big girl things

Something major took place this weekend…

IMG_5448Hello, beautiful.

Yep, I bought a 21.5″ iMac computer. And as I sit here typing, I still can’t quite believe it. I decided to bite the bullet and finally invest in a new computer for a number of reasons;

1. My Macbook Pro was 7+ years old and the software was out of date
2. I’m planning to expand my blogging and [hopefully] move into filming/editing videos
3. I need to start building credit

Woah, what? What does buying a computer have to do with my credit?

I’m in my early 20’s and I have yet to have a credit card under my name. Now, I’m perfectly okay with that- I’d actually prefer to go my entire life without one- but society doesn’t work that way. Having a good credit score is crucial if I ever want to buy a car, buy a house, get a loan, etc. and I need a credit card to do that. So, I’ve been weighing the options with my mom over the past few months and was trying to come up with the most practical solution. Enter my need for a new computer…

After doing some research, I discovered that Apple offers their own credit card. If you’re approved, you qualify for 12-18 month no interest financing on any in-store purchase. Um, yes please. I applied for their credit card, bought my iMac, and will be making payments on it every month. #imabigkidnow

This year has been all about growing up for me: I turned 21 [became legal], started paying all of my own bills, experienced working 2 jobs, got a credit card, and began to discover the things that truly make me happy. I’m so different from the girl I was on January 1st and I love how far I’ve come.

Growing up can be overwhelming but that doesn’t have to be a bad thing. We’re conditioned  to believe that adulthood is solely filled with stress and anxiety but it’s really a matter of perspective. The responsibilities grow but so do the rewards. If you find reasons to be happy, you will be happy.

7ebfa309200ac7bbb268333496dd0458Here’s to growing up…

-Emily

26 comments
  1. Congrats on the new purchase 😉 It is sometimes very difficult to forge ahead as an adult while maintaining the youthfulness and exuberance of our younger days. You, however, seem to be doing a might fine job of both! Best wishes for an inspired day and many beautiful creations from the land of iMac 😉

    • Emily said:

      Thank you! It’s definitely a ‘learn-as-you-go’ journey but I’m making the most of it. And I can’t wait to start creating with my iMac- best wishes to you and yours also!

    • Emily said:

      I have too! I’m glad I’m not the only one (:

  2. Yay congrats on your new Mac! I use to love Macs but gave up on them and built a super powerful PC instead that cost less than half the price of the Mac I wanted. Macs are just pretty though but I have to admit I like the Windows interface a little better because I’m so use to the way I work and the shortcuts I’ve created for myself. I think I may splurge on a new Mac monitor in the near future though. 😉

    As for credit cards, I think they are great if you can control your spending and can pay them off monthly. I use them to collect mileage for plane travel. You should sign up for credit cards that has reward programs that suits you best.

    • Emily said:

      I totally understand that! I’ve always had a Mac so that’s what I’m used to but I have friends and family that are die-hard Windows-lovers and I can definitely see why. The new Windows software is awesome!

      And I completely agree with you on credit cards. That’s why I decided to sign up for this one because I can solely pay off my computer without racking up any extra debt for the first year. I’d like to avoid spending money that I don’t have as much as possible!

  3. Congratulations–that looks like a great computer!

    Other than the software being out of date, had your MacBook Pro shown any signs of slowing down? My current MacBook is about five years old, and I do wonder how much more life it has.

    • Emily said:

      Thank you! I’m in love with it.

      My MacBook Pro actually held up really, really well. I’m still keeping it as a back-up as opposed to selling it because I don’t know if/when I’ll need a portable computer. It started to slow down a little bit and would get “tired” when I used it for too long but, other than that, it was mainly just the out-of-date software and small size/memory that led me to buying a new one!

