a peek into my week 9/21-9/27

Look at that, I stayed on schedule all week. Major points for me!

And now I’m back to share this week’s odds n’ ends. Enjoy!

A Peek Into My Week 9/21-9/27: 

Things I Did:

myweek11. Started a new tradition

One of my best friends, Shelby, and I decided to make our ‘girl’s nights’ a weekly affair. We’re going to alternate between our apartments- the host cooks and provides food, the guest provides wine. We got together for installment #2 on Sunday night at my place. On the menu: finger foods (hummus, fruit, veggies, crackers, cheese, etc.) and wine (duh) which was all consumed while watching The Emmy’s.

myweek22. Ate kale. A lot of kale. 

Like I mentioned last week, I’ve been trying to eat a little healthier. So, I bought kale because it’s the epitome of “healthy food”- kidding (kind of). Then I made the most amazing salad ever. And ate it over and over again. I usually pair it with almond butter toast or crackers with hummus ’cause I like carbs.

The anti-recipe: Toss kale (washed/de-stemmed) in a bowl with shredded carrots, scallions, tomatoes, half of an avocado, the juice from one lemon, sea salt (be generous), and pepper. Massage it all together and really mash up the avocado so it’s like a dressing. Devour. Holy yum.

3. Did some fall shopping

Nordstrom Rack is dangerous. End of story.

IMG_52304. Rediscovered [lots of] jewelry and clothes

Oh, the perks of going on a massive cleaning/organizing rampage.

sunshineboys5. Saw “The Sunshine Boys” 

On Thursday night my friend Robby and I had tickets to see The Sunshine Boys in downtown LA. The play stars Danny DeVito and Judd Hirsh and was absolutely hilarious. Being that I spent 75% of my childhood watching Matilda, I was giddy about seeing Danny DeVito live and he definitely didn’t disappoint. If you live in the LA area, I highly recommend snatching up tickets!

Things I Learned:

1. Fashion blogs are addicting (like this one, this one, & this one)

2. The StairMaster is death (especially when you haven’t been exercising much)

3. Miley Cyrus isn’t stopping (source)

4. Gratitude really does bring happiness (source)

5. i0S 7 isn’t so bad after all (I gave in)

Overall, it was a really good week. I made a few much-needed changes and decided to step back and just be thankful for all of the amazing things I do have in my life. I decided to focus on the positive. I decided to finally be a “yes” person- more about that on Monday! Have a beautiful weekend, everyone!

Here’s to being blessed with another week…

-Emily

26 comments
  1. okaying said:

    That food looks amazing! (P.S. it’s Olivia, I’m back at blogging! woot! And wordpress>blogspot I realize now). I love your blog!!! I followed, I think? I’m really not sure because I’m still new at this.

    On another note, I miss you and we need to get together ASAP!

    Love love love you and your beautiful energy!

    • Emily said:

      YAY! I’m so glad that you’re back to blogging. This comment seriously made my day!

      Let’s get together asap (:

    • Emily said:

      It’s amazing! Let me know if you try it (:

  2. squigglefloey said:

    Girls night! Sounds like something I need too.

      • squigglefloey said:

        ummm, YES please ! when would you be free this year? (since there’s really only a few months left!)

  3. Ashley said:

    I love the idea of girls’ night with wine and finger food! I’ve been doing ‘Yoga Mondays’ with one of my good friends and we may have to make a food and wine night a part of our routine too.

    • Emily said:

      Do it! It’s seriously the best way to just relax and unwind. (:

  4. Taylor said:

    There is a marinated kale salad at my local grocery store that I am obsessed with but never know the recipe.I am definitely making yours to fulfill my kale salad needs! 🙂

    Have a wonderful weekend!

    • Emily said:

      Definitely try it! It’s so yummy (:

  5. loved this babe! i love love love knowing what’s going on with my sis ❤ we should schedule a chat some day ok? i wish i would have bought kale at the market today 😦 i would have made that salad!

    • Emily said:

      Yes, we NEED to catch up! And definitely try the salad when you get your hands on some kale- I think you’ll love it!

      PS: Your whipped cottage cheese was unbelievable! Loveloveloved it.

  6. you should make a little button for your “a peek into my week” … I’m sure people will wanna grab it and do it too! I love your posts! so glad you’re posting more! I wish I had someone I could cook for like you do and vice versa that’s so much fun!! 🙂 I love jewelry but I don’t think I’m good at accessorizing. :/

    • Emily said:

      Ah! That’s such a good idea!
      I’m not very tech-savvy but I’m definitely going to look into creating a button. (I may contact you for help!)

  7. I like the sound of this tradition. I did something similar with a friend tonight but alas I forgot the wine and we opted for takeout salads and kombucha. Still amazing! And avocado as a kale salad dressing is seriously one of the best things. So, so good.

    • Emily said:

      Salads and kombucha sounds unbelievable, actually. haha. Perfect wine substitute. (:
      And I can’t believe I had never used avocado on my kale salads before! Actually, I can’t believe that I thought I hated avocado until last week…what was wrong with me?!

  8. I seriously need to find out if kale is availabl here in London. I’m sure it is but not at the grocery shops that I go to, that’s for sure.

    Natasha (наташа)
    http://www.bisousnatasha.com

    • Emily said:

      I’m sure that they do! Do you have any Farmer’s Markets around you? Or something similar?

    • Emily said:

      I agree! And it’s so versatile! (:

    • Emily said:

      It’s so much fun! The perfect escape from our crazy lives. Highly recommended (:

  9. What a LOVELY post:) your blog Is SO inspiring and I always leave here with a smile.

    Check out my blog today….with lots of cute pic from France:)

    Have a great day dear

    LOVE Maria at inredningsvis – inredning it’s, Swedish for decor 🙂

Leave a Reply

