yes, girl

Side Note: Melissa suggested that I turn my Peek Into My Week posts into a link-up and create a button for you all to use on your blogs. I think it’s a great idea and, if it’s something you guys would like, I’ll definitely get working on it! (I’m not very tech-savvy so it may take a few weeks)

& back to your scheduled programming…

YES. 

Powerful, right? Arguably one of the most powerful words in the English language.

Without ‘yes’, nothing would ever happen. Nothing would ever change. Nothing would be created. Nothing would be experienced. Life would come to a halt. Saying ‘yes’ is the gateway to opportunity.

0c42752d23e295deb9159b8b43535ba2Unfortunately, many of us live in a world of ‘no’. We create a reality that feels safe and comfortable and then we’re afraid to break out of it. It makes sense. I mean, if we don’t open ourselves up to the unknown, then we can never get hurt. We feel like we can avoid pain and disappointment by avoiding the unpredictable. And it’s [kind of] true. But then what are we living for?

Saying ‘yes’ is scary, no matter what we’re referring to. It could be taking on an intimidating project, going out with your friends on a Friday night, challenging yourself to a new workout routine, accepting a date offer, anything. We’re presented with opportunities like this every. single. day. and yet, a good percentage of us constantly say ‘no’. We don’t want to mess with comfort.

I don’t want to be one of those people anymore. I have been for months and months and, to be honest, I’m bored. It feels like I’ve been living half-alive. I go through motions and never experience anything new because I’m afraid of the outcome. But really, what is there to be afraid of?

So, I might have an awkward date, a failed project, a night that doesn’t go according to plan, but who cares? In the grand scheme of things, isn’t that worth creating experiences and making memories? Isn’t the possibility of a good outcome worth having a few bad ones?

It is.

Now, I’m not saying to go all Yes, Man on me and make ridiculous, unpractical decisions just for the sake of saying ‘yes’. That’s not my point at all. My point is that we all should challenge ourselves to say ‘yes’ more often- even when it feels uncomfortable. We should go out, make new friends, expose ourselves to new opportunities, take on daunting tasks, push ourselves, or- if it’s scary- merely stop and take a day off. Let’s do whatever it is we’ve been saying ‘no’ to. Let’s see what we’re capable of.

a night outHere’s to being ‘yes’ people…

-Emily

22 comments
  1. I love the idea of making the “peek into my week” a link up. You know I’d join 😉

    • Emily said:

      Thank you! I’m definitely working on it!

  2. mitchell-james said:

    “It feels like I’ve been living half-alive”

    Absolutely – sometimes I pass up opportunities because they don’t fit into my routine or my plan or budget. Did I just say ‘sometimes’? I mean all the time! It’s like living a life on auto-pilot, so I think you’re absolutely right: let’s say yes 🙂

    Who can summarize the positive of saying yes to life? Liza, of course: youtube.com/watch?v=el7pPVhrK6Y

    PS The link up would be awesome 😀

    • Emily said:

      It’s EXACTLY like living on auto-pilot- thats the perfect way to describe it.

      And I’m in love with that video! haha

  3. P said:

    YES to this post! 😉

  4. Love this!

    It’s exactly why I started my blog, I want to start saying ‘yes’ and it seemed like a good way to force myself to be more adventurous!

    Hmm maybe…

    • Emily said:

      I. Love. Your. Blog.
      End of story.

      Thanks for the sweet comment!

  5. Lisa said:

    Totally with you on this. I used to be such a “no” person. And it just got me nowhere…in life, socially, with family..and now I’m making so much more of an effort to say yes to things I may be uncomfortable with, because why not!

    • Emily said:

      Exactly. And your effort is definitely showing! So proud of you. ❤

  6. Taylor said:

    I can relate so much to this…looking back I was so hesitant to get out of my comfort zone for many reasons. I am trying to catch myself in those situations where my first reaction would be no because of something but to go for it. The crazy thing is I actually have so much more fun by leaving my bubble 🙂

    I would love a blog link-up, I would definitely join!

    • Emily said:

      Yeee! Okay, I’m definitely working on the link-up.
      And I’m the same way! I constantly surprise myself with how much fun I have when I just let go and step outside of my comfort zone. (:

  7. Here’s to this post! Love this idea. Definitely something I have to work. Saying yes pushes us out of our comfort zones and can really lead to amazing discoveries! Just have to take that initial plunge into the unknown!

    • Emily said:

      It really can! It’s amazing what we can do and experience when we just let go.

  8. Ashley said:

    “Saying ‘yes’ is scary, no matter what we’re referring to.” —> Yes, yes, YES (haha!) to this. I know it seems silly, but one of the things that’s scariest for me to do is not to get caught up in my schedule and just do spontaneous things with friends. I love having my routine, and I thrive with a schedule, but sometimes I just have to let that go and accept a change of pace. It is incredibly scary to say yes to things we aren’t used to, but what’s the worst that could happen? Sure, we might now always have the best experience, but saying no all the time isn’t living–failures are a part of life and they’re way more fun than a boring, half-life of always saying no!

    • Emily said:

      It’s so true! “Failing” is sometimes a bigger success than succeeding. It sounds ridiculous but it’s happened to me sooo many times.
      I’m glad you’re on the journey to discovering that with me!

  9. Hannah said:

    Where is your bag from in the last picture!?! It’s so cute and I need it :)))

    • Emily said:

      Thank you! It’s actually from a little boutique near my house but the brand is ‘Melie Blanco’. I’m sure you could find it online somewhere!

  10. So I guess you’ll be saying “yes” to the blog link up. haha If you make that link up I am positive I would probably blog more than I have this week … haha I will just have to find something fun to do during the week so it’s not boring ……….. thanks for the credit. 😉

    yes yes yes. this post is great. I get told all the time to say yes to just casually talking to guys … but I get scared. I’ve been trying bring my wall down a little. annnnd can you say yes to being my personal stylist? I can always fly to you …

Leave a Reply

