beautifully bonded

Relationships, no matter what form, are one of life’s most beautiful gifts.

Creating, maintaining, and nurturing bonds with other people is something we’re all constantly doing. But some relationships are different. Certain bonds are extra special and that’s where love is formed.

I think it’s really, really important to have a handful of ‘special’ people in our lives. The ones we know we can turn to and count on, no matter what. The ones we can trust 100%. The ones we feel completely comfortable around. The ones we really can’t fathom living without. It could be a sibling, a friend, a parent, a grandparent…just so long as it’s someone. For me, it’s my sister- Lindsay.

IMG_3471

I spent the weekend with her and was reminded of just how lucky we both are. Her two-day visit flew by but we enjoyed every single minute of it. Shopping, talking, hiking, eating, relaxing, bonding

I wish we had taken more pictures (le sigh)- sometimes it’s more important to just savor the moment.

IMG_5597IMG_5594IMG_5604We’re constantly stimulated by the people and things that surround us, so it’s important that we fill our lives with those that bring out the best in us. Positivity and happiness are- after all- contagious.

Here’s to those unbreakable bonds…

-Emily

23 comments
  1. Nice that you have such a close and meaningful relationship. Having relationships with our siblings is particularly special.

  2. Ellie said:

    I wish I had the same relationship with my sister…but I can relate to the cat love 😉

    • Emily said:

      Ellie! I’ve missed you!
      I hope you’re doing well. xoxo

      • Ellie said:

        Miss you too! How’s life? In school?

  3. P said:

    My relationship with my sister has definitely grown over the years, and has developed even more even though she’s away at college. We have some pretty deep and special conversations now, but also have room for our funny moments and inside jokes.

    • Emily said:

      That’s exactly what happened with my sister and I. We weren’t that close during middle school/high school but, after I moved away to college everything changed. It sounds like you two have a really similar relationship to ours!

  4. Sister envy! I’m an only child, and while I enjoyed it when I was younger, I definitely wish I had a brother or sister now that I’m older… especially since most of my family lives in Poland, so it’s really just me and my parents. I’m super thankful to have a really good relationship with them, though.

    • Emily said:

      Well at least you’re close with your parents! I’m sure that being an only child made your relationship with them even stronger. xoxo

  5. Beth said:

    Is your kitty a girl or a boy? How old and where did you get the kitty? She/he looks so loving…I want her/him!! How old was the kitty when you got it? How did you know she/he was “the one” and how did you get such an affectionate one? I seriously want this cat! How is the shedding? Did you declaw the cat?

    Lots of kitty questions. Sorry!!

    • Beth said:

      you there, Emily??

    • Emily said:

      No problem!
      He’s a boy and I got him about a year ago from a veterinary clinic near where I live. His mom was abandoned there when she was pregnant so they had all of the kittens up for adoption- he was around 2 months when I got him.
      His shedding isn’t too bad because he has short hair but I was also used to lots of shedding from my dogs when I was growing up. And I definitely didn’t declaw him- it’s illegal to declaw cats in Los Angeles and I think it’s horrible!

      Hope that helps!

  6. Taylor said:

    You must of had such a blast with your sister, I have a similar relationship with mine so I definitely can relate to having that special bond!

    On a different note, I am actually planning on being in your area in January to visit and if you wouldn’t mind I would love some ideas of things I must/do see while there! 🙂

    • Emily said:

      You’re going to be in SoCal?! Ahhh. Yes yes yes.
      I’ll email you soon and we can chat and [possibly] plan a little meet up?! (:

  7. squigglefloey said:

    I wish I had a sister!
    I guess my younger brother will have to do 😛
    Hope you’re doing well dear.

    • Emily said:

      Aw! If it helps, I always wanted a brother! haha

  8. Aw, I love sister time! Reading your words just made me nod my head in agreement, I feel the same way about me sister. I am SO happy that you got in some sisterly-bonding, those kind of weekends just warm your soul 🙂

    • Emily said:

      It’s such an amazing connection. I remember my grandma telling me when I was little that sisters (or siblings, in general) are the closest people you’ll ever have in this world. They share almost identical DNA and no other bond is ever quite the same. xoxo

  9. Just found your page through Lisa. This is such a sweet post. For me that person is my best friend since I was 3 who is like my sister. Thank goodness for those special people in our lives 🙂

  10. Ashley said:

    Sister bonding is the best! My sister and I are also extremely close, and I hope I can spend plenty of one-on-one time with her next month because I don’t know how many more opportunities we’ll get to do that, with me graduating from college in December and her graduating from high school in May and probably moving out of state. This post definitely reminds me not to take my relationship with my sister for granted.

    • Emily said:

      Definitely don’t take it for granted! Enjoy every precious moment because they become less and less frequent as we grow up. xoxo

  11. great post! and I agree. I feel the distance makes the heart grow fonder as well. I miss my siblings a lot since they’re not able to come down as much due to work but when we do get together, I savor the moment.

Leave a Reply