  4. mitchell-james said:

    Absolutely agree with this 🙂

    Firstly, congrats on the new purchase, it is the first step towards new and exciting projects (like editing videos, etc.) but it’s also a great little splurge that just makes you feel awesome hahah

    It’s hard to believe how much we can change in such a short space of time – even thinking back six months can make you realise how much wiser we get just from plain old life experience. ‘And when you know better, you do better’ (thanks to Oprah for that one :P)

    • Emily said:

      Thank you!
      You’re so right- it’s amazing how much life experiences have an effect on us. I love it though. I’m the type of person (and I’m sure you are too) that learns best by doing, rather than being told. (:

  5. squigglefloey said:

    yay for big girl things! 😀 unfortunately i’m not a mac girl 😦 On the lookout for a “new” used car though….

    • Emily said:

      Oooh…that will definitely be my next big purchase. My car is paid off though so I’m delaying that as long as possible! I’ll keep my eyes peeled for you though (:

  6. carrie said:

    yay!!! i also am in my early 20’s and are still credit card-less. i need to make like you and get on this here building credit thing! kudos to you!!!

    • Emily said:

      Thank you! And you definitely should! I actually did some research on it and how long you’ve been building credit plays a biiiig role in your overall credit score- so the earlier you start, the better!

  7. Taylor said:

    YAAH, congrats on the big purchase!! It is one of those things where just buying something big makes you feel a bit more grown up 🙂 I love what you say about perspective. Growing up has its challenges but it is a matter of taking what we are given and making the best out of them. Also, I absolutely love that quote! xo

    • Emily said:

      It really does! Every time I cross a new bridge (buying something “big”, getting my first credit card, paying my own bills, etc.) it brings a level of excitement that I love. Responsibility doesn’t have to be a bad thing!

      xox

  8. Congratulations!! I actually didn’t get my first credit card until I was 22 or 23 so you’re ahead of me already 🙂 It’s so important to build a good credit history and it’s something I’ve actively been working on since opening up my first account. Plus, that Mac looks sooo pretty (I drink that Apple kool-aid like no other) 🙂

    • Emily said:

      I love that building credit is something you’ve been working on too. I’ve actually noticed that most of my friends in their early 20’s haven’t even thought about it yet (or were irresponsible & have bad scores) but it’s so important!
      And thank you! I’m such a sucker for Apple products too. They’re just beautiful. (:

  9. P said:

    I am not an Apple fan, but I know how the Mac is useful for those in the entertainment industry. Congrats on your “big girl” purchase :D!

    I have a credit card for the same reason: to build credit. I use it for big and small purchases, but I keep track of my spending on paper in order to keep things in check.

    • Emily said:

      Thank you!

      And that’s awesome that you keep track of all your spending on paper- I’m definitely planning to do the same!

  10. Congrats on the new computer, lady! She’s a beauty 😀 I didn’t get a credit card until I was in my early 20’s either, and the only reason I got one was pretty much the same as you — to build credit. I’ll whip it out every now and again, but I definitely prefer paying by cash. And I love what you said about growing up being all about perspective. Honestly? The older I get, the more I love it… If I had to go back to my younger years, I’m not sure I’d want to 😆

    • Emily said:

      Thank you!
      I’m so happy to hear that I’m not the only one who actually enjoys growing up (for the most part). There’s just something so exciting about it. (:

  11. Ashley said:

    Congrats on the new addition 😉 I agree with you completely on being a different girl than I was at the beginning of the year. I think turning 21 was a big change for me, but slowly over the year I’m becoming more and more independent and discovering who I want to be and even though it’s crazy for me to think that I’ll be graduated in a couple of months and possibly in my first big girl job soon afterwards, I kinda like the process!

  12. congratulations!! you should def get a credit card that links with getting mileage points. VERY useful and wish that’s what I actually did. :/ maybe in the far future.

  13. Didn’t know Apple offered credit cards. I know Paypal is introducing a debit card. I am not a fan of credit cards and quite like that they can be useful around the UK and Europe, but in the States they are SO obsessed with them. I need to build credit too but I need a more stable income as well because being self-employed is a pain in the butt when banks are trying to assess you.

    http://www.bisousnatasha.com

    • Emily said:

      PayPal is going to be offering a credit card? I had no idea! I’m right there with you- I’d much prefer to steer clear of credit cards forever but [unfortunately] society doesn’t really allow for that!

Leave a Reply

