a weekend getaway

This weekend I disappeared; from my blog, from my job, from my life in LA. I wound up with 3 days off from work (unheard of) and decided to take full-advantage by escaping to Las Vegas. No, I didn’t go to ‘hit the strip’ or ‘drink to forget’, I went to visit my grandma and cousin who I hadn’t seen in far too long. We shopped, we played, we gossiped, we ate…and it was absolutely perfect.

BZufyGKCIAAUe1V.jpg-large

LasVegasSceneryLasVegasMallVegasTripFoodVegasTripAnthonyWhen I was little, anytime I got sick my grandma would call me and say “All you need is grandma there to make you some tea and toast and you’ll feel all better”. She was always right. And even though I’m all grown up now, that statement still holds true. Sometimes it’s okay to admit that you’re overwhelmed and need a break. More often than not, that break will leave you refreshed, rejuvenated, and remind you of the what is truly important. Life is precious. Life is beautiful. Live it.

Here’s to the power of love…

-Emily

26 comments
    • Emily said:

      Thank you! Grandma’s always know how to fix anything!

    • Emily said:

      Exactly! Thanks, lady (:

  1. Beth said:

    So very happy that you took some time to be with loved ones. Grandma’s are the best!! You deserved this one!! I love that ivory sweater. Wherever do you shop? Great style, woman!

    • Emily said:

      Thank you! It’s actually from Urban Outfitters (:

  2. Awwr… grandmas are simply the best. Glad you enjoyed some time off — Vegas is one of my favourite places to visit 🙂

    • Emily said:

      It’s so much fun! I’m hoping to go with my friends in the near future- I’ve never reeeaally experienced Vegas since I turned 21. haha

  3. P said:

    This is great! I’m so glad you got to spend some quality time with your grandma and cousin.

    By the way, your grandma is very stylish :)!

    • Emily said:

      Isn’t she?! I got all of my fashion sense from her (:

  4. Ashley said:

    Sounds like the perfect weekend to me! We all need some ‘grandma’ time every so often (:

  5. Sometimes all you need is a little quality time with gram. Reading this makes me want to go visit my grandma ASAP. So glad you got to escape the craziness and catch your breath 🙂

    • Emily said:

      Aw, you should! It’s seriously the perfect escape. (:

    • Emily said:

      Thank you! The sweater is amazing- one of the most comfortable things I’ve ever owned. It was a little pricey but I figured I’d get a ton of use out of it!

  6. A getaway can be such a great remedy–sadly they’re always short lived. Looks like a fun weekend & your gma is too adorable!

    • Emily said:

      They’re always too short, aren’t they? But, that’s what makes them so enjoyable, I think. We’re forced to embrace every precious moment.

      Thank you! xoxo

  7. A getaway is such a great option to relax and get some energy. When times get stressful or I have personal stuff going on in my life, I love to visit my aunt and take a break.

    • Emily said:

      It makes such a difference, doesn’t it? I’m glad you have a person you can escape to visit also (:

  8. Taylor said:

    Getting away from your daily routine is something I think we need more often than we thing! Glad to see you were able to spend time with family and enjoy yourself! ❤

  9. squigglefloey said:

    Ah that gingerbread cookie 🙂
    Im totally craving a weekend getaway…Ive just never actually put it into the works. It seriously does wonders for your mental health though. ❤

    • Emily said:

      You should definitely treat yourself to one! You deserve it!

  10. Glad you got time off! Always a good time with family. Family is and will always be there for you. You deserved a break! Go you!

Leave a Reply

