thank in the face of pain

Today I’m thankful.

coffeecupThings in my life are far from perfect. As a matter of fact, they’re falling apart. It would be easy for me to say “I wish things were different” or “I wish my life was better” but what would that accomplish?

When it comes down to it, we can’t control our circumstances. All we can do is control our reactions and keep putting one foot in front of the other. Keep pressing forward. Don’t wish your life away.

Today I’m thankful.

I’m thankful for my mom and sister. I couldn’t live without them.

I’m thankful for the person causing this pain. It’s forcing me to grow.

I’m thankful for my friends. They bring joy to my life every single day.

I’m thankful for opportunity. Pursuing my career keeps me sane.

I’m thankful for my job. It gives me an escape.

I’m thankful for my health. It’s not guaranteed.

I’m thankful for my cat. He always knows when I need to cuddle.

I’m thankful for Los Angeles. It’s filled with freedom and new friends.

I’m thankful for this blog. It serves as my outlet.

I’m thankful for the handful of people that read it. Your support means the world.

I’m thankful for my life. And you should be too.

Imperfections, pain, heart-ache…that’s life. Happiness, freedom, bliss…that’s life too.

So, let’s focus on the latter, no matter how difficult things get. Because every moment that we spend dwelling on the negative is a moment wasted. It’s a moment that we’ll never get back.

08bafb87576eba46e9a5f67a8725bfd2Here’s to never letting ourselves get stuck in the darkness…

-Emily

32 comments
  1. Kresnik said:

    There’s a great video that shows that showing thanks can increase happiness by 1-14% (whatever that means)

    • Emily said:

      I actually posted about that video a few weeks ago! I thought it was really interesting. Thanks for sharing! (:

  2. I’m thankful that you are reminding me that I have SO much to be thankful for. Honestly — it’s a powerful message you’re putting out there.

    • Emily said:

      This comment literally made my day. Thank you, thank you, thank you. That’s why I write this blog- I want to bring other people (like you!) on this journey with me. (:

  3. Lisa said:

    Lovely post!
    There is always SO much to be thankful for, even when we are going through hard times. I’ve really been realizing this more and more the past few months!

    • Emily said:

      I’ve noticed that! I love how much you’ve come to appreciate things lately- I’m right there with you. xoxo

  4. Taylor said:

    Being able to see the light in a dark situation just acknowledges that you will be able to overcome this. Hang in there and again, if you need to talk just reach out! ❤

    • Emily said:

      Thank you- I definitely will. xoxox

  5. I love this. Its a great reminder and when it comes down to it, there are far more things in my life to be thankful for than otherwise. Thank you Emily!

    • Emily said:

      You’re so welcome!
      Thank YOU for all of your support.

  6. P said:

    There IS always something to be thankful. I try to remember that each day 🙂

    • Emily said:

      Thank you so much. xoxo

    • Emily said:

      Thank you so much, Amanda. ❤
      I'm okay. I'm getting stronger every day because of the things I'm going through. It all happens for a reason.
      (I might open up more about it eventually…just not ready yet)

  7. mitchell-james said:

    It is hard to believe that you, someone who posts a blog that helps me aspire to be the best I can and a blog that gets me through the day, is in pain.

    But this post was a necessary reminder that we all experience hurt, no matter how seemingly perfect the surface may appear. Thank you for reminding me of that important truth.

    I’m sorry things aren’t so great right now, but onward and upward. I hope things begin to turn around soon and you relish the beauty the surrounds us every day.

  8. It makes me so sad to hear someone is causing you so much pain. But I applaud your positive attitude and that you’re not letting this person break your spirit. That is the best way to counter negativity. Whatever is going on, I hope it ends soon and that you stay resilient! You are so strong and I know you can get through this. Text me if you ever need to vent!

  9. squigglefloey said:

  10. Ashley said:

    I hope you’re doing okay, girlie! This post is such a great reminder, though. I struggle with negativity sometimes when things in life aren’t going my way, but there’s always so much to be thankful for if I just take the time to think about just how lucky I really am. Being positive and grateful in all situations can really make things better, at least more than dwelling on the negative can!

    • Emily said:

      Thank you so much, Ashley. ❤
      And you're right- dwelling on the negative is never productive!

  11. Irina said:

    Hi pretty lady! Hope you’re doing well, I don’t like the sound of this rough patch you’re going through. Don’t ever hesitate to reach out to me if needed! This post was such a great reminder of finding the silver lining in every day. Sometimes a tiny change in perspective is what we need to keep us going, even as things are seemingly falling apart (I’m sure you will look back at this and realize they weren’t as bad as they feel now though!). Stay strong ❤

    • Emily said:

      Thank you so much, Irina!
      Your comments always put such a smile on my face.

  12. I hope things start looking up for you again soon – remember that the most important thing to do is to stay positive and things will eventually sort themselves out, even if it takes a little longer! Don’t let things bring you back to an unhealthy place! Hugs x

    • Emily said:

      I definitely won’t. Thank you for the support, love!

  13. iywmjoe said:

    Hope you’re ok. Sometimes we’re depressed for sth. or somebody, but i told myself God knows everything, nobody can judge us but God. Do your best and believe everything will be ok

  14. Your posts are very inspiring, young lady. And this one might be on top of all that I’ve read so far. Thanks for the positive words!

    • Emily said:

      Thank you, thank you, thank you.
      xoxo

Leave a Reply

