my place of bliss

I’ve been saying that I want to change up my bedroom for months. Literally…months. I’ve been in my current apartment for 2 years and haven’t re-done anything since I moved in. There was nothing wrong with my room but it didn’t bring me bliss. Not at all. I’ve spent many, many unhappy days here and, unfortunately, held on to a lot of things that brought back those emotions. I needed something new that would reflect the joyful, free person that I’ve become. I needed a room that would make me smile.

I woke up yesterday morning and had the urge to rip everything down. So, I did.

I didn’t take pictures of the process (although I DO wish I had taken ‘before’ pictures) because it was a mess. Trust me. I cleaned, shopped, and re-organized all day but the outcome was so, so worth it.

IMG_5213

Bedroom3 Bedroom4There are still a number of things I want to change/add when my budget allows but, for right now, I’m happy. I actually feel at home in my room for the first time…ever. And that’s exactly what I needed.

Don’t be afraid to change things or throw things away. If you haven’t touched them in months, you probably don’t need them. If they stir up negative emotions, you definitely don’t need them. Your room is the one place where you should feel 100% safe. It should be your haven…make sure that it is.

Here’s to throwing out the old and bringing in the new…

-Emily

26 comments
  1. Beth said:

    I love your furniture, bedspread, throw pillow, and the arrangement! Where ever did you buy your furniture and bed linens? Whatever else you would like to share!! Do you have your own apartment or do you have a roomie? Apartment with deep closets are so essential!

    Love getting more frequent posts from you. Glad you are feeling better about life in general. I’m in a bad place now. Don’t know how to get out of it.

    • Emily said:

      Thank you! I’ve had the furniture since I was in high school but I believe it’s from Pier 1. And my bedding is from Pottery Barn.

      I’m sorry to hear you’re in a bad place- sending positive vibes your way!

  2. Kammie said:

    Your furniture is adorable. I think it’s great to change things up too, it gives you a fresh start kind of feeling and a new perspective. Cheers to bringing in the new! 🙂

    • Emily said:

      Thank you, Kammie! ❤

  3. P said:

    Everything is so neat and organized! I love your desk space.

    • Emily said:

      Thank you! I almost got rid of my desk because I thought I didn’t like it- turns out I just needed to revamp everything on/around it!

  4. Your room is absolutely perfect! The only downside of living with a boy: he gets a say in how your home, and bedroom, are decorated!

    • Emily said:

      It’s funny…that’s one of the things I’ve always dreaded about getting married! I want to have my space just how I like it. (:

      Thank you!

      • It’s totally worth it, don’t get me wrong. . . but I was a little heart broken when I had to give up my pre-boy bedding.

  5. Growing up I would always redecorate my room every few years or so. I guess I get bored easily 😉 I’ve had my room the same way since I was a sophomore in high school and still love it. I finally swapped out my comforter to switch things up a bit. I definitely agree that having your room feel more clean, cozy, and “at home” makes such a big difference!

    • Emily said:

      I did too! I don’t know what happened when I moved to college…I just fell into a HUGE rut and never changed anything. I forgot how good it feels!
      I’m glad you love your room though. That’s the important thing. (:

  6. mitchell-james said:

    I just changed mine up too 🙂 I like to do it every few months or so otherwise I feel like I am in a rut.
    Changing things up makes it fresh, and you’re absolutely right about your room being your 100% safe place.
    Not somewhere to isolate yourself, but a private sanctuary to relax and chill.

    And with the photos from above, it looks like an awesome room to chill in 🙂

    • Emily said:

      Thank you!
      And you’re right- the change was much, much needed. I can’t believe how long it had been since I updated my room. It actually feels like a reflection of me now.
      I’m glad you were able to change yours up as well! (:

  7. squigglefloey said:

    Love how organized it is! Can you come do mine? hahaha

    • Emily said:

      Yes! haha. I seriously will. I love organizing- especially other people’s stuff. #imweird

  8. Taylor said:

    Reorganizing is literally the best way to get familiar areas feeling fresh again!

    • Emily said:

      Seriously! I needed it!

  9. I love what you’ve done with your room 🙂 Especially loving your bed spread. And I couldn’t agree more about the importance of having your space be a reflection of YOU. I like to change things up every few months because I find it keeps things more interesting and fresh… otherwise I just find myself falling into ruts.

    • Emily said:

      I totally feel you.
      When I was in high-school I changed up my room constantly but fell into a huuuge rut over the past few years. I forgot how nice it is to change things up!

  10. Love changing up a room. makes things so much newer and fresher! I noticed you have your makeup in the bathroom? I was told by a lot of people not to put your makeup in the bathroom since when you shower you usually take hot showers and bacteria is easier to grow because of the humidity. :/ I moved all my makeup in my bedroom after I found out about that. eeks. but if it works for you, it works for you. everything looks nice though!! I want to buy a dresser so badly so I hope I find one I fall in love with soon!

    • Emily said:

      I’ve definitely heard that about the makeup and just moved mine back in there after having it in my room for the past year or so. Since I have the master bedroom, I never shut by bathroom door when I shower so there isn’t humidity or condensation…hopefully it’ll be okay!
      I’m planning to get a vanity at some point and then I’ll move it back out!

  11. Yes, having your own little sanctuary to come home to after a long/stressful day of work it EXTREMELY important. I absolutely adore your new set-up, especially that ruffled blue pillow! Also that little sunflower dish you keep your jewelry in?! I have the same one! Did you pain yours at Color-Me-Mine? I feel like I got mine there YEARS ago, but I honestly can’t remember!

    • Emily said:

      Thank you!

      And yes! I painted that sunflower dish at Color-Me-Mine yeeeaaars ago! haha. I love painting pottery- I should do it more often.

Leave a Reply

