just do you

Life is weird.

I wish I could predict it, understand it…make sense of something. But it always surprises me. I guess that’s where the fun lies, eh? The unknown. It keeps us on our toes and fills us with constant wonder and curiosity. I feel like we deem so many of our days “ordinary” and forget that every single moment is a gift. No matter how down I’m feeling, there’s one thing I can smile about: I’m here.

Right now, I’m trying to embrace that. I’m not pushing away the pain- I’m acknowledging it- but I’m refusing to dwell on it. I’m constantly reminding myself of how lucky I am to have my family, my friends, my health, and this world of opportunity. I’m trying to practice what I preach. I’m looking at my situation as if it were my best friend’s and taking my own advice;

Have faith that everything happens for a reason…

HeadshotsCollage TheFederalDinner IMG_5133This weekend was about doing what felt good. That included my first yoga class in months, choosing/ordering my new headshots, a night out with friends, a long morning run, work, etc. So, I’ve covered all the bases- mental health, social health, physical health, and financial/career(?) health.

And you know what? That feels damn good.

Here’s to finding something to feel lucky for…

-Emily

25 comments
  1. adashofmeg said:

    so happy for you my, love ❤ you look so happy! keep doing all the good things you're doing for yourself ❤

  2. love your hair!! and you look amazing!!! do what you like and you won’t have to work a day in your life … wish I could say the same for me. haha

    • Emily said:

      So true! And despite everything else, it really looks like you’re enjoying life. That’s all that matters!

      And thank you!

  3. Taylor said:

    I love your head shots, they are amazing!
    The time spent being happy is time that the negative energy doesn’t get. Keep your head up and continue to do what you love! ❤

    • Emily said:

      I LOVE that —> “The time spent being happy is time that the negative energy doesn’t get.”

      Thank you!

  4. P said:

    Your headshots look awesome! It’s great how you’ve been productive but also making sure you are covering all the bases of your well-being—-just awesome :D!

    • Emily said:

      Thank you so much!
      I really, really appreciate all of your support. (:

  5. I can’t even handle how gorgeous you look in your new headshots! And I’m so happy to hear that you’ve been embracing life and taking care of yourself. Here’s to focusing on the positives for sure 🙂

    • Emily said:

      Aww, thank you! It sounds like you’re doing the exact same thing. So proud of you.

  6. No matter how many others have said it already: you look simply awesome! Beautiful inside and out <3.
    I can't remember how often I wished – and currently wish – for life to be predictable, to have a five-year-plan all laid out for me. But then again if it was: how often would we smile out of surprise anymore? Laugh at little things we didn't expect? Your approach of taking things as they come and trying to focus on all blessings in these current really hard times is inspiring. Keep showing the world your gorgeous smile and it will smile back at you.

  7. squigglefloey said:

    Love your curls!
    Where is that yummy looking salad from??
    xoxo hope to see you soon! 😀

    • Emily said:

      It’s from a bar/restaurant called The Federal! Such a fun place. And yes, definitely! I’ll be emailing you back asap- promise!

  8. Lisa said:

    You look gorgeous in your head shots!
    It sounds like things have been going really great for you, and I’m so proud of you for focusing on all the positivity!

  9. Ashley said:

    Love your headshots! They’re so gorgeous and they show off your personality perfectly.

    I’m glad you got the chance to do what felt good for you. So often, we let other things in our life dictate what we do, but if we really listened to ourselves more often, I think we’d be a lot more content!

    • Emily said:

      Thank you so much, Ashley!

  10. your headshots are beautiful and i’m so glad i found your blog too (via gracie // your blog comment). love your positiivity and energy! xo

    • Emily said:

      Aw, thank you! I feel the same way about you/your blog. xoxo

Leave a Reply

