word vomit

Current level of inspiration to blog: zero.

What’s going on?

I want to blog. I want to write up a long, exciting post that fills you in on everything I’ve been doing and leaves you with a positive thought to carry along with you. I want, I want, I want…

But I can’t.

While things in my career are picking up again, things in my personal life are falling apart. It feels like deja-vu. Everything I had finally escaped seems to be beginning once again. I hate it. Anxiety and fear are clouding the excitement of rediscovering my passion for living. All of the freedom and positivity I’ve become accustomed to feels out of reach. I want it back. I’m determined to get it back.

I know this isn’t what you want to hear. My blog is supposed to be a place for inspiration.

But I’m not perfect.

I have bad days too. And lately I’ve had a lot. I’m letting circumstances that are out of my control directly affect my mood and energy. That’s not okay. So, I’m saying this to you and to myself:

Never, ever let somebody else be in control of your happiness.

Let’s all make a pact to take hold of life’s reigns again. Let’s feel whatever negativity we’re dealing with and allow it to pass. We’ll learn from it, grow from it, and become stronger because of it.

ae30b142b6eb510ddfbde98121f3d6dfLet’s all keep shining our beautiful light, no matter how dark the world around us gets.

The storm always passes.Β 

Here’s to…that (whatever that was)…

-Emily

15 comments
  1. Taylor said:

    Sometimes that is the hardest thing to do, not let someone else be in control of your mood/choices especially if that someone is important to us. I hope though, that you find a way to block out the negative energy that is currently surrounding you. Know that where you are in your career (from what you have shared πŸ™‚ is an amazing achievement and something that you should be excited and proud of.
    I know those feeling all to well and if you ever need someone to talk to, I hope you reach out! πŸ™‚

    • Emily said:

      Thank you so, so much. ❀

  2. Do not feel bad about not wanting to blog! I am in a similar boat with being really busy with school and work right now… Even though I want to blog and comment and read more, I simply don’t have time and it falls to the back burner. Such is life! πŸ™‚

    • Emily said:

      It’s a tough thing to balance! I’m really impressed by how consistently you’ve managed to blog, despite being so busy. You’re awesome!

  3. adashofmeg said:

    baby, text me if you need me ❀ i am always always here for you! ❀ i love reminding myself that i am the only one that can control my emotions and set my tone for the day! smile, babe! you're loved so much!

    • Emily said:

      Thank you so much, Meg! I really, really appreciate your love and support. I’ll definitely be texting you soon. xox

  4. It’s okay! I didn’t blog for a few weeks. sometimes you just need a break to find yourself. if you ever need someone to talk to, I am here! stay positive & think good thoughts. this too shall pass. sending love and hugs!

    • Emily said:

      Thank you, lady! You’re so right- sometimes breaks are necessary (although I’m very glad that you’re back!)

  5. Lisa said:

    Totally know where you’re coming from love! We all have those times in life where things get tough and we get clouded with a bit of negative energy, but the good news is that as soon as we process all the bad stuff we can finally start making our way back to positive again!
    Thinking of you<3

    • Emily said:

      That’s so true. Thank you, Lisa! xoxo

  6. I’ve had my fair share of anxiety this year and I know first hand that it sucks. I worry way to much about things going on around me and need to stop and focus on myself. It’s so tough but I know that it has to get better. I’ve always loved this quote that I heard from Kylie Jenner of all people (haha): “You have to have a bad day every once in a while to appreciate the good”. Hope things start looking up for you!<3

    • Emily said:

      I LOVE that quote! I can’t believe it came from Kylie Jenner. haha. Thank you for sharing it with me. xoxo

  7. Ashley said:

    Definitely don’t feel bad about not blogging girlie! I haven’t blogged regularly in a month so I could focus on school and I just wasn’t feeling it. It’s even harder to blog when you’re in a negative space and I’m hoping things start to turn around for you real soon. You deserve so much happiness…and maybe a blogging break too if that’s what feels right!

    • Emily said:

      Thank you, Ashley!
      I hope that everything is going well with your last semester of school and that you’re out there enjoying life! xoxo

Leave a Reply

