on the edge

Ask any of my friends and they’ll tell you that I was never much of a rebel growing up. I always got good grades, followed the rules, and only took risks when I knew the outcome couldn’t be too horrible. But I’ve changed a lot over the past year. I’ve freed myself from my constant need for perfection and learned to love the space outside of my comfort zone. That’s where magic happens.

My new mindset has slowly but surely made it’s way into my closet. I’m beginning to realize how exhilarating it is to push the boundaries. Am I going to trade in all of my Free People for Top Shop and my lace for studs? Not likely. But I’m having fun. So, next time you’re shopping, don’t go straight for the same things you already own- buy something different. You just might surprise yourself.

1422378_10201155574387402_600299030_n903518_10201155574227398_1520431252_o1412222_10201155574147396_1081733272_oIMG_0005_2IMG_0002_2Dress: Forever 21 // Flannel: Forever 21 // Boots: Nordstrom (Madden Girl) // CuffUrban Outfitters

Here’s to pushing some boundaries…

-Emily

13 comments
  1. dopechic said:

    Very cute outfit and I’m happy to hear ur having fun with fashion that’s what it’s all about!! X

    • Emily said:

      Exactly! Thank you! xoxo

  2. Taylor said:

    Two things, first these photos and clothes are absolutely amazing! Second your intro paragraph pretty much describes me to a tee. I am though learning to break from that goal of perfection and just be me. It really is the greatest thing to take a chance to go out of your comfort zone, whether that be in fashion or any other aspect of life! ❤

    • Emily said:

      Aw, thank you!
      I swear that we’re long-lost cousins or something. It amazes me how much we have in common and how much I can always relate to your posts.

      xoxo

  3. squigglefloey said:

    Hottie!!!

  4. Ashley said:

    I’ve made some similar changes to my closet, like finally adding in some black and some edgier pieces and it feels so fun. I think clothes should be a reflection of how we feel at the moment, so it only makes sense to change it up every once in awhile.

    And I love the outfit+hair!

    • Emily said:

      Exactly! Our style totally evolves just like we do. And I love that you’ve started incorporating black- it literally makes up about 90% of my wardrobe!

  5. LOVE THIS! I feel like my style is slowly changing too. More mature and more presentable to the world….and potential job opportunities! 🙂 I love the outfits you’ve been featuring lately… you have such an eye for combining unusual pieces! I am sure living in LA gives you a lot of inspiration too! I’d love to live in a place that’s so fashion forward!

    • Emily said:

      Yay! Your comment worked. I don’t know why that keeps happening!

      And thank you! It’s so fun to see how our styles evolve as we grow up. (:

      • Glad it finally went through! Keep getting an error initially for some reason! So weird!! Lol at wordpress….

  6. Love it. I bought a dress that wasn’t black! can’t wait to wear it for the christmas party. now I just need to figure out what to match it with.

Leave a Reply

