balls of glass

I’m not going to lie, I had a completely different post drafted for today. I wrote it, edited it, and was seconds away from hitting “publish” when I came across this image…

34a387a511b31135cd79b366bf3bbf80My skin crawls with goosebumps and I get tears in my eyes every time I read that.

I’ve spent so many days, months, and years with laser-beam focus on my career. I was conditioned to believe that happiness came from success and success came from hard-work and a steadfast dedication to work. I was wrong. Working hard and striving to reach a particular goal is important, but without family, health, friends, and integrity the success you achieve doesn’t have much of an impact. 

Find happiness and allow that to fuel you on  your path towards success. Not the other way around. The most important things in life aren’t bought or earned, they’re within you and all around you. 

Here’s to the important things in life…

-Emily

21 comments
  1. Sometimes, the universe sends us a message at just the right time to make sure we’re listening. I am happy that you abandoned your original post for this moving message. It reminds me of some lyrics from one of my favorite bands:

    Everybody wants somethin’
    Just a little more
    Makin’ a livin’
    And what we’re livin’ for

    A rich man or a poor man
    A pawn or a king
    You can live on the street, you can rule the world
    But it don’t mean one damn thing

    What do you got if you ain’t got love?

    ~Bon Jovi

    Thank you for the wonderful message and best wishes for an inspired day 😉

  2. Woah. I just got chills reading that. I’ve never seen that quote before but it’s so true. Definitely a good thing to be reminded of. Wow, I feel like I can’t even coherently string together a comment. Really powerful stuff here. Thank you so much for sharing!

    • Emily said:

      That’s exactly how I felt when I read it and why I knew it had to be shared. I’m really glad you feel the same way! Xoxo

  3. Beautiful words. At the same time apparently simple yet there’s so much more meaning behind them. It’s true: no matter how successful we are in our careers we will never feel whole without the other four ‘balls’. Work might result in acknowledgement but our relationships give us joy and love. Thank you for sharing, Emily!

  4. What a great read….I actually never looked it it that way before so to totally opened my eyes. I’m focused n career and success too and sometimes forget the other things.

    • Emily said:

      I hadn’t looked at things that way either…I think that’s why the quote had such a big impact on me. I’m glad you felt the same way. ❤

  5. Taylor said:

    That quote gave me chills, it’s so true. I think though, there is so much pressure on the work front that we sometimes forget about everything else. Once you are able to juggles all of that and be happy, then you have found your bliss! xox

    • Emily said:

      Which is what my blog is all about! Xoxox

  6. amazing. great words. glad you posted this instead of what you were going to post (which I hope to read tomorrow?) haha

    • Emily said:

      Yay! I’m glad you love it too.
      And yep- that post will be up tomorrow!

  7. Ashley said:

    Such an incredible message. Success IS important like you said, but we need the other four things to be our happiest, and I think without them, we can’t be truly successful either.

    • Emily said:

      I completely agree. We need our health, family, friends, and integrity to truly achieve and enjoy “success”.

  8. carrie said:

    i am definitly like you, i have always been career focused and figured everything else would just “fall into place”, but this is am amazing quote and it really proves that good things usually don’t just happen, that you have to work for them, and care for them gently when they do work themselves into place. what a beautiful message.

    • Emily said:

      Exactly. Sometimes we get so caught up in our work that we forget the people that are loving and supporting us. And I never, ever want work to get in the way of my integrity. I’m glad you liked the message as much as I do!

  9. squigglefloey said:

    ❤ its tough. I was definitely one of those girls growing up, going to college, thinking that work good grades and all that was all that mattered.
    health, family, and friends are so, so important. they all tie into contributing to one another. if I don't have my family + friends my health suffers….it's such a cycle.

    • Emily said:

      I was that girl too- 100%. But it’d refreshing to realize that there are other things that are more important. I’m so sorry I never responded to your email- want to plan a lunch or coffee date for late next week? (:

  10. I love this Emily! It’s beautifully put and I love reading about your reaction too as I appreciate the insight into your own experiences. I’ve never got anything other than pure integrity from any of your blog posts so I think you’re doing pretty darn well 😉

    • Emily said:

      Aw, I really appreciate that. Thank you so much. I actually get a lot of inspiration from you and your blog so thank you for that. Xoxo

Leave a Reply

