happy women

I talk about happiness a lot on this blog. I established in my first post that bliss and happiness go hand-in-hand and we’re all on a journey to discover that. From our friends and family, to our careers, to our hobbies and beliefs, it’s crucial that we’re always in tune with what we want and what brings us joy. When it comes to creating happiness, we have full control- we just need to learn how to use it.

Emily from Cupcakes and Cashmere shared a post the other day that I absolutely loved. It’s a simple list of 8 things that “happy” women have. Emily got inspiration from this post and then created her own list and I was inspired to follow suit. I highly encourage you to do the same for yourself!

8 Things Every Happy Woman Should Have:

1. A go-to drink: Red wine (favorite: cabarnet sauvignon) or beer (favorite: IPA’s) and I never say ‘no’ to a good sangria or mimosa. I’m generally not a fan of hard liquor and tend to steer clear of it.

2. A go-to karaoke song: Miss Independent by Kelly Clarkson

3. A uniform: Straight-leg jeans (dark wash), white t-shirt, boots, and lots of jewelry. 

4. A hair stylist they love: Tasi at Eclectic Chic. Always and forever. 

5. An exercise routine: Gym 3-4 days/week and walking. 

6. A hobby: So many. Writing, reading, exploring, shopping/thrifting, blogging, etc. 

7. A best friend: I’ve been blessed with a handful of amazing best friends; a few from high school (Shelby, Claire, Melissa), a few from work (Rick, Tara, Ryan), and a few from college (Desiree, Tiffany). And, of course, my mom and sister will always be my two best friends in the entire world. 

8. A healthy sense of self: This is something I’m constantly working on. I can say that I’m more confident and happy now than I’ve ever been and I’ve truly begun to discover myself over the past few months. Certain circumstances have helped put life into perspective and I’m thankful for that. I’m rediscovering my sass and spunk more and more each day and I love the way it feels. 

IMG_5397Obviously the majority of these answers are ever-changing but, regardless, they say a lot about the person that you are at this moment in your life. They show what (and who) matters and what doesn’t. We’re all different and that’s what makes us beautiful. Stay true to you. Make yourself happy.

side note: don’t forget about the “peek into my week” link-up this friday! I’d love for you to join!

Here’s to being happy women…

-Emily

26 comments
    • Emily said:

      Yay! I can’t wait to read your 8 things! ❤

  1. This post is so cute 🙂 I love the outfit one. Simple yet comfortable and classy! I’m planning on doing “peek into my week” Friday so be on the lookout 😉

    • Emily said:

      Yeee! I can’t wait! And thank you. xoxo

  2. Taylor said:

    I love this! The little things sometimes say so much about a person.
    Definitely linking up to ‘peek into my week’ thanks for the reminder!

    • Emily said:

      Yay! I can’t wait to see your post. xoxo

  3. squigglefloey said:

    I remember reading that article. I think each of the points carry different weight, and its much harder to obtain certain ones than others. I think there are also times when I feel unhappy not being able to have one or more of those points fall into place.

  4. I like this list! I need to work on finding my go-to drink – does water count?
    Emily is one of my favorite bloggers 🙂

    M.

    • Emily said:

      LOL! You better believe that water is my all-time favorite drink too. I just figured they probably mean’t a go-to alcoholic drink, haha. (:

  5. Loooove this ❤ And I love how you said your mom and sister are among your best friends — I don't have a sister, but you better believe that I consider my mom one of my girls 😀

    • Emily said:

      I do too! I look back on my pre-teen years and can’t believe I ever thought they were “uncool”. So silly!
      Thank you, Amanda!

  6. Ashley said:

    Love this–definitely posting this on my blog soon! My mom and sister are my best friends too. I don’t know what I’d do without them and I feel so blessed to have such a close relationship with both of them.

    • Emily said:

      I feel blessed to have my mom and sister too- we’re both so lucky to have such amazing families. ❤
      I can't wait to see your answers!

  7. Lisa said:

    I’m literally laughing right now, because I just put Emily’s post in my draft folder and have my list set out to post on Friday. Too funny. I guess great minds think alike 😉
    Loved loved your answers, and I also love those boots you are wearing!

    • Emily said:

      Did you really?! Great minds defnitely think alike! I can’t wait to see your answers if you share them. (:

  8. Erica said:

    Love this post!! I think I’ll do this over on my blog 🙂
    Erica
    sweet-endeavors.com

    • Emily said:

      Oooh yay! Please do! ❤

  9. This is perfection. I love everything that’s in your list and I honestly can hardly think of anything I’d add….maybe a favorite comfort food or a go-to mantra? Anyways, great list. Great post. 🙂

    • Emily said:

      Oooh…a go-to mantra would be a great thing to add!

Leave a Reply

