the procrastination trap

On Thursday I was trapped in the LA Courthouse all day for jury duty. This is what I thought about. 

IMG_4981-1Timing is everything, right?

I feel like I’ve heard that over and over and over and, yet, I’m not sure that I agree with it. Timing is important, don’t get me wrong, and sometimes luck finds us and things just fall into place naturally. But how often do we miss out on opportunities because we’re “waiting for the time to be right”? How many times have you procrastinated because “life will be less hectic next week”? Or you’ll “have more money next month”? Or you’ll “be skinnier/fitter/healthier/more confident after your next diet”?

I’m pretty sure we’ve all been there. We’ve all put things off because the circumstances weren’t ideal.

I have news for you: they never will be. 

The minutes pass, the hours fade, and the days fly by no matter what. There’s no pausing or rewinding the clock, so why wait? Why put off until tomorrow what could easily be done today?

Next time you hear yourself saying “I’ll do it tomorrow”, stop. Unless there’s a legitimate reason that it can’t be done today, do it. Feel the empowerment that comes with being proactive. Doors will be opened and new opportunities will suddenly present themselves. I mean, who doesn’t want that?

BSeOVLqCIAAAFFxStay tuned for an upcoming post about how I’ve been productive lately.

Here’s to whatever it is you could be doing RIGHT NOW…

-Emily  

19 comments
  1. I’m very much looking forward to reading about your transition back into acting, but yes, I totally agree. There’s that one procrastination rule of ‘doing your most dreaded thing before breakfast’, which doesn’t have to be taken literally but often we don’t realize that what is holding us back in a day is that there is just one thing we don’t want to do. So we drag our feet all day long and then once that gets done – even if it’s at 9pm – we’re like, ‘wow! I have all this energy to do everything else!’ lol. So if we had actually done that thing at 9AM we would be productive all day long. Sorry you’re stuck on jury duty, hope it’s not for too long!

    • Emily said:

      That’s so true! As soon as I do the thing I’ve been dreading, I have more energy to do everything else. It’s like I’m physically and mentally “lighter” without the weight. Thanks, lady!

  2. Taylor said:

    Sometimes I feel like you need someone telling you to go NOW or else you can find yourself being timid about making things happen. I find that I’m not a big procrastinator in the little things but in career and the direction I want to go (as you know) I have been procrastinating. Without the support or resources I find myself naturally procrastinating but I hope to change that! 🙂
    Hope your jury duty isn’t for too long!

    • Emily said:

      I know the feeling alllll too well. It’s almost like we procrastinate when it comes to our careers because we’re afraid of what will happen if we fail. That’s how it is for me at least! But whenever I kick myself in the butt and get things done I’m surprised by how much I’m capable of! I’m so happy that we’re in this together!

  3. Julia @ Basket of Juls said:

    love this. here’s to making shit happen!

    • Emily said:

      Hell yes! haha. Thank you!

  4. Just needed this post today after putting off taking that one step we talked about last week. I’ve perfected the “tomorrow is going to be a better time to do xyz” and it has to change. Because as you said the circumstance will never be just the way we want them to be like – and do we really have any set circumstances? It’s more like always finding something that doesn’t “fit”. The trouble is that life’s not waiting for us to finally feel comfortable [reminder to self!] but we need to muster up the courage to get active. Here’s to doing just that today for me. Hello, nervosity …
    Call me weird but I think jury duty sounds rather exciting. We don’t have it around here and I’d be curious to do it just once. What did it end up being like for you?

    • Emily said:

      Aw, I’m so glad that this resonated with you. I wish I could print out your comment and post it on my wall- it’s beautifully written and SO true. Now we just have to listen to our own advice. (:
      I ended up being released from jury duty (thank goodness) so I didn’t have to stay for any trials. I think it would be a lot of fun at a smaller court but at the LA Courthouse there are a zillion trials going on and you’re stuck there allll day while they pick people for each trial. So, it was just 8 hours of sitting around. But at least I can’t get called in again for another year!

  5. Love this post, girlie! Especially the part about waiting for circumstances to be ideal and missing out on good opportunities because of it. That’s definitely my life right now. I spent SO much of my life putting things off because the circumstances weren’t right, and while it kept me relatively safe, it’s also made things pretty boring. That’s not to say that I think it’s a good idea to just rush into things without thinking them over, but overthinking will just lead you in circles. Looking forward to hearing about what you’ve been up to 🙂

    • Emily said:

      Definitely. Like most things in life, it’s about finding a balance. Knowing when to push yourself and knowing when to take a step back and think things through first.
      Thank you for all of your constant support!

  6. P said:

    Awesome post Emily!
    I think another thing about procrastination is fear. Fear that if you do what you’re supposed to do, but the result isn’t expected, you feel like you’ve wasted your time. But if the result is great, then it’s such a confidence boost and incentive to keep on going.

    • Emily said:

      Yes yes yes yes yes…
      I actually have a future post drafted that addresses that EXACT topic. Society engrains this fear of “failure” in our heads and, as a result, we’d rather not even try. It’s so ridiculous but it’s true!
      Thank you for such an insightful comment!

  7. Ashley said:

    This post is so timely! I started my last semester of college this week and I’m already dreading some future assignments. I tend to procrastinate on things I really don’t want to do, but getting them done early always makes me feel less stressed and more confident in my abilities!

    • Emily said:

      I totally know the feeling!
      You’re going to rock your last semester though- I’m so excited for you!

  8. YES! It’s easy to think that there will always be a better time, but maybe there isn’t. Maybe we’ll never go after what we want if we keep waiting and waiting. It’s hard to know when the timing is right, but usually our intuition tells us!

    • Emily said:

      That’s so true! Sometimes we just have to open ourselves up to what our inner voice is telling us. (:

  9. yuck. jury duty. haha but always nice getting to think … next time I say tomorrow I’ll think of you and push myself. 🙂

Leave a Reply

