powerless fear

I took my own advice this weekend.

Other than work, I had no set plans. I wound up spending time with friends, shopping, going out for almost every meal, relaxing, exercising (finally), and smiling until my heart was content. Perfect.

ShoppingSelfieBenefitHaulIMG_7388DVGV-7RPYY-big

Let’s all take a moment and laugh at my face in the last photobooth picture- I die.

Now onto some serious stuff…

When was the last time you felt afraid? When was the last time you did or didn’t do something because you were scared of the potential consequences? Seriously. Think about it.

As humans, 99% of our decisions are made from a state of fear.

We’re afraid of getting hurt, getting sick, losing something, losing someone, losing a competition, being the worst, being the best, disappointing someone, disappointing ourselves, being late, being too early, getting in trouble, being ‘unhealthy’, not making the right decision…need I continue?

Imagine if we were able to flip our mindsets upside-down and make decisions from a place of confidence and positivity. Imagine how different things would be. Imagine the possibilities.

We can let our fear control us or we can control our fear <— and that’s exactly what I’m challenging you to do. Show your fear who’s boss. Feel it, accept it, then turn around and mold it into something positive. Don’t run away from opportunities and don’t sell yourself short. You have more power and intelligence than you’ve ever give yourself credit for…I guarantee it. So go out and own it.

Here’s to living life unafraid

-Emily 

14 comments
  1. I love that brown leather bag you have! And the photo booth pics are hilarious! Silly pics are the best. And I totally agree with what you said about fear. I often let it hold me back and rule my decisions, but it’s something that we have to consistently work on. Fear can be so debilitating, so we have to keep pushing our boundaries and going outside of our comfort zones!

  2. Thank you for this! I feel like I took a (very small) bite at this by getting outside and running. I know I’m not nearly as strong a runner outside as I am on a treadmill, so for a long time I’ve just chosen not too get outside. Today, I decided that was me holding myself back because I was afraid I wouldn’t be able to do it — and just laced up my shoes and got out there.
    I know it sounds silly, but it was a small victory for me!

  3. Love. I’ve been thinking about this a lot lately… especially with some of the bigger changes that I’ve introduced into my life in the past couple of months, and while it’s definitely terrifying to take those bigger leaps of faith, at the same time… it’s kind of exhilarating? As comfortable as routine and the “known” are, taking chances and delving into the unknown gives life a whole new level of meaning. I think at the end of the day it all comes down to self-trust… you really have to believe that no matter what happens and what life throws your way, you have what it takes to make it through.

  4. “When was the last time you felt afraid? When was the last time you did or didn’t do something because you were scared of the potential consequences?”

    Probably a lot more recently than it should have been.

    • Emily said:

      Amen. I think all of us feel that way.

  5. Lisa said:

    Totally love this. It’s definitely something I think about a lot because I have a hard time challenging myself in certain aspects of life. I get totally overwhelmed and just end up chickening out, but the only way to make life better and different is to challenge those fears. It’s always worth it in the end!

    • Emily said:

      I totally feel you, girl. But like you said, it’s ALWAYS worth the challenge. (:

    • Emily said:

      Thank you! ❤
      And I really want to start doing more fashion related posts. It's something I've always loved but it's an intimidating area to tackle. haha. There are so many amazing fashion blogs out there!

  6. adashofmeg said:

    beautiful beautiful post, my love! best post you’ve ever written. and it was fun to see you smiling, too 🙂 you’re totally mid blink or something in that last pic 😉 LOL I LOVE IT. I sure wish i was included in your weekend fun ❤ hopefully some day, sis ❤

    • Emily said:

      Aw, thank you! I know, I would LOVE for you to come to CA and enjoy a weekend with me. We would have a blast!

  7. Katy said:

    What a great insight! It would be great to not have any fear but I believe fear gives us the opportunity to come out of our comfort zones and confront it, sometimes making mistakes along the way but in the end, we become a better person with richer experiences in life and stories to tell. Like you said, we just have to own it!

  8. Hannah said:

    Totally needed this! I’m headed out to CA on a roadtrip and I’m so anxious and fearful because it isn’t all planned out and I don’t know what to expect. Imma own that shit though and have the time of my life 😀

    • Emily said:

      Aw, YAY! That makes me so happy. Have an amazing, amazing time. ❤

Leave a Reply

