a peek into my week: 9/28-10/4

Time flies when you’re having fun. Ridiculously cliche and undeniably true.

After mentioning a potential ‘peek into my week’ link-up, quite a few of you said you’d be interested. Yay! I figured out how to create the link-up and am just working on an image for you to use on your blogs. I’m planning to start next Friday so I’ll remind you on Wednesday, if you want to join in. (:

A Peek Into My Week: 9/28-10/4

Things I Did

1. Shopped 

Urban Outfitters was having one of their “take an extra 50% off” sales and I have no self-control. But, when I can get 3 shirts, a pair of jeans, a jacket, and a phone case for $62 dollars, I can’t resist.

peekinmyweek1042. Worked

Along with working 4 days at the restaurant, I also had a photo-shoot in downtown LA on Tuesday morning. I try to avoid driving to that area at all costs [boo traffic] but at least I got to see the sun rise.

IMG_52733. Socialized

I wanted nothing more than to get dressed up and hang out with my friends every day this week. So, that’s exactly what I did. Lunch and brunch dates, hiking adventures, etc. I sure have missed that.

IMG_53214. Collaborated

I’m currently working on a collaboration with Tiny Devotions– a gorgeous jewelry company. I have a post planned for tomorrow with more details on their products and mission so stay tuned!

IMG_53075. Relaxed

I’m a self-professed workaholic. I’ve spent the last 3 years with a ‘go, go, go!’ mentality and never really embraced relaxation. Um, what was wrong with me? I’m so much happier these days…so is Lionel.

peekinmyweek103

Things I Learned

1. ‘Permanent’ retainers aren’t permanent (mine is falling off)

2. When the government shuts down, everyone is affected (source)

3. Pumpkin Spice Lattes contain 0% pumpkin (source)

4. Sinead O’Connor gives damn good advice (sourcebut Miley doesn’t listen

5. Instagram has jumped on the advertising bandwagon (source)

And that’s that. I can’t wait until next week when I’ll be able to see all of your random shenanigans!

Here’s to balancing work and play…

-Emily

24 comments
  1. Kresnik said:

    Things I learned:
    1) Miley Cyrus has reached icon status
    2) Pumpkin SPIKE latte has 0% pumpkin as well. Check out my site for the pic.

    • Emily said:

      Thank you! It’s from Urban Outfitters also. (:

  2. Taylor said:

    I can’t believe I missed the sale at Urban Outfitters, but it sounds like you were able to get some amazing stuff!
    It’s great that, by the looks of it, you are finding a great balance between work and play! Hope your weekend is just as enjoyable.

    Can’t wait to link up next week! 🙂

    • Emily said:

      I was so shocked by how discounted everything was!
      Yeeee! I’m so excited about the link-up too. Thanks, girly!

    • Emily said:

      Thank you! With all the discounts I only wound up paying $1.25 for it!

  3. To be honest I’m not surprised there’s not actually real pumpkin in the PSL. Kinda sketchy, but I know that I’ll probably (okay definitely) still enjoy it every once in a while 😉 That’s such a good deal at Urban Outfitters! I really want to go shopping for fall clothes. It’s my favorite time of the year to shop 🙂

    • Emily said:

      I was actually shocked by how good of a deal it was! When you make your fall shopping trip, definitely share what you find! I’m kind of obsessed with fall fashion. (:

  4. P said:

    I love your phone case and top! Extra markdowns on sale items are the best :)!
    What is it with cats and laptops? My cat has to be on my lap whenever the laptop is open. It’s adorable though :)!

    • Emily said:

      Right?! Lionel is obsessed with my laptop- I don’t understand!

      Thank you! (:

  5. An extra 50% off at Urban is a dream come true. It has been much too long since I have set foot in that store, I think a visit is in order soon.

    • Emily said:

      Oh, it’s definitely in order! They have so many cute things for Fall!

  6. mitchell-james said:

    I confess to being powerless to resist a good bargain – it’s like retailers now my kryptonite 😛

    And I totally relate to the ‘go go go’ mentality – the last two weekends have been purely bed days, and they’ve been some of the most relaxing and enjoyable yet! 🙂

    • Emily said:

      Seriously! It’s a definite weak-spot.
      And yay for having relaxation days! We all need to treat ourselves to those more often. (:

  7. Ashley said:

    I have absolutely NO control when things are on clearance! On the plus side, it’s a lot better to get more for your money when you get the chance, especially when they’re things you needed to buy anyway. I LOVE that phone case, too, so adorable!

    I still don’t get the hype about the PSL. I’m not the hugest fan of pumpkin, but when I go for it, I want my food to taste like pumpkin, not just spices. I had an amazing gluten free vegan pumpkin cupcake last weekend and it was way better than any other pumpkin flavored thing I’ve had!

    • Emily said:

      Oh my goodness- that pumpkin cupcake sounds divine! Word on the street is that BabyCakes (an amazing vegan/gf bakery in LA & NY) has tons of fall-flavored goodies right now. I’m dying to get over there and try some out!

  8. HA! I knew the PSL was sketchy *stank eye* To be honest, I’ve never really understood the hype… I love the excitement that comes with them because it means all things fall, but give me a dry cappuccino sprinkled with cinnamon any day.

    • Emily said:

      I agree! You know I share your love for cappuccinos. ❤

  9. being half naked and doing dirty things makes you popular. the world is so messed up. as much as I love her music (some) and her bad acting, I don’t like the way she’s being an “icon”. bad example to set for the kids.

    • Emily said:

      It literally drives me crazy. I don’t understand why she’s so obsessed with this image that she’s creating. I miss the old Miley!

    • Emily said:

      Thank you! It’s amazing what deals you can find when you really look!

Leave a Reply

