on my shoulder

Happy Monday!

I had one of the best weekends I’ve had in…months? years? I don’t know. Regardless, it was amazing. I worked every day and spent every night out with my friends. I’ve truly rediscovered the social butterfly that I used to be and I can’t begin to tell you how good it feels. More on that later this week.

I’m doing a shoot today for a junior clothing line’s website. Very basic photos (front, back, side) in a zillion different outfits but it should be fun. Hopefully I’ll have more exciting things to share soon!

IMG_5386I’ve gotten quite a few comments and questions  on my recent posts about the purse I’m carrying. I’m kind of a purse junky (#sorrynotsorry) and thought it would be fun to do a post about the everyday essentials that I always have with me. Obviously, the contents of my bag change on a daily basis and there are other things thrown in but these are the items I never, ever leave home without. Enjoy!

IMG_5403Purse: Melle Bianco

Wallet: Marc by Marc Jacobs

Necessities: hand lotion // mints // pepper spray // hand sanitizer // lipstick // chapstick // keys

Not pictured: iPhone // sunglasses // headphones // agenda

side note: I always, always, always carry cash with me- even if it’s only a few dollars. I try to limit using my debit card and think it’s a good safety precaution to keep a little bit of cash on you at all times.

What are some essentials you can’t leave home without?

Here’s to filling our lives with the things that we love…

-Emily

17 comments
  1. I love knowing what people carry in their purse. is that creepy? haha I want a pepper spray or taser … I get to work so early in the morning and I get scared in the parking garage. haha I usually just have keys, sunglasses, wallet, phone, extra cell battery, EOS chapstick, lotion, and my agenda and pens.

    • Emily said:

      Not creepy at all- I do too!
      You should definitely invest in pepper spray. I feel so much better having it, especially since I live in LA. Whenever I’m in a dark parking lot (or anywhere that feels creepy) I just keep it in my hand!

  2. P said:

    You have such a cute purse! I think pepper spray is a good thing to have on hand, especially if you’re living in the city!

    • Emily said:

      Thank you! And yesss…I think it’s a really good thing too! It makes me feel better to have it in my hand anytime I’m in a sketchy situation.

  3. Absolutely LOVE that purse. It is so cute. I always carry cash as well! Keeps me from overspending! Can’t leave home without my phone and sunglasses 🙂

    • Emily said:

      Thank you! And I’m with you- I spend sooo much less when I’m using cash.

  4. Taylor said:

    That purse is too cute! I am in need of a good fall bag and will have to check out the website! I always have cash as well and some sort of snack… you know the basics 🙂

    It’s tough but I had lost that social side as well, so glad that you have been able to rediscover that! Can’t wait to hear more about the work you have been doing in your upcoming posts!

    • Emily said:

      Thank you! I hope you’re rediscovering a fun social life too! It really makes everything more enjoyable, in my opinion.

      PS: For bags- Dailylook.com, UrbanOutfitters.com, and Zara.com….they always have super cute ones!

  5. Kresnik said:

    I used to not be able to leave the house, even for 15 minutes, without chapstick. I have since weened myself off of it.
    Do you do a lot of print modeling?

    • Emily said:

      I envy you. I’m sooo addicted to chapstick- I need to work on that!
      And yeah, I do quite a bit of print modeling. I want to get into doing more editorial work but print can be really fun too!

  6. I’m so happy for you that you had such a good weekend! I love when that happens 🙂 I used to HATE carrying a purse in high school. I’m still not a huge fan, but it’s kind of a necessity for a girl 😉 haha.

    • Emily said:

      I hated them in high school too! I had friends who carried a backpack AND a purse every day. I never understood that. I definitely love purses now though. 😀

  7. Ashley said:

    I’m a purse junkie as well–I’m one of the few college students who uses totes and purses to carry my school stuff instead of backpacks. I LOVE your purse too! I usually go for the giant handbags to fit all my stuff, but it’s nice to have a smaller bag for just the essentials. My purse always has gum/mints, pens, keys, wallet, lip gloss, my makeup bag, Advil, hand sanitizer (totally OCD!), mini lotion, headphones, iPod touch and phone. So much stuff, but all necessary!

    • Emily said:

      I typically carry big bags too but it’s been refreshing to have a smaller one recently! There isn’t much room so I’m forced to be selective about what I take with me!

  8. Emma said:

    I’m so nosey, I love seeing what is in other girls’ purses 🙂

    It’s good to hear that you feel you’ve regained a bit more of your old self.

    Hmm maybe…

Leave a Reply

