favorites: november 2013

Happy [belated] Thanksgiving. I hope your day was filled with love, gratitude, and lots of food.

November is coming to a close and that means we’re a mere 25 days away from Christmas (and 37 days away from my birthday…but who’s counting?). 2013 is going to be over in the blink of an eye and, looking back, I can’t believe how much has changed. More on that in a later post.

For now, here’s what I loved this month…

Favorites: November 2013

Fashion/Beauty:

dresses // platform heels // black jeans // dark lips // acrylic nails // clean & clear products

IMG_5799NovemberMakeupFood:

even bigger salads // Justin’s honey pb // iced coffee // tofurky (duh) // sweet & salty // pirates booty

NovemberFood

IMG_5802Life:

family // Styled to Rock // Refinery 29 // photoshoots // cuddling with Lionel // traveling // sleeping in

YA_11.8_WEB_BANNER_3

NovemberLionel

And with that, the month is over. I don’t know why, but it hasn’t hit me that it’s almost Christmas. I didn’t listen to any Christmas music until yesterday and have yet to put up a single decoration. But I did start my shopping (yeee!) so hopefully I’ll start feeling more festive in the next few days.

Here’s to filling the rest of 2013 with love…

-Emily

17 comments
  1. Beth said:

    Love those shoes in the first pic!! And the pants in the second to the last pic? Wherever do you shop, woman? Where did you get Lionel from and how old was he when you adopted him? He is such a sweetie!!! Is he declawed? I need a Lionel in my life.

    Emily, are you a vegan (tofurkey)? And do you eat gluten free?

    • Beth said:

      And how do you manage to not have cat hair all over you!

    • Emily said:

      Thank you!
      I adopted Lionel from a veterinary clinic when he was about 2 months old. He isn’t declawed because I don’t believe in it and it’s actually illegal to declaw cats in Los Angeles County.
      You should definitely look into getting a kitty! They’re really low maintenance and, if you find the right one, can be amazing pets.

      I’m not vegan anymore- I was for about 2 years but switched back to vegetarian-ism earlier this year. It was just too restrictive for me and I didn’t like feeling like a burden when I went out with my friends. And I don’t eat gluten-free but I do try to avoid it whenever possible. It’s not something I stress over though!

  2. Taylor said:

    I love your dress and the tweet, I am the same! I usually end up just pouring the entire bag in a huge salad bowl and calling it good!
    I too can’t believe it is already Christmas time but I am more than ready to see what the new year brings. Hope you had a wonderful Thanksgiving break! xox

    • Emily said:

      I hope you had a wonderful Thanksgiving too!
      And I’m glad I’m not the only one who eats an entire bag of lettuce for each salad- I like them big!

  3. Ashley said:

    I love that dress in the first picture–the cutout detail is perfect! Giant salads are my favorite, especially the kind with the most random ingredients that somehow end up tasting delicious together.

    So crazy that Christmas is a few weeks away! I’m not sure I’m ready yet, but this is always one of my favorite times of the year, despite how busy it always is.

    • Emily said:

      Thank you!

      And I’m the same way with salads right now. I just can’t get enough. I swear, my body never knows what season it is. In the summer I crave cooked food and in the winter all I want are raw veggies and fruit!

  4. How do you like that Maybelline 24 Hour lipstick? I am looking for a great dark lipstick color to wear during the holidays.

    And now, you are not the only person who uses a whole bag of lettuce to make your salad. It’s lettuce though, so it’s complete fine right? ; )

    • Emily said:

      Exactly! You can never, ever have too much lettuce. (:

      I highly, highly recommend the Maybelline Lipstick! I typically use Mac lipsticks and actually like these ones better! And they’re so much more affordable!

  5. I adore dresses with cutouts. Makes me wanna kick my ass in the gym so I can wear them comfortably too 😉

    Usually this time of year I am completely done with Christmas shopping and have maxed out my pandora from christmas music. Just not feeling it this year. I did manage to get my tree up yesterday though.

    • Emily said:

      I’m glad I’m not the only one who can’t find the Christmas spirit this year. It’s so weird! At least you have your tree up (:

  6. P said:

    Yay for Tofurky and getting christmas shopping started!
    I was so glad to dig into some Tofurky over Thanksgiving…and (quite a few) biscuits and gravy 🙂 I worked for most of Black Friday/Weekend, but I managed to get some shopping done.

    I love that green dress! It’s such a lovely shade.

    • Emily said:

      Oh, I had my fair share of biscuits too! Those are my ultimate weakness. And Tofurky is SO GOOD. I’m obsessed.

  7. squigglefloey said:

    That dress is gorgeous.
    I just realized that I literally never wore eyeliner/liquid liner. What do you use? I need some recs! 🙂

    • Emily said:

      I just started wearing it recently and it’s AMAZING. It definitely takes some getting use to though.
      I recommend getting a felt-tip liner (I use Stila) because they’re much easier to control than the really liquid-y ones. Also, I line my eyes with a pencil first then go over it with the felt-tip liquid liner. It’s easier to get a straight line that way. I hope that helps! Let me know when/if you try it. (:

  8. I do my christmas shopping throughout the year as weird as that can be … when I see something, I just buy it! hopefully the people I give it to like it though. our family don’t do christmas lists really so it’s usually buy what you think that person would like type deal. as always, love your outfit. was trying to find a green dress to wear for christmas party but that didn’t work out. love yours.

    • Emily said:

      Check Forever 21 if you’re looking for dresses! They have a ton of cute ones right now. (:

Leave a Reply

