you weren’t out, doing your thing. (:

  14. This post was a really great reminder that, although I don’t always enjoy working, it is good for me. It gives life a purpose and an adventure. I was wondering if you went to/graduated from college? I am finishing up my AS and I’m thinking of taking a break and just working for a while and figuring out my life. My Mom is completely against it because “it’s too hard to go back.” So I was just wondering if that was something you pursued or if you’re content with just working and living life? You are always so positive and uplifting, I love reading all of your blog posts! Also, you look truly happy in your photos in this post 🙂

    • Emily said:

      I totally, TOTALLY know how that conversation goes. I attended a conservatory after graduating high-school and, while it was a great experience, I didn’t leave with any sort of degree. The school was extremely expensive and I’ll be paying off those loans for years to come. In hind-sight, I probably would have done it differently. I definitely think there’s something to be said for taking time off, working, and experiencing life. It has served me really well thus far. But having a degree can also be extremely important, depending on what field you’re planning to pursue a career in.
      How far along are you? Feel free to email me at any time, if that’s easier! (buildyourbliss@yahoo.com)

      And, of course, thank you for all of your support! (:

      • I just emailed you. I hope everything I wrote wasn’t too open or weird. I always worry that people will find me weird, but I know opening up is the best way to make true friends and learn from others. Also you’re welcome, support is available any time 🙂

  15. Ashley said:

    I really needed to read this–I’m stressing about finding a job post-grad, and even though I have an ultimate career goal in mind, I know that it’s a competitive world out there and I might end up needing to take a job that’s not exactly my dream job. A lot of the places I want to end up working are also expensive to live in, but I figure it’s worth it to live where I want to and be working towards my goals!

    • Emily said:

      I know exactly how that stress feels. Don’t let it get to you- finding a job takes time, no matter what field you’re going in to. You might end up in a few that you dislike at first but all of your hard work will pay off (:

  16. Pingback: A New Chapter |

  17. Great post. I’m happy that you have found a job that you love. So many of us are still searching for one 😉 One day, one day!

Leave a Reply

